Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kara from Sydney

Decent

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is great, right on the beach and within walking distance of a couple good restaurants. Only downside was that the bed was rock hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Karl

The First

Posted Apr 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
Amazing hotel and beach. Superior Bungalow was so cool and away from the crowd. The pool is just one step away from the room. Downside is the beach is far from it. And overall, we enjoyed our stay, no doubt that I will recommend it.
2 out of 5
by George from Hoboken, NJ

ant-hill with a nice garden

Posted Mar 13, 2012
Pros: garden
Cons: receptionists, a lot of guests
Location: good, but with a resent near by construction getting noisy and overcrowded
Overcrowded hotel with unwelcoming and unhelpful reception staff. The hotel was very nice 10 years ago when there were only two blocks of 3-story hotel buildings. Now on the same plot they have five (3 of which are 5-6 story tall) buildings and one more adjusting villa compound. With so many guests there are only 2 receptionists on duty. They mix up things, act in the manner to get off the guest as soon as possible, are not really efficient and helpful and often are impudent. Overall impression - ant-hill with a nice garden.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abhishek from Gurgaon, Haryana, India

Good for family Holiday

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Pros: Private beach and big pool
Cons: Transportation
Location: Very remote and inconvenient to move outside
The bungalow's are excellent but the walk towards the bungalow is bit clumsy. The standard rooms are very well located near the pool. The interiors of the sea facing rooms are very dull and worn out. The private beach is very good. The food is excellent and quite reasonably priced. This hotel is good if you don't plan to move out and hang out in the Pattaya area for few days as transportation is very difficult and expensive @ 80 bhat per person one way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chiang Mai, Thailand

Exactly what we wanted - and more!

Posted Sep 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
We wanted a one-night quick beach vacation, and Grand Jomtien delivered! It is a little difficult to find the place (we had a taxi from Bangkok driving us), so be sure to know where to go: it's off of Sukhumvit, so DO NOT drive off into Pattaya. Stay on that main highway road. It will be off to the right, so if coming form Pattaya, you will have to U turn. Once you're at the resort, though, it's easy to get into Pattaya - take a songtaew from the main road for 20 baht (but you have to walk to the main road....the trucks outside the resort will try to rip you off at 300 baht!) We were upgraded from an economy room to a standard room for free. This room was still near the front, but had a nice garden balcony overlooking the manicured pond. I think we may have been upgraded because a company was using the resort for a weekend retreat, however, and they may have booked all of the cheap rooms. Also: I do not think this resort should accommodate a company of that size. This group traveled in bulk and did their team-building exercises right in the way of everything. We got scowled at for walking back to our room (the only way to get back, in fact) by a man running a camera and filming the company exercise. I'm sorry, but you should be in a private meeting room in a convention center for that type of stuff. This is not a Holiday Inn. It's a beach resort. Get it together. The beach is not the cleanest beach, but that's Pattaya-wide. Jomtien is about a quiet, reasonable beach a decent distance from Bangkok. The beach huts with padded lounger chairs is excellent - I spent 85% of my time laying by the water, watching the kiteboarders and wind surfers. I didn't venture into the water too often as I have a fear of jellyfish and they washed up to shore VERY frequently. The resort pool is fine, but the pool bar was closed - not even stocked. I was bummed about that, because I had looked forward to cocktails being served to me at the pool and they were certainly MIA. Also, the beach bar was closed the entire time we were, except at night they were open for a private group. I guess we were there on the off season, but it seemed like every room was booked. They really should keep all amenities open year-round or tell you if and when they are closed. We had to bring our own drinks down to the beach. The mini market is VERY reasonably priced - same as 7-Eleven in town. I thought there would be a markup, but there was not at all. Only downfall is that it closes at 7 p.m. The breakfast buffet is INCREDIBLE. I think this is the best breakfast buffet I have ever been to, outside of Las Vegas. My major complaints, however: why is there bacon in the fried potatoes? In all of Thailand, I find a place with fried breakfast potatoes, and they put bacon in them. I do not eat meat outside of seafood, so this is annoying. Also, there is incredible espresso offered from a rather confusing machine, but there is only one machine and a lot of coffee drinkers at breakfast time. Otherwise, it is a GREAT spread and I was pleasantly surprised. Very well stocked and caters to Thai, Chinese, Europeans/Russians, AND Americans! The food at the resort was incredible, my Seafood Pad See Ew was the best I've ever had. However, explore the options in town! If you walk to the beach and make a right when you hit the water, you can walk along the beach and then up onto a wall. The small road into town will be on your right. If you go down that road a bit, there is an awesome restaurant built out over the water, called Sea Falcon. Best service, best cocktails, and BEST food we've had in the South, hands down. We almost cried when it was time to head back to the room! haha Overall, this is a great place to escape to for a few days. It's far from hustle and bustle, but certainly close enough to a small town to have plenty of variety with both Western and Thai food. The beach is really the draw - I can't imagine using the pool if you only have a few days here. Also, the villa pool is off-limit for us resort folk. You can only use that neat pictured in-between villa pool if you are staying in a villa. Of course, the villa area looked miserable and hot. There is absolutely no shade offered, and it's far from everything. I'd also like to note: there are a LOT of Russians, here. They're a different bunch and I won't bad mouth, but they do not wear much clothing, regardless of their size. Beware the Russian thong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Very Good Location

Posted Aug 2, 2011
Private Nice and Clean Beach Good Breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great pools

Posted Jul 26, 2011
The hotel itself was lovely and well maintained. Cleaning, maintenance and restaurant staff were friendly and courteous, but reception staff were brusque at best. We had requested a double room, but were given a twin despite the hotel being far from fully booked. Being low season it was delightfully quiet and relaxed, with easy access to the beach and pool facilities. Unfortunately the hotel was very hard to find (poor signage) and is quite isolated. Many of the surrounding restaurants remained closed for the duration of our stay. Perfect for a quiet poolside holiday, but be prepared to catch a taxi to anything else you might want to see or do.