Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel but not the Ritz!

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Comfortable beds, clean and homey feeling after a long day exploring.
Cons: Not sure. Just not what I expected from the Ritz. Maybe my expectations for a five-star hotel is off.
Location: Midway between Wharf and Union Sq. and adjacent to Chinatown. Very steep hills. Cable car lines within a block very helpful but crowded.
Room was not ready when we arrived at 4pm. Kind of felt like a second class customer by some of the front desk staff. The concierge staff were pleasant and very helpful. Great trip and in the end liked the location of the hotel. Might try the Fairmont (one block away) next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Extremely nice and convenient hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
I always stay at the Ritz-Carlton when I need a hotel in San Francisco, and I have never been disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City Break in San Francisco

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: We did have a fantastic evening meal in the main restaurant - the service was great and the food absolutely superb
Cons: A bit more attention to service (apart from the restaurant)
We had a pleasant stay at the Ritz Carlton but it definitely didn't meet the standards you would normally hope for. Check-in was very slow though they weren't busy. The bathrooms for the main restaurant were pretty dirty and graffiti was scrawled on the door. Breakfast was pretty chaotic and we didn't get things we had ordered whilst other cooked stuff arrived cold.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2014 by Jim B, Hotel Management
Dear Jeremy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your candid remarks and apologize that there were several issues during your stay. Your feedback is key to our success in the future and is appreciated. Warm Regards, Jim B
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Maybe i was expecting to much?

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The front desk person Alex, she was great!
Cons: New bed
Location: Very good location.
The building wasn't in great shape. The steam room didn't work. There wasn't a pool anymore. My bed was saggy and my back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: service and food
Cons: needs upgrade
Great food and services, like you would expect from a 5 star hotel.The hotels needs some upgrades but would recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Awesome! Staff, facility & amenities are all 1st class
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place, helpfull staff

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Good place, smiling and helpfull staff, cleaness
Cons: A shuttle between union square and/or Fisherman's Warf may be cool
Location: Good place but still you have to walk up a hill. Too near to anywhere for taxis. A Shuttle may be a good idea.
We stayed in the hotel for family vacation. We felt as in home.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Jul 4, 2014
I was very unlucky when I stayed they were remodeling first and second floor... No gym :(.. No body mention remodeling when I was booking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The staff was especially helpful (valet,concierge,front desk)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50th anniversary

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: We met there 50 years ago at Metropolitan life ins. Co. So it was the perfect place to stay at for our 50th anniversary.
Excellent stay, the 37th paralal restraunt was excellent, we only had breakfast ther twice but our waitress )Teressa) was wonderful, very friendly. She seemed like she knew us and cared about our stay.