Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Worn Down and Ready for a Major Rennovation

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated. Wireless speed is too slow.
Location: Recommend the Gargoyle Restaurant a block away.
Staff was pleasant and accomodating. Walking into the room was the equivalent of going into a blast furnace. Even with the heat turned right down, still very warm and was thankful I could open the window. Television was a relic from a bygone era. While not controllable by the hotel, the drunk patrons arguing and yelling in the hallway at midnight was annoying. Finally, I suspect everyone was aware of when anyone woke up and had their morning shower - I heard the people above, below and beside me waking up. Room was clean and presentable. Main light would not turn on as there was a fault in the power bar. The bar was quickly replaced when I notified the front desk of the issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sioux Lookout

Pleasant Lakefront hotel.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The Beds, the staff, the dining room, its location.
Cons: The rooms could be refurbished, & air conditioners could be provided in each room.
Location: Very convenient to downtown shopping & dining facilities as well as beautiful water front park.
The hotel is a bit dated because it is old. BUT the shower worked well, the beds were very comfortable. The dining room is very nice with tasty reasonable priced meals & great service. The staff are very helpful & the hotel is very conveniently located just above the beautiful waterfront park. Good value for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom winnipeg

one overnight

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: the front desk staff were freindly.
Cons: cleanliness.
Location: it was a very scarey area of town.i did not go out at all- other than to go to my car and leave in the morning.
Very dissappointing experience. Not only is the hotel situatied in a terrible location for going outside after dark, but the room was old and tired, and bathroom had mold. elevators were shabby and had huge gouges on the wall, carpet everywhere was old, tired, and stained. restaurant only opened till 9pm-and broken beer bottles in parking lot. will not go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Flin Flon, MB.

Prince Arthur Waterfront comfort !

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Considering it age, the Prince Arthur Waterfront was actually quite nice and comfortable. Window A/C units should be updated/upgraded. Our room A/C was struggling to keep the room cool. The beds were comfortable, TV, Fridge were good. Our only gripe was the bathroom. Our bathroom was non-typical. We suffered with a slow draining sink and a small amount of black mold around the soap tray on the tub surround tiling. The only thing working properly was the toilet. The hotel was gracious enough to apologize for the bathroom condition and I did get a credit on my nightly rate. As said, this particular bathroom condition was not typical of most of the rooms at the hotel. I was told that the bathroom would be serviced properly before being rented out again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Falkland Islands

A rather run down hotel building centrally placed

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The bast thing about this hotel are the rooms which are large airy and clean
Cons: The Hotel building urgently needs some renovations.
Location: Centrally located, close to the docks and railway.
Found this Hotel quite easily as it is an imposing building centrally placed. Unfortunately it has been neglected lately and needs some TLC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel had chance to redeem themselves

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Closeness to prospector
Cons: Could have offered discount when I told them of what had happened
First of all they put my husband and I and three year old on a floor where they seemed to put everyone with big dogs spent half the night hearing barking. When we went into room noticed the curtains that had numerous holes in them. We then figured they don't do a very good cleaning as my three year old found two bottles of water under the bed. I was willing to put up with these little issues but when my son and I went for a swim in the supposed heated pool it was colder than a lake. Then to top things off when we where going to check out we had gone to diner the night before and had brought our prime rib leftovers back to hotel and sons left overs and put in fridge. We were waiting to check out as close tom check out as we had gone up for cle and wanted to wait for food and put ice with it. We went for breakfast and it was 10 when we checked out. My house has also left his jacket in room while we had breakfast I still had not checked out yet as we still had an hour to check out. As I went to counter to check out husband and son went upstairs to get our remaining items to find out they had already cleaned our room and thrown all our food out and had my husbands jacket with his wallet on their cleaning cart. So when I told the hotel manager and girl at counter that this happened they just told cleaning person that they were not supposed to clean room till it was released. They did not offer me any discount or anything to try to redeem their status in my eyes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB

Hotel Right on WaterFront

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Overall it was a good stay. The hotel however needs to put in a dan in bathroom. Overall I would give it 3/5.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mpls. MN

in the middle of the action

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the lakefront action
Cons: Update decor. Repaint.
Hotel was perfectly fine and good value for the money. It was right downtown Thunder Bay, just off the newly renovated waterfront which was delightful. We could walk right down to the piers and activities there. Hotel itself is a bit tired. Could use redecorating and a fresh coat of paint. The area, besides the waterfront, was also a bit depressed. Hopefully the nice new waterfront park area will give the rest of the downtown a boost. I would stay there again if in Thunder Bay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prince arthur

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The lady at the front desk was EXTREMELY rude. The room was very dirty, when we checked in, and curtains were stained. Convienient location, however I would not recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very nice hotel. Old but shows well. Nice change

Posted Nov 28, 2013
I arrived at the hotel and upon entering I was met by frienly staff who checked me in explaining the amenities and where to park. The staff almost new ahead of time what I was going to ask. It was nice to stay at an old well appointed hotel, rather then the standard chain hotel/motels.