Ratings based on 977 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bums roaming all night!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Rooms are decent and the staff is great... But bums and homeless people roam around there all night!! Scary!! Sketchy!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Bugs running over the basin and in the fridge wife not happy. Difficult wifi. Door hard to open
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZZ

Right on the money

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Civic Center Motor Inn seems very well-managed. Nothing fancy, but perfectly decent basic lodging at a reasonable price.
Cons: The warning signs in the parking lot could be worded so as to be less alarming.
Location: Many restaurants, pubs and clubs within a short walk. The area is safer than first impressions would indicate.
This was one of our stops on a 9-day road trip through California. San Francisco is notoriously expensive; we wanted decent lodging at an acceptable price. The Civic Center Motor Inn fulfilled this criterion admirably. Front desk staff was efficient and helpful, offering a detailed city map and well-informed enough to answer all the questions we had. The parking lot was a little scary: there was some graffiti on the back wall and signs everywhere to the effect that no one would take responsibility for loss or damage. Not very reassuring, but the next morning our car was intact, so all the disclaimers may be more of a formality than a necessity. Our room was clean and appeared recently (and tastefully) decorated, if a bit on the small side. The location could hardly have been better: we were within two blocks of many restaurants and pubs. We are always cautious about walking after dark in a downtown area, but here we felt safe enough to walk around and sample the local fare (which was, as expected, pricey and excellent. There were many people out on the street, most of whom appeared sane, harmless and civil. All things considered, we were happy with our choice of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose , CA

Nice , cheap motel for a drunk night stay !

Posted Jul 13, 2015
It was a good and very economical motel located close to bars/clubs. Perfect place for crashing after few drinks. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in figuring out stuff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
motel sans charme mais d'accès facile. Petit dejeuner OK. Bruyant Bien pour quelques jours
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
For me great location - friendly staff - accommodation clean - easy walking distance to Market St
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Unfriendly help. Charge for parking. Too bad its not Best Western any more it was better then. They must have standards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

必要なものは、揃っており、便もそこそこ良いです。

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: レンジ、冷蔵庫、ドライヤー等部屋にあり、掃除もきちんとされていた。
Cons: 階段は表からだけにして欲しい。後ろの階段を上がったところが部屋だったので、階段を歩く音がうるさかった。夜間ノックされることがあった。
Location: シビックセンター駅まで歩いて15分位。スーパーも歩いていける所にあった。
コストを思えば十分だと思いますが、誰でも中に入れる造りになっているので、女性だと不安。朝食も付いており、設備的には、困ることはなかったです。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Firm Mattress, Unique Pillows, Colorful Neighbors

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Microwave, Mini Fridge, Free Wifi, Hairdryer, New TV, No Bed Bugs
Cons: Larger pillows, more pillows, new mattresses, better coffee
Location: Location was good- not great- but if you are trying to book a hotel at 7PM on the Friday night of Pride weekend in SF for under $200, it will do fine.
This hotel is exactly what you would expect for the area and the rating. The location was convenient enough to enjoy some nightlife and the room was clean and secure, though I cannot say it was comfortable. It was fine for the 1 night we were there, but only because we were looking for location and budget, not comfort or amenities. The mattress was antiquated, the pillows were tiny and lumpy and the walls were thin. Around 2:30AM we heard some incredible racket that seemed to shake our whole room- maybe it was construction, maybe it was an earthquake, or maybe it was someone out of their mind in the room above us trying to tear the railings off to get to the pool (my theory). Regardless of what it was, I was thankful for the copious amount of rum in my system that eventually allowed me to mostly sleep through the festivities going on upstairs. .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mediocre overall, but great location for bars.

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Breakfast.
It's just ok, location is the best part. Breakfast is minimal at best. As far as the room, bed was comfy and liked the roomy walk-in shower. SOMA neighborhood is rough, but great bars, coffee joints, and eateries nearby. Walking east there's Whole Foods, and Trader Joe's to the south if you want to stock up on snacks.