Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch NZ

Affordable hotel in practical location

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Price / performance and location
Cons: The food could be improved to match that offered in the village.
Location: Practical location for exploring, nearby village for local shops and fresh bread, 10 minute bus ride to largest village on Coral Coast for markets and
Gecko's is an affordable hotel with comfortable rooms with your own aircon. Staff are friendly and helpful. It's location on the main road gives easy access to public transport, which is an experience in itself. It is also walking/biking distance from a small village with shops and 2 nice restaurants to give options for dining.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Lovely resort, great little coffee shop, restaurant, recommend evening show and Fijian massage!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and relaxing

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The staff are amazing. Happy and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.
Location: Set in lovely grounds, also able to use facilities at nearby resort. Local bus goes to Sigatoka.
Stayed for 5 nights. Lovely and relaxing. Set in beautiful grounds with traditional village museum. The meals were very substantial and reasonably priced. There was entertainment every night we were there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kumeu, New Zealand

Amazing gem which exceeded all expectations

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: As covered above. Awesome setting with the grounds and cultural village displays. Beautiful palms and cycads. Good pool, restaurant and fire show
Location: Easy getting local bus to Sigatoka. Close to Shangri la and coast. Tavuni Fort a must, a short taxi ride from Sigatoka. Explore on bikes.
Only had 6 days in Fiji and spent the first 3 nights here. Could not fault it. Fantastic gardens, and grounds with the cultural village displays. Was clean and quiet and had a safe for valuables in the room. We brought cereal, bread and lunch material with us so only had to buy dinner but the food was so delicious we were tempted for some lunches as well and the restaurant was popular. Great fire show and dancing one night (free) and other nights had local guys singing. Friendly staff that were always cheerful. Used the free bicycles to explore the area and along past Cuvu Village. Caught a local bus into Sigatoka for $1. Don't miss Tavuni Fort, a short taxi ride from Sigatoka. Walked and biked to Shangri-La for snorkeling and kayaking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast - QLD, Australia

Good location - close to beach and bus stop

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Small resort but very friendly staff
Cons: Bathroom doors - have no privacy
Location: Nearest town Sigatoka
Very good food in restaurant at reasonable prices, excellent entertaiment
5 out of 5
by Sean from London

Great price alternative to Shangri-La

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at Geckos for a few nights whilst family were staying at Shangri -La. Great price for location near Shangri-La where there is more action (water sports, weddings, golf, etc). Nice and quiet at night, staff were incredibly friendly (they are Fijian after all!!). And the bar stocked cider as well as beer. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, MEL

Clean hotel and friendly staff

Posted May 17, 2016
Hotel was well kept and the staff were very welcoming. Food and facilities were average. Secluded location. About 15 mins drive from Sigatoka and a 500m walk to the beach.
4 out of 5
by Lennart from Copenhagen

A very friendly hotel for relaxation

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
I hade a 2 day stay, and it was a perfect place for resting after a long flight from Europe.
5 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for a few days but not for a complete holiday

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The swimming pool
Cons: Too much to mention, standards need to be lifted if they want to compete with other hotels in the region. I think it has all to do with management.
My friend and I were disappointed and expected to find much better quality than we did. The room was okay but had no comfortable chairs, a desk or table to write or eat at. The TV did not work and we had conflicting reasons as to why. The food we had at dinner was terrible, the worst of our holiday. We sent one entree back and they seemed to only know to put coleslaw with everything. It was mean and overpriced. We ate at Shangri-La across the road from Geckos. The only redeeming feature was the pool, it was great and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were pleasant and friendly but not overly efficient, no one helped us with our bags arriving or leaving. I would not stay here again.