Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin tx

Noice outside

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: I ll go again
Location: all the stores and restaurants
Everthing was great, love that 5th street is around the corner, food is nice, the only problem is that there is a disco that is next block and is hard to sleep and rest at night because of the noise and it ends at 6 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth, TX

A week in paradise!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Loved the lush, tropical, Asian influenced grounds. Awesome pool with, glass infinity wall. Private hot tub and roof top terrace.
Cons: The roof top terrace was great for relaxing, but it could use some TLC. It looked a bit weathered.
Location: You could spend all your time in the condo, but you are right in the middle of the city, with lots to do within walking distance. & Snorkel a Cenote!
Such a unique experience in Playa. Felt as though we owned half of the hotel, and only saw a few guests in passing. Probably due to when we traveled, but I can imagine even when the resort is completely booked, it still has a secluded feel. Definitely spring for the Penthouse or larger condos with a roof top terrace. We hung out their often. Lounging on the couches, spending time in the private hot tub and grilling out, was awesome. We weren't on the beach, but had a nice view of the ocean from condo 312. I'm not sure why other reviewers complained about the breakfast. We thought it was awesome and there were lots of options, at two different locations. Also it wasn't a boring buffet. You choose from a large menu, which is uncommon for a complementary breakfast. You can use your free "breakfast cards" from 8am-2pm. So no more worrying about missing breakfast. Only complaint was the weak, strange coffee. You will want to bring your own roast from home and make it in your room. The beach was not very nice while we were there, due to sea weed. That's not entirely the hotels fault, though it does seem as though they could do something more to keep it clean. The beach lounger and large bed options were awesome and included at not additional charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Curitiba, Brazil

Amazing!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location and room size and comfort.
Location: DonĀ“t miss "Imprevist", best restaurant in Playa.
The Hotel is located on the beach, but also really close to "quinta avenida", where all the best restaurants and shops are located. Room is huge and extremely comfortable, pool area is quite and very well kept..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Our family loved El Taj

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The room and the staff were wonderful!
Cons: The boats on the beach prevented us from swimming in front of the hotel.
Location: We went to Tulum and Xel-ha and enjoyed it very much.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse. We loved the room. The staff was very friendly and attentive. There are boats on the beach in front of the hotel as the only downside, but we still enjoyed the beach club very much. We could also use the beach club down the beach which was associated with the hotel and there were not boats at that location. The snorkeling was good. The breakfast was wonderful and included with our room. We would love to come back and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: Too many "cards". Card to charge to the room, cards to have breakfast, cards for beach towels, cards for discounts.
Nice condo type hotel. Not too many rooms which is nice. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff very friendly. The staff that works the beach were WONDERFUL!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The penthouses are great! Great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Very happy with El Taj

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Like it enough to consider looking at their units for sale!
2 out of 5
by Lala from Boston

Hotel is nice!... but so much noise!

Posted May 13, 2014
The Hotel is very nice! , but is located next to the night clubs...... The noise is CRAZY and goes ALL NIGHT LONG! I was not able to sleep at all! .... also at the beach was so many boats... no able to swim... we have to go far from the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Great amenities, friendly staff, and perfect location close to everything.
Location: Minutes from 5th ave shopping, restaurants and bars.
We stayed at El Taj 5/3/14 to 5/9/14. This resort is very nice and comfortable and feels more like a home away from home than a hotel. The full kitchen and inviting decor makes you feel right at home. The staff were all very nice and willing to help in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. They offered cleaning service everyday. The hotel is situated minutes from just about anything! Restaurants, shopping, or grocery stores all within walking distance. The only 3 negative things i can come up with are that all the fishing boats are anchored directly in front of the beach at the resort so you have to walk around them or go down 200ft either way to get in the ocean. The second is that on the beachside resort of El Taj doesn't have an elevator and walking up 3 flights of stairs multiple times a day gets old. Finally, It seems that the resort has multiple buildings, along with a gym, spa, and 2 restaurants which are spread out over 2-3 blocks. However, these negatives really do not take away from all that El Taj has to offer and I would recommend anyone to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from ohio

El Taj

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Newer fully equipped condo, good Wi-Fi coverage, nice beach club, free secured parking.
Cons: Better representation of view from room.
Location: 5th av shopping and restaurants, mayan ruins.
Great condo, great location and friendly staff. Only complaint was that wife and I booked and paid extra for a partial ocean view room. Upon arrival we were sent to a room in the front corner of the building (rm 352) with absolutely no view of the ocean from the room or patio. When we questioned the front desk we were given a line about some complex arrangement between the condo owner's and management and that the room given to us was the only one available-they would somehow be able to upgrade us for an additional 475.00 USD. We refused the back-alley souvenir shop-style extortion ploy and made the best of the vacation minus a partial ocean view room. During the remainder of the stay we observed that at least half a dozen ground level rooms closer to the ocean remained vacant even through Monday morning when we departed. Expedia did redeem the wrong by giving us a credit for future travel.