Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Frank from Los angeles

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great view and rooftop pool. Can't beat the location. Rooms are basic but nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A week in Paradise

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: The staff, the style (like a contemporary hacienda), the fantastic view, the pool, the location.
Cons: Just a warning that the street to get there is VERY steep! You can take a taxi for a couple of dollars though, so definitely worth it!
Location: It's in the heart of the old pueblo, lots of restaurants, a Tapas place next to the hotel that's great, a French bistro nearby that's great too. Shops
We were so lucky!!!!!! We had the hotel for only my husband and myself for a week... We have never been so pampered in our life...The staff is fantastic, very attentionate. As locals, they guided us to the best places that were not too touristic, while totally respecting our privacy. The room was great. The swimming pool on the roof top and the fantastic view of the old city, church and the bay was a daily gift that we thoroughly enjoyed. We will definitely come back and recommend this place to those who really want to enjoy Puerto Vallarta real life, far from the resorts, in the heart of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Virginia

Right in the heart of the city!

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
There are not enough words to put in this box to say how wonderful staying at the Mission Luna was!! From the location, to the property, to the staff that work there especially Martin! My husband and I were treated as instant friends and felt right at home from the beginning. The pictures that are on this sight do not do this hotel justice! The rooftop pool overlooking the city provides a breathtaking view while relaxing for the evening. Mission Luna is in the middle of a neighborhood and is very unassuming until you walk in the door and up the stairs. We always felt safe at the hotel, even though we were the only ones. Martin was very gracious in showing us the local flavor as well as introducing us to people and restaurants. Highly, highly recommend. We plan on going back in the next couple of years and will be staying there. One thing, be prepared to walk or as my husband calls it 'PT' as the 4 blocks from the heart of town is directly uphill!! Not for the faint of heart!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ruby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stan from Des Moines, IA

We love Mission Luna!

Posted Mar 29, 2013
Pros: Martin, Ace, and Rosa! and the view, actually everything!
Cons: Wifi wasn't the best but Martin did his best to get it working for us and then we had no problems.
Location: It is located up on the hill above downtown PV, breath-taking views!
I cannot say enough nice things about this place. It's authentic, beautifully decorated and the location provides breath-taking views of PV and the ocean. The staff - Martin, Ace (AH-say) and Rosa were just wonderful and treated us like royalty. Martin even went to the store for us and bought us food and beverages. Ace made us breakfast every morning which consisted of fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh pineapple, mango and watermelon and canteloupe, plus bread and rolls. And served in the outdoor veranda overlooking PV, what a great way to start the day! One day I needed a shirt ironed and I tried to find an iron and Ace said she would iron it for me! How's that for service! We stayed in the Sol suite at the top level, which was just what we wanted, breath-taking views of the ocean and PV, with a little outdoor patio of our own. Martin showed me some of the different villas they have there since for most of our stay we had the place to ourselves, which was hard to believe during spring break. Each has it's own unique vibe and personality. I do need to mention that it is up the hill about 4 blocks from downtown and it's quite a climb, so you need to be in pretty good shape to make the climb. You can always call a taxi if needed. Our taxi driver when we arrived was even kind of scared to attempt it but he made it :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge

Tough to find

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
But worth it when you get there. Attentive and pleasant staff. No desk staff at night, if you have trouble with something you may find yourself sucking it up until morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

unique features; flawed in some ways

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel feels like a residence that is rented out - a bed and breakfast for sure. The staff is friendly and helpful, if not fluent in English. The rooms are unique and interesting, if not conveniently located. Some things are less than traditional and comfortable for Americans, however this hotel (bed and breakfast) feels like you are seeing a little more of Mexico while you stay here. The location provides fantastic views, and is only a short (steep) walk down to the main road/beach. I am not sure what price will be paid generally, we paid about $130 per night during a busy week, so it may be more or less depending on the time period. There are minimal rooms, so it will never be very crowded. Despite our initial reservations, I believe we enjoyed our time here and feel confident recommending it to people who are aware of its limitations and caveats.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike

Perfectly charming

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is an unusual place. It sits two blocks straight uphill from the old church. We spent a week and grew to love hearing the church bells. It is impossible to describe the place. It is unique. It rises up three-four levels in a network of stairs and pathways, decorated with lighting and art work and foliage throughout. The view from our room, La Estrella, was magnificent, as was the view from the deck, which had a large and quiet lounge area and a small single lane type of swim pool. The staff worked hard to provide service. The only negative was that we could not get internet in our room. It was limited to a central, but very comfortable, location in the complex of rooms. Also, I suppose, some people due to age or obesity might struggle a little bit at first to walk the two blocks uphill. (After a day or two, however, most people would get their legs and get used to it) It is a magnificent location in relation to the downtown city of Puerta Vallarta, the malecon and a variety of cool restaurants. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff G

Good time...

Posted Jan 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Well... Sort of. It was a great place to stay withe a huge view. Staff was the best and most accommodating. The only drawback, HIKING UP THE HILL AT NIGHT. Potholes abound! Great tapas place near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Janis and Michael

Wonderful and Romantic

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
We loved Mission Luna. Such a beautiful hacienda. The service was impeccable. Great location and full view of the ocean and city. We will go again.