Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Extremely disappointing pool area for a 5* hotel!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was of great selection, loved the fresh orange and speciality coffee. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Cons: The pool area needs knocking down! The outside of the hotel needs desparately to be updated.
Location: Excellent location for the pool, shops, restaurants and bars.
We picked this hotel because it was rated 5* and we got a complete shock when we saw the pool area. It was dark, small and the surrounding area where the deck chairs were, was dirty and cramped. The deck chairs where of extremely bad quility, mostly broken and old. The pool attendant was not friendly at all, however having to sit around that awful pool area all day would make anyone feel miserable. The windows of the dining room area were grubby and needed a good clean, it was shame as this spoilt the lovely sea view whilst having breakfast. On a positive note, the inside of the hotel around the reception area was of excellent standard and the reception staff were extremely helpful. Our room was comfortable; would have been nice to have a bigger bathroom (we were in room 1210), which was of poor standard for a 5* hotel. All in all, we were dissapointed with this hotel and would not book to stay there again, nor would we recommend anyone to stay there. There is plenty of other hotels of similar prices, which are of much better standard. We paid a premium for a hotel with a pool which was not worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Tel Aviv yes but never at Herods again

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel was a huge disappointment for us. We stayed in a club room and could not believe that this was supposed to be a five star property! Our room gad a nice view and a comfortable bed but the bathroom was so small only one person could be in it. The shower flooded every time. Room service was so bad that most days we had to complain. Front desk staff were at the best of times uninterested and at worst plain rude. The concierge was so uninformed that the Jerusalem tour we booked through her was not worth our time as most time was spent in a souvenir shop and restaurant where the guide was clearly taking commissions and cutting the time on the actual sitesvery short. The selection of food and drinks in the club lounge was very limited and not up to five star standard. The pool area was tiny and let go. The hotel seems to be in dire need of renovation as it is outdated wherever you look. We will be back to Tel Aviv but certainly not back to Herods!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sharren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant reasonable hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are well equipped with sufficient storage, clean and modern, although the bathroom has not been refurbished, the bath was quite old.pool area extremely disappointing, however proximity to the beach was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley,

What an amazing beach scene!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The location cannot be beat.
Cons: The decor is...odd. Cheap mannequins dressed in "vintage" outfits from a second-hand shop supposed create atmosphere, but just look weird.
We stayed here only one night, to have a look at the much-ballyhooed beach scene in Tel Aviv, which actually exceeded my expectations. If you're the sporty sort, this beach is heaven, with great swimming, open-air gyms for everyone to use with equipment that relies on your own body weight, great running, plus lots of options for beachfront dining, drinking, and relaxing. And plenty of open-air showers to cool you off. We luckily got a room with a great view of the beach, which was fascinating to watch. As for this hotel, I researched the "big three" which loom over Gordon's Beach, and this one seemed to have the best offer vis-a-vis free breakfast, though they all seemed alike in ratings. I might try one of the others next time, though Herod's does seem to have the easiest beach access.
1 out of 5
by JIn

this hotel is under construction

Posted Jun 24, 2014
this pool is very small there is only 10 lounge chairS. this hotel is under major outside renovation this hotel should be rated as a two-starI really do not recommend this hotel to anyone
2 out of 5
by Sheila from Tennessee

One day in Tel Aviv

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: Views from the lobby to the sea is very beautiful.
Cons: Check in was harried and not particularly helpful.
Location: Convenient to the sea and shore. 25 minutes to airport via cab.
This was very disappointing and Herod's was the one hotel we stayed at which we would not return to. The staff was someone arrogant and the facilities were quite dated. The exterior was under renovation, but during out stay was quite unpleasant. The view from the lobby to the sea was stunning, but the pool facility had very limited views of the sea. Walk out to beach was ok. Overall, better choices in Tel Aviv could be had.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Business from UK

Business

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast buffet.
Location: Good location, near beautiful beach, and within walking distance of old Jaffa.
Hotel was clean and comfortable, and perfect for a business trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Graeme from Sydney

Excellent Choice

Posted Jun 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent Hotel located on beach front, Great View from Room, Excellent Service, Breakfast wide range of choices. Walking distance to downtown. Really enjoyed our stay, Highly recommended.