Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our experience

Posted Jun 18, 2014
The food, beach, pools, some staff and recreational activities were pleasing and met my standards. There was always a variety of food, the beach was clean and had plenty of chairs, the pools were always kept clean and activities around the pool took place daily. Other activities such as iron man, volleyball tournaments, Olympic games, etc were all great. The staff around the pool and in the bars were friendly and kind. However, we did run into several issues. When we were booking, we had the choice between booking in Grand Palladium Colonial, Grand Palladium Riviera, Grand Palladium White Sand, and Grand Palladium Kantenah. We booked our stay in Colonial (as did the rest of the people who were attending my daughter's wedding). When we arrived in Colonial, we were sent to Riviera because Colonial was "full". We lost about 1 and a half days just packing and moving. Nonetheless, we were in colonial at 3:00 pm on day two. Secondly, the shuttles in the resort were very hard to get a hold of. We waited 30 minutes the day of our flight to get a shuttle; we missed breakfast. Thirdly, the maid in our room never left us enough towels, nor did they ever create any designs (but i'm not really picky so I was alright with that). Overall, my experience was alright, but i have absolutely no complaints regarding the wedding. I don't think I'll be returning to this hotel, or any other Grand Palladium resorts and locations. Hope this helped. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Smiljana from Canada,Windsor

very nice hotel excellent transportation around lo

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: kindness
Cons: representative-agency giving more info ours-expedia's Ricardo never met with us
Location: pyramids playa del carmen-shoppin
I really enjoyed staying in a hotel and personel.Shows were great too,beach,pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Dallas, TX

Great hotel but rooms need a little help.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, kids club, grounds, beach
Cons: Rooms and housekeeping training needs major improvement.
We have been to the Grand Palladium 4 times and always stay in the Colonial section due to its proximity to things. We had a great time with a few minor things to note. Our room was the same as always, with a few irritating exceptions. They seem minor, but the add up. First of all, the ice machine in our building did not work the entire time we were there. The fridge is supposed to be restocked daily, but they never replaced the items we used, or they would replace the diet soda with something else that I don't drink. They also stopped replenishing the coffee creamer and Splenda half way through the trip so I could no longer have coffee. Towels quantities were different every day and we had to call several times because they didn't leave enough half the time. They also had an air conditioning outage our last two nights. They did offer to move us the last night but at that point, who wants to pack twice? It was an average of 84 degrees in our room at night. The rooms are getting very dated but are going to be renovated. My only other minor complaint is the lack of quality in the drinks at certain bars, mainly the colonial pool bar. There is no doubt in my mind the drinks are watered way down. And they ran out of margaritas more than once. Otherwise, this hotel is amazing! Great grounds (albeit humongous) great staff, amazing kids club (my daughter cried when she had to leave) and good food. We will be back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawna from Paris, Ontario

Amazing Hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Food, wait staff, location, beach, pools
Cons: Bar fridge wasn't stocked a couple of days
Location: Diving was nice, mayan ruins, playa del carmen shopping
3rd time at Palladium. We stayed in a junior suite in the Colonial (3rd floor building 20). We find the Colonial to be central to everything. Flight was good. We paid to have a private transfer with Canada Transfers (which were amazing), arrived at the hotel, easy check in (only us checking in), room wasn't ready (no big deal) we ate lunch, walked around. Food was amazing, we loved the fact that there is not a limit on a-la-cartes. We were there for 10 days and ate at them every night. The el dorado steak restaurant had melt in your mouth filet mignon. The tequila prawns at the mexican were great so was the pumpkin creme brule. We went early to the a-la-cartes so we never had to wait, but around 8pm there were lines. Service was always top notch. We ordered the lobster one night, a bit pricey but a large amount and tasty. The beach snack bars were great to get a quick bite to eat, you can order bar type food (chicken wings, different types of burgers, onion rings, pizza etc). Many pools to swim in and even when it's busy, there is plenty of room to swim or lay in a raft (recommend taking one, water is a little deep). The new kids water park is awesome. The adult pool at colonial is open until midnight so a nice evening swim under the stars is nice. We were always able to find chairs at the pool and at the beach. Large beautiful resort, there are trains or golf carts that will take you throughout the resort if you don't want to walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel on beach

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: clean and prompt service
large property with lots of choices of pools and dinner locations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable and helpful

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The variety of food, nightlife and facilties.
Cons: We found a rusty paint can in the surf while playing in the ocean. That was unpleasant. The shuttle was usually timely, but occassionally not.
Location: The location on the beach was great. We didn't leave the resort during our stay.
I found the four resorts-in-one concept to be a nice one for providing variety in terms of facilities, food and night life. My daughter became ill during our visit and the clinic doctor was very helpful in treating her during our stay.
3 out of 5
by lauren from chicago

Accommodations

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Pool and spa
Cons: Service and food
Location: Far from airport but ok
The bed and pillows were like rocks. There was mold on the walls in the bathroom. Food is awful except the BBQ Service is limited by the time you get to coffee with breakfast you are done eating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doris from Saskatchewan

Hotel was wonderful, close to beach & friendly

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: The size of the resort and choices of restaurants.
Cons: Allow bookings for all restaurants. Men should not have to wear long pants, as long as they are dress shorts it should be allowed due to the heat.
Location: Location was great, never really left the resort other than to go shopping in Playa Del Carmen.
This hotel is great for people who love to walk. There is lots of restaurants and of course bars to choose from. They have an amazing spa and great gym. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Different animals to see right on the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KH from Denver

Beware of moldy rooms

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was appalled to find that an expensive "luxury" hotel had horribly smelly and dirty linens on the bed. The pillow and sheets were so smelly that it kept me up all night. It was a mix of moldy, body odor infused linens that were unbearable. I did not realize it until I went to bed after dinner at 11 pm and it was too late to move rooms or have the sheets changed. I had to give my kids another bath the next morning to get the smell out of their hair. It is so very sad because I wanted to love this place and return for a longer stay. The kids club is great and the location nice but this made me so turned off. There was water dripping from the ceiling and a damp smell throughout the room. This overshadowed the otherwise good aspects of the resort. I was told they couldn't do anything because I had booked from this site (a third party).
3 out of 5
by Yogi from NC

In general nice place, with pluses & minuses

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: We liked the attractiveness of the grounds. We liked the beach and pool area. We very much liked the kids club for our little girl. Nice but $$$$ spa.
Cons: Food quality & service was average. Quite disappointed in the food and service. Difficult to get a high chair. Occasionally out of pool towels.