Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

staff needs to have CSR Courses

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: has an awesome company called White Sand sports on the property where you can rent Jet Sjkis.
Cons: improve on this: The internet & parking is NOT FREE!! Its paid for by you paying a $50.00 resort fee per day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not free th
Location: White sand water sports. still on the balcony. the spa is too expensive.
The internet & parking is NOT FREE!! Its paid for by you paying a $50.00 resort fee per day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not free that is called false advertising. Not a lot to do there - 15% population.... the Meal plan is TOO expensive as it is per person. $289- $189 & $99. Beach NEEDS to be cleaned desperately. Cannot swim in the water as you will need water shoes. Very windy. They do provide a few beach chairs
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel Right on the Beach

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, facilities.
Cons: I wish the pools were bigger, but that's just me.
Location: East end is the least commercial and populated areas of Gr. Cayman. Plenty to do if you like diving and dining. Not much if you like partying/shopping
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham Reef Resort. We chose this hotel because we liked the idea of the uncrowded East End and wanted to do our own thing in regards to activities and dining. We rented a car at the airport (although you could arrange for the hotel shuttle and rent a car via hotel), and drove the 45 minutes to the hotel which is pretty easy, especially once you get out of town. I highly advise having GPS on your phone or vehicle to get you through the 5 or 6 roundabouts that take you outside Georgetown. A printout of directions also will work just fine. There is a grocery store, liquor store, Subway, and pretty good Italian restaurant all within walking distance from the hotel. We did not eat or drink at the hotel just because we like to adventure around, but from what we saw and smelled, you could stick right around the hotel without a vehicle and do just fine. A word of advice is that the local-fare restaurants are just as good as the more tourist-oriented places, and cheaper-though nothing is "cheap" in the Caymans. Just ask the hotel staff where they like, you should like it too. If you have come to Grand Cayman to dive and/or snorkel, the east end is fantastic and the on-site dive shop at the Reef Resort is Whitesand Watersports. They are absolutely professional, fun, and just refreshingly awesome. You may have to travel to the leeward west coast to dive during the "winter" months of Nov-late March. No complaints, enjoy!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great staff, nice hotel. Unreliable water.

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Nice friendly staff. Good food at the restaurant. Fantastic suites which are more like comfy apartments. Great quiet location.
Cons: Quick and fair dispute resolution when a basic service like water doesn't work.
Location: Gorgeous beach.
The hotel was nice, on the quiet side of the island, and my suite was fantastic. Arvd late in the evening, and ate a nice dinner by the bar. I was pleasantly surprised to find a suite with a full kitchen and nice ocean front porch. It was very well situated. All was fantastic until I woke up and found there was no water. No water whatsoever. Had I been on vacation, no big deal to simply wait for the water situation to be repaired, which took 45-50 minutes after calling the front desk. Being on a work trip, the water delay caused me to be late for my mtg. Further compounding the issue, when I checked out I told the front desk I would be checking out a day early as I couldn't risk no water the next day as well. I was told this wasn't a problem, but when I later spoke to Expedia, Expedia spoke to the hotel and claimed there was nothing that could be done. I've called my credit card to assist with dispute resolution. I had no problem paying for the first night, but I don't think it was fair paying for a second when I needed to stay in a hotel that could guarantee running water early in the morning given my early flight. It's too bad. I had been planning to return with my husband as we really enjoy the tranquility of a more remote vacation site, and I loved the staff, and suite size. On vacation, a temporary loss of water is not a big deal, but on a business trip it's basic. I shouldn't have to fight for a refund given the justification.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, United States of America

Week long getaway

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: This hotel has a bit of everything for all types. Family friendly but also friendly to solo visitors. Activities are offered both on the resort and away but one can also just withdraw from the rest of the world and relax and renew. Always plenty of lounge chairs and beautiful beach. Pools also available. Food is good ranging from breakfast snack to full dinner or you can stock up from the grocery across the street and feed yourself. Bar was always busy. I like that it is on the east end of the island away from the crowds but they offer bus service to town if you want to go shopping there. Diving shop and water toys available on site. And their spa is amazing.
Cons: I can't think of anything that could have been better.
Location: It is on the east end of the island which is "rural." But several well known restaurants are nearby, some even offer shuttle service. Easy driving.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, United States of America

A most relaxing vacation!!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The view is great. Rooms are nice & the staff goes out of their way to help you with whatever you need!! 3rd time there & will be back!!
Cons: Food could have been better. Notice a difference since Wyndham took over.
Location: Snorkeling right off the beach is excellent & have snorkel & dive trips set up right there for you to enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Cons: WIFI could be faster a bit, it only 1Mbit
I like hotel, location and amenities. Rooms are clear. Beach is not crowded (at least in October).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Awesome!
Cons: Cost. It's a little expensive, but understood.
Location: Everything water and then some.
Thanks to the warmest staff. Special thanks to Liz from the resort, Everald and Amelia from white sands. Truthfully, every staff member should be recognized. We felt like family. The resort is a time share. They will ask for a small presentation, but there's no pressure. The location is speechless. Perfect water, healthy coral, and the most beautiful reef teaming with fish. We will be returning. The locals as well are very hospitable. Great food and great experiences.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vermont

Beautiful location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Away from cruise ship areas, quite beach
Cons: Upon arrival to the hotel they immediately want you to listen to a talk about joining or purchasing the time share.
Location: Restaurants, snorkeling, water activities, beaches, beach bar, grocery store across the street
Great hotel on the east end, beautiful water, quite area, away from cruise ships and tourist attractions
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, CO

Great place to get away from it all

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Very friendly staff, food is very good
Cons: Towels need to be upgraded to a softer fabric
Location: Eating options close, within a 10-15 minute drive
Simple, easy, relaxing vacation. If you want to be refreshed, slow the pace of a busy life, this is the place for you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Quiet side of the island!

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: You MUST get a room on the first floor if you want easy beach access. Literally walked out the back door onto the beach - in the water in 15 steps!
Cons: The facilities were outdated - but the renovations began the day that we left! I bet it'll be outstanding when it reopens! Food on site was just ok.
Location: Grocery and liquor stores across the street! We ate on the patio of our rooms every day breakfast and lunch - incredible view and saved some money!!!
If you're looking for a quiet beach "get away" - this is the place! Definitely rent a vehicle and take the 40 minute drive from the airport yourself. The island is very safe and clean, and it's fun to have the flexibility to explore it! Also, there are a few superb restaurants nearby within driving distance (Tukka and Over the Edge were both fantastic!) We ate at Tukka two nights of the trip! We visited the Blue Iguana Nature Reserve - and actually saw one! We also enjoyed the bioluminescent bay tour (by boat!) which was fantastic and a very early morning trip to Sting Ray City (which included snorkeling on our tour!) The east side of the island is quiet and secluded - if that what you're looking for, stay here! We spent a day driving around the west side (Seven Mile Beach) which after six days of quiet was way too loud and crowded for us, but fun for the day!