Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Awesome location, clean rooms & friendly staff

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff.
Cons: Get flat screen TVs! They don't cost that much these days.
Located within walking distance to the main business district of Friday Harbor, the hotel offers family friendly amenities and clean rooms. The hotel is an old motor inn conversion so while the hotel has been very tastefully updated, you still hear your neighbors and you will see headlights beaming into your room as they're pulling in. That said, the staff were friendly, the rooms were in good shape (except the boxy tube TV that made me chuckle a little bit), there was good wifi and it's within walking distance to all amenities Friday Harbor offers. One note of awesome though. If you aren't very active and just want a quick weekend getaway to chill out, you may want to get a hotel room with a view of the ocean. After most businesses closed at 9ish, we had nothing to do but to surf the internet and watch the tube TV. The visit would've been much more pleasurable if you could sip on some wine while watching the boats go by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Close to ferry

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff was outstanding!
Cons: Internet access was spotty.
Location: Earthbox was a great "home base" for our vacation in the San Juan Islands. Close to ferry, restaurants and shops.
We chose Earthbox for our stay in the San Juan Islands because of its proximity to the ferry and its affordability. The best thing about the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. When my husband and I first stepped into the room we booked, we were a little disappointed because it was so small, about half the size of a standard hotel room and it was on the first floor. When we went back to the front desk and asked Tory if we could have a room on a higher floor, he not only accommodated our request, but he upgraded our room at no additional charge! The hotel provides free bicycles for guests, has a lovely indoor pool and is close to everything in Friday Harbor. The rates are higher than what we normally spend for a hotel room, but after checking around, I found that Earthbox provided the best value of all the hotels in Friday Harbor for our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eastern Washington

Quiet hotel very close to town.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Room was clean and comfortable, very close to town. Shampoo/conditioner, soaps and lotion were high quality and nicely scented in pump container, which I really like. The staff was very helpful. I would definetly stay there again and recommend Earthbox to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the harbor.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: .
The location was good, it was close to the harbor and we liked the fact that we could walk to the restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, OR

Great getaway!!

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: All of the above, and the location is perfect. Very short walk to shops and harbor.
Cons: My one complaint would be the mattress was to firm.
Location: Perfect location. Coffee shops, restaurants all close enough to walk to.
We were very happy with our room. It looked to be recently updated and really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

whale watching in Friday Harbor

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location and atmosphere
Pleasant motel. Swimming pool and clean rooms, friendly staff, ideally located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beaverton, OR

Nice, but could be more comfortable.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The location, looks, pool and jacuzzi (though we did not use them), and bicycles for use.
Cons: One more nice chair like the one in the room would have made it a much more comfortable place to stay.
Location: Earthbox Inn is centrally located in Friday Harbor, within walking distance of the ferry slip, shopping and restaurants, and an inviting church.
We stayed 3 nights and found our room adequate for our needs. It was disappointing, though, that there was only one comfortable chair to sit in. We find it uncomfortable to sit on the bed to watch TV, and that was the only place both of us could sit to see it. Even the bar stools at the tiny counter were hard and uninviting. Aesthetically, Earthbox Inn is inviting, and the fact that they have bikes for loan is very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Great location in town. Close enough to walk to all town amenities, but slightly out of the congestion.
Cons: Walls are very thin and noise travels from room to room.
Stayed 2 nights at the Earthbox Inn in Friday Harbor over the 4th of July weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Make the Earthbox Inn your last resort...

Posted Jul 7, 2014
...when searching for a place to stay in Friday Harbor. You pay solely for the location. The room we had was barely adequate and not even close to worth what it cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Earthbox

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The room was very clean. Lots of lamps to make the room bright in the evening.
Very nice room that was thoughtfully remodeled. The plumbing was loud as we could hear the neighbors flush and shower. The bed was hard for me but they had 6 pillows on the Queen sized bed which I used to turn the bed into a pillow top bed. I would come back. Earth box is 4 blocks from the waterfront and the ferry terminal, easily in walking distance to everything in town.