Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Lovely beach

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Cons: the d├ęcor in the rooms
Location: too much walking FOR MY ELDERLY PARENTS
the colonial room are very old a/c the sliding doors, the tv and the drips in the bathroom. The building needed massive updating. All the restaurants etc were excellent but for my 85 year old parents there was too much walking. This hotel should advertise that you need to be able to work miles to enjoy the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham UK

Beautiful Hotel Resort

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Cons: WiFi in the room was poor although good in the hotel lobby.
We had a wonderful 2 week stay in the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort and Spa. Definitely worth it's 5 star status and we will be staying there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful resort with more than enough activities

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Location and environmental. So much natural beauty. Orchids, various animals roaming about freely. Food selections were great with rotating menus dail
Cons: Only downfall i found was the lack of signage to the ice machines and lack of working ones. Sometimes had to walk about 4 buildings to find one.
Location: Beautiful beach!! We did 4 separate tours (Xplor, Xcaret, Tulum and Xel-Ha) and the booking agent was very knowledgeable and helpful
Very relaxing environment with a lot going on. Beach was incredible. Pools were great. Food was delicious. Lines and waits for the non-buffet restaurants can get long so either eat early or plan ahead. Bar staff was great. Vast drink menu of pre-set drinks and ability to make pretty much whatever else you want. Snack bar food was a decent selection considering its a 24 hr option. So many things to do just inside the resort. Activities scheduled for almost every hour of the day. Good location to go about anywhere. Going to Playa del Carmen was very inexpensive. About 25-35 pesos on a "collectivo" whch is is like a small shuttle bus that picks up and drops of throughout the area. Staff is very attentive and helpful. Cant wait t go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Had a wonderful experience. Weather, hotel staff wonderful as usual.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our experience

Posted Jun 18, 2014
The food, beach, pools, some staff and recreational activities were pleasing and met my standards. There was always a variety of food, the beach was clean and had plenty of chairs, the pools were always kept clean and activities around the pool took place daily. Other activities such as iron man, volleyball tournaments, Olympic games, etc were all great. The staff around the pool and in the bars were friendly and kind. However, we did run into several issues. When we were booking, we had the choice between booking in Grand Palladium Colonial, Grand Palladium Riviera, Grand Palladium White Sand, and Grand Palladium Kantenah. We booked our stay in Colonial (as did the rest of the people who were attending my daughter's wedding). When we arrived in Colonial, we were sent to Riviera because Colonial was "full". We lost about 1 and a half days just packing and moving. Nonetheless, we were in colonial at 3:00 pm on day two. Secondly, the shuttles in the resort were very hard to get a hold of. We waited 30 minutes the day of our flight to get a shuttle; we missed breakfast. Thirdly, the maid in our room never left us enough towels, nor did they ever create any designs (but i'm not really picky so I was alright with that). Overall, my experience was alright, but i have absolutely no complaints regarding the wedding. I don't think I'll be returning to this hotel, or any other Grand Palladium resorts and locations. Hope this helped. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Smiljana from Canada,Windsor

very nice hotel excellent transportation around lo

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: kindness
Cons: representative-agency giving more info ours-expedia's Ricardo never met with us
Location: pyramids playa del carmen-shoppin
I really enjoyed staying in a hotel and personel.Shows were great too,beach,pools.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Dallas, TX

Great hotel but rooms need a little help.

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Staff, kids club, grounds, beach
Cons: Rooms and housekeeping training needs major improvement.
We have been to the Grand Palladium 4 times and always stay in the Colonial section due to its proximity to things. We had a great time with a few minor things to note. Our room was the same as always, with a few irritating exceptions. They seem minor, but the add up. First of all, the ice machine in our building did not work the entire time we were there. The fridge is supposed to be restocked daily, but they never replaced the items we used, or they would replace the diet soda with something else that I don't drink. They also stopped replenishing the coffee creamer and Splenda half way through the trip so I could no longer have coffee. Towels quantities were different every day and we had to call several times because they didn't leave enough half the time. They also had an air conditioning outage our last two nights. They did offer to move us the last night but at that point, who wants to pack twice? It was an average of 84 degrees in our room at night. The rooms are getting very dated but are going to be renovated. My only other minor complaint is the lack of quality in the drinks at certain bars, mainly the colonial pool bar. There is no doubt in my mind the drinks are watered way down. And they ran out of margaritas more than once. Otherwise, this hotel is amazing! Great grounds (albeit humongous) great staff, amazing kids club (my daughter cried when she had to leave) and good food. We will be back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shawna from Paris, Ontario

Amazing Hotel

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Food, wait staff, location, beach, pools
Cons: Bar fridge wasn't stocked a couple of days
Location: Diving was nice, mayan ruins, playa del carmen shopping
3rd time at Palladium. We stayed in a junior suite in the Colonial (3rd floor building 20). We find the Colonial to be central to everything. Flight was good. We paid to have a private transfer with Canada Transfers (which were amazing), arrived at the hotel, easy check in (only us checking in), room wasn't ready (no big deal) we ate lunch, walked around. Food was amazing, we loved the fact that there is not a limit on a-la-cartes. We were there for 10 days and ate at them every night. The el dorado steak restaurant had melt in your mouth filet mignon. The tequila prawns at the mexican were great so was the pumpkin creme brule. We went early to the a-la-cartes so we never had to wait, but around 8pm there were lines. Service was always top notch. We ordered the lobster one night, a bit pricey but a large amount and tasty. The beach snack bars were great to get a quick bite to eat, you can order bar type food (chicken wings, different types of burgers, onion rings, pizza etc). Many pools to swim in and even when it's busy, there is plenty of room to swim or lay in a raft (recommend taking one, water is a little deep). The new kids water park is awesome. The adult pool at colonial is open until midnight so a nice evening swim under the stars is nice. We were always able to find chairs at the pool and at the beach. Large beautiful resort, there are trains or golf carts that will take you throughout the resort if you don't want to walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alfredo M from NL Mex

Excellent hotel for vacations to stay all day in

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pros: very nice rooms (kantenah, where we stayed has renewed furniture, wonderful! we heard the colonial has old rooms), clean services and food (you have to arrive early to the restaurants on which you do not need reservation). The room is not in front to the beach but the roads are very nice to walk since there is jungle around. Lots of very nice pools! you may feed the fish on the lake and find coatis during your afternoon walk =) Cons: the beach has very nice big area but PLEASE USE WATER SHOES SINCE THERE ARE SOME ROCKS VERY CLOSE IN THE BEACH AND YOU MAY HURT YOUR FEET.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from Edmonton

Vacation Stay

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a Terrible Hotel. The all around service is extremely slow! and they do not seem to care. The food is average at best and poor in a lot of the theme restaurants. Rooms were average nothing special. Location is not convenient for traveling into Playa or Tulum. I would never stay here again!!!