Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special about this place

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: beds were comfortable
Cons: 2 queens implies at least 2 people in a room; would be great if there were more space at the mirror, sink, bathroom counter - maybe double sinks.
Location: It's near Stanford University which is where we went. Not sure what else there is to do there. San Francisco is about ½ hour away though.
Executive suites implied to me that they were "suites" - like more than one room. (a la Embassy Suites), but they were not. We actually saw three rooms, as the first room they sent us to had only one king bed and I had reserved a king and a sofa bed, since there were no rooms with 2 queens available when I made the reservation. We had two teens traveling with us, and our reservation stated we had four people. They then sent us to a room a king and a sofa bed. Upon arrival in the room, the front desk called and offered us a room with 2 queens. We took them up on it and it was much better for us as it had 2 queens and a sofa bed. Success finally. None of the rooms however, could be considered "suites" in my mind. Also, the door face into the parking lot, so it's more of a motel than a hotel for sure…nothing beautiful about it, nothing special, just a decent place to sleep at a decent price for the area. If I ever visit Palo Alto again, I'll stay in SAn Jose and drive the 20 minutes. It's much more reasonable in price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mario from California

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The location was convenient for our purpose. The staff manning the front desk are very accommodating and courteous.
Cons: The internet router signal can barely reach our room (101).
Location: Very close to a supermarket and a gas station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Madison, WI

Nice hotel with variety of nearby eating places.

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: I liked the bed the best. It was so comfortable.
Cons: It would be nice to have a bench outside for sitting in the sun.
I came to San Francisco for a memorial service. I arrived early and the hotel staff graciously let me check in early. The room was comfortable; the beds are awesome. It is a great area for walking, sitting in the sun, taking a sauna or outdoor whirlpool. The staff is very friendly and helpful. A very enjoyable place to stay.
3 out of 5
by Andy from Michigan

Good location, bad amenities

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Good location. Close to Stanford and other sites. OK for business travelers. Good, free wifi and ok breakfast.
Cons: Furnishings need to be updated.
Wanted a suite hotel for stay with kids. Support springs on sleeper sofa were broken so kids had to sleep on the floor. Furniture and finishes were run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Enjoyable Trip

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Redwood City is a small town but lots to do if you really look. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and was in a central location. Easy drive around town or you can take the Caltrain north to SF or south to SanJose. Even though I was in town for work I really enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Glad it worked out

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Cons: Having options for fresh fruit for breakfast would be nice.
I was very pleased with this hotel. It is a little too far out if you are staying in san francisco, but it was worth the drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Giora from Jerusalem, Israel

Average motel nothing particular

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: The stuff was very kind and helpful.
Cons: Serve a decent breakfast and add sitting places, change the noisy fan in the bathroom.
Too far if you want to visit San Francisco. The breakfast is extremely modest as compared to same class hotels, with 2 tables only for all the guests. The rooms could be renovated, however this can be postponed however not for too long
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Motel Close to Stanford University

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: The overall cleanliness of the facility and its location.
Cons: A little better inspection of the bedding.
Location: It is very close to Stanford. There are excellent restaurants and other businesses, which travelers could find the need to utilize, within minutes.
My family stayed at this facility for a total of 5 days. We were in the area for the purpose of moving my daughter in Stanford Univ. I chose this motel because of the price and its proximity to the university. I was extremely pleased with the motel. It is less than 10 minutes from the school and the price was reasonable, much less than the price for hotels/motels which are located in Palo Alto. A number of other families stayed at this facility too. Upon our arrival, when we discovered that the room was a little too small for our needs, I asked for an additional room and the desk person went out of his way to find me a second room at a reduced price. All of the front desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful. The only negative, which I consider very minor, was that there a a very small spot of what appeared to be dried blood on the back side of the comforter. I certainly will stay at this motel again, when I return to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roger from Auburn, CA

comfortable hotel close to Stanford Medical Clinic

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Convenient location, comfortable room, good amenities.
Cons: A written instruction on how the heating & air conditioner controls work. It took us several tries before we got it right.
Location: It is located on 5th Ave at El Camino Reale in Redwood City. A fast food store is next door. Shopping and eateries are just a few minutes drive away.
We needed an hotel nearby the Stanford Medical Clinic and sight unseen picked this Best Western unit. When we arrived we were pleased to find out that our ultimate destination was nearby and the desk clerk printed out a map on how to get there. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. A continental breakfast was included and was more than adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sanjeev

Nice Hotel close to Stanford University

Posted Jul 8, 2013
Pros: Small property with less number of rooms; easy access to everything one can think of.
We enjoyed our stay. Breakfast area is small but free breakfast was good. Free Wi-Fi access and Free Parking.