Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

The Reception Staff is wonderful.

Posted Oct 4, 2015
We stayed four nights here and throughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and modern and the location was great. Nice neighborhood with plenty of shops and restaurants. It's within walking distance of downtown and close to the waterfront as well, but the best part of the place was the reception staff. They were very friendly and extremely helpful. You can't beat the place for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Londoner. Experienced traveller

Different, boutique-type hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Cool, elegant and 'different' atmosphere. Convenient for shopping centres and Waterside culture.
Cons: A bigger and less complicated to operate TV
Location: Excellent location: quiet, charming 'villagey' feel area, close to shopping and all central parts of the city.
Warm welcome. My room elegant with a charming patio, but located a small distance up a hill from main hotel. Security system difficult to handle in dark. Tiny pool with room for only a few loungers and limited sunshine. Excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Convenient for wandering around Cape Town

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Within walking distance of the v&a and downtown Cape Town. Lots of individual houses bought up and together makes waterkant house and village.
Cons: Rooms could be a little cleaner.
Location: Plenty... It is central!
A cluster of individual houses turned into hotel rooms. Plenty of braii stands, rooftop space and a funky little pool. Staff very helpful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stellenbosch

Great area to stay in!

Posted Mar 22, 2011
Great area, great restaurants and vibey. Room we got at the internet rate was a bit small and kind of in the basement with a window looking outside into a wall. Wil stay again, but will look at one of the lovely upstairs rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, perfect location

Posted Aug 26, 2010
A very welcoming place. Quiet and spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

De Waterkant Village +++++ Cape Town, March 2010

Posted Apr 15, 2010
De Waterkant Village is actually all of the houses along two quiet blocks of Laoder Street, overlooking the area. I stayed in one of the houses which has 5 guest suites. The house and my room were very tastefully appointed and luxuriously comfortable, and clean. There was a communal kitchen, dining area, and a living room with big, comfy leather couches and a fireplace, as well as a surrounding outdoor deck and a small pool, just big enough to cool off in on a hot day. I didn't see anyone use the kitchen, as there are more excellent cafes & restaurants all within 3 blocks than I had time to try. The staff was especially friendly and accommodating, and there are a shelves filled with interesting books on Africa and Cape Town, as well as a host of other great books. (I could have stayed a few weeks just to read some of the books, and to try the other restaurants but there's so much more to do in Cape Town. The neighborhood is alive with art galleries and plenty of excellent places to eat, drink and be Mary. The breakfast that's included with some rooms is served at The Charles, just around the corner, and was top-notch. I would definitely stay there again, and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anglesey,Wales

"Security issues"

Posted Feb 18, 2010
Nice accommodation on 2 floors with patio outside.Very contemporary. Shower looked lovely,but not much water came out. Street outside noisy at night.Didn't feel very safe in the neighbourhood. Good restaurants nearby and bars and not far to Waterfront. Just didn't sleep much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

De Waterkant Village

Posted Feb 17, 2010
The only negative was being directly across from a restaurant that has late night patio seating that made it noisy until about midnight. Any other of their properties away from this restaurant would have been a lot quieter. Other than that, we were happy to have an entire two story apartment and a full breakfast. The location was convenient to everything and very charming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Great idea in an up and coming neighbourhood

Posted Oct 21, 2009
Firstly I would recommend this collection of hotel and apartments. The neighbourhood is going through a revitalization and is quite safe with security all over. Great bars and retaurants. Three things need improving. Access to after hours staff (I would have been without a room on arrival without one stranger with a cell phone), no phones in apartments, and limited internet access if any at all (which was important to me). Other than these easily repairable concerns, I was impressed in the end with a good stay. The breakfast was wonderful and included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by John from Cheltenham, UK

Great value for money

Posted Aug 29, 2009
We rented a two-bedroom apartment: clean and comfortable, though suffering from a little wear and tear but the price was great - well worth the money. Location is good: a pleasant view of Table Mountain, only ten minutes' walk from the city centre and from the Victoria & Albert waterfront and close to some good restaurants.