Ratings based on 535 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Place is terrible

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Food, Service, Updating everything
Location: Nothing. Location is terrible
Do not stay here. Place is terrible. Staff is terrible, managers are worse. This should not be a a Ritz. Dirty room, terrible service, terrible food, stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

great hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I would stay there again. No complaints. Great hotel and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attempt at sophistcated peaceful elegance

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: The updating, cleanliness and elegance of the spaces. The professionalism, courteousness and knowledge of the staff about the hotel and the area.
Cons: Limit club level accommodations to adults only.
Location: Stockton St. SanFrancisco, CA Walking distance to Chinatown, shopping, variety of nightlife entertainment.
Beautiful luxurious facility with professional attentive accommodating staff, but the experience of club level elegance and serenity was seriously eroded by the presence of children. No matter their level of manners, age-appropriate behavior or parental supervision/discipline, club level environs are not the place for even the best behaved child. Children get excited and enthusiastic in vacation. Their animation while adorable is not peaceful and calming to non-family. All toddlers squeal, chatter and don't yet know how to modulate their voice. This is no endictment on such normal behavior nor on parents who try to redirect them to shhhh or use their indoor voice. It just is not approroriate to have to block out such 'normal' situations in this type place anymore so than it would be in a library or symphony performance. Worse yet was having to navigate the unsupervised pre-teens obliviously running down a hallway. In previous yrs we were either lucky or perhaps there was then an adults-only policy. As wonderful as the accommodations, food, drink and staff consistently were, the disruption and general change in atmosphere resulting from the presence of kids between the ages of about 5 and 15, I will be reluctant to return to club level again unless limits have been placed on the admittance of children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC, MO

Staff was great

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: staff
Service made for a wonderful and delightful visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Wonderful personal care, doorman remembers your name, conceriage very helpful, staff goes above and beyond to make you feel special
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as Advertised: Promise not kept.

Posted May 27, 2015
While the renovated rooms are lovely, the lower floors have old windows which sound like they are open. NO Pay per View or movie selection, as advertised. I spoke with manager who said they may NEVER bring in pay-per-view again, offered a credit, then never gave it. If you are in for a rainy night (or a few in San Francisco), this may be problem, as it was for us. Manager offered a credit to my 4 night room charge for the inconvenience, but did not deliver. No movies, no compensation for amenity not provided as advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

40th anniversary

Posted May 25, 2015
Wonderful getaway with great pampering Champagne sent to room. Extra touches when dining. Superb concierge assistance. A typical Ritz experience that we've come to expect...and enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great hotel, close to the Tonga Room for dancing.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The amenities and decor were very nice.
Cons: n/a
Location: With in walking distance to the Tonga Room for fun dining and dancing!
Very attentive, pleasant staff! Beautiful Rooms. We wanted a hotel that was reasonably priced but still 4 star or higher that was close to the Fairmont, which was very expensive, so we could walk to The Tonga Room. The Ritz was 2 blocks and a reasonable walk even in heels! We had a Great night of dancing, came back to the Ritz around 12:30 am and ordered breakfast to be delivered at 9:30. They were right on time and the breakfast was Great! Our car was downstairs and ready for us within 10 minutes of our call. Thanks for a Wonderful stay Ritz-Carlton!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Pillows are fabulous
Location: In the heart of san francisco. Near Chinatown, short walk to wharf. Very convenient
Concierge service was great. Both Ric & Oscar very helpful. I have heard so much about the personal service from everyone at the RitzCarlton. Only experienced it with the concierge service. Everyone else was pleasant but did not find them any more so than many other hotels. I suppose my expectations were too high. Very nice hotel & service regardless. Unable to adjust room temperature to desired level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Nice Hotel and close to many local attractions.

Posted May 11, 2015
The staff at the hotel was amazing. Everyone was very polite and helpful. Would highly recommend staying here and my wife and I cant wait to come back.