Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

peaceful/serene

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: quite clean and serene and far from crowds with relaxing atmosphere (gardens etc)
Location: not far from beaches and good restaurants
stayed 3 nights overall very peaceful/serene atmosphere except for one night ( I think it was wedding or reception and was noisy) very helpful staff good restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel was exemplary in service !

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We stayed here for July 4th It was perfect! The room was spacious and the staff could not be nicer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

A real walk from front desk to rooms.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
An ok place. Lots of weddings and events. Room is nice. Bathroom is nice. There is just no soul
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belmont, MA

Great place

Posted Jun 28, 2014
When I got there first we got champaign and in the room has wine. All the stuff is very polite and every time when I go out valet stuff ask us bottole of water. I don't have any complain
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mill Valley, CA

Beautiful grounds but

Posted Jun 16, 2014
I was told I would have a couch in afternoon the room for my son, and paid $30 extra. No couch, but for an additional $30 I was told I could have a cot. I passed and my son ended up sleeping on the floor. Very disappointing for such a high end hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. We would like to learn more about your experience and would appreciate if you called the hotel and asked to speak with the Front Office Manager. We are very sorry that there was a misunderstanding with your request for a couch or rollaway bed. We hope to hear from you soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wilmette, il

Top notch resort-style hotel a few steps from UCSD

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Not what you're expecting. In a city famous for glitzy resorts, this is a quiet, Spanish colonial style ranch hidden just off the UC campus. It looks like there should be cowboys and horses there, but there aren't any.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. (Maybe someday Mustangs & Burros will feature cowboys and horses!) We hope to welcome you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by al from riverside, ca

Great escape

Posted May 24, 2014
It was nice but didn't like the valet or the 20 dollar fee that you have to pay. But other then that it was a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2014
We had a warm, comfortable experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A beautiful place to relax!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by neal from J

Very pleased

Posted May 12, 2014
I was very impressed with the hotel! Nice staff, beautiful surroundings me very comfortable room. The concierge Gaby was awesome! She knows everything:) I didn't eat at hotel only because as a vegan there is little I can find. No fault of the hotel. Yet it's close to soooo many restaurants that I had no issue finding food:) This is a nice getaway in la jolla reasonably priced. Definitely will be back:)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2014 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review! What great feedback- and yes Gaby is amazing, we couldn't agree more. We look forward to welcoming you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

La jolla

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Looks nice.
Cons: Pool needs to be cleaner. Too many drinks that people leave on poolside once they leave. Where is ice machine?
Location: Lots of eats at downtown la Jolla.
Nice hotel next to ucsd. Mandatory valet. Rooms are comfortable. Just like any hotel, loud hallways.