Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Faded grandeur-part hotel and part museum

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The art deco ambiance is beautiful. The whole place makes you feel special, just being part of it for a few days. Isn't that what a holiday should do?
Cons: Breakfast is plentiful but lacks freshly fried eggs.
Location: Cliff top location, 20 min walk from the town centre. We took the cable car up and walked down again. We spent a day hiking the levadas with a guide.
Reid's has a reputation for being posh and it doesn't disappoint. We paid a little extra to start our 4 day break in style by arriving by S class Merc limo. The staff were very welcoming. Throughout the hotel they are lovely: always accommodating and polite. We booked the basic room through Expedia. It was a little cramped but as we didn't spend much time in it that wasn't a problem. We booked meals in advance at the William and Villa Cipriani restaurants but found there was no problem re-arranging things when we arrived. There is no beach but the two pools are luxurious and the pool attendants very helpful. The guest services office booked a day's hiking for us-we'd recommend getting up into the hills to see the island properly. The only negative point is that you walk through parts of it, past photos of parties from the 40s and 50s, of Winston Churchill and European royalty, and you wonder where the party is now? The billiards and bridge rooms are empty. Beautifully formal lounges seem museum-like rather than functional. Ending on a positive note....try the hotel's 1907 Madeira. Ignore the 75 euro price because you'll only once in your life drink a wine that could just as easily have been drunk by Rupert Brook or Ernest Hemingway...and the taste is indescribable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Es un hotel precioso muy bien situado y el personal del hotel muy amable y dispuesto a ayudarte en todo lo posible. Muy tranquilo y las instalaciones fabulosas
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

5 star hotel great location

Posted May 16, 2016
Beautiful old hotel. Splendid breakfast and Williams restaurant was excellent with very attentive staff. My only criticism is some of the concierge staff were not very friendly. Would stay again if I returned to Madeira.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An iconic hotel, but slightly faded in its glory.

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: The service, the food, the views, particularly from our balconies.
Cons: Since the company was rebranded from the iconic, mysterious and elusive 'Orient Express' brand to 'Belmond', it becomes just another luxury brand.
Location: Great fish local restaurants in Funchal and nearby. The city is interesting and worth exploring. The island itself is beautiful, well cared for.
Great service, good food, particularly at Cipriani. Lovely pool area, fantastic view across Funchal harbour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, England

Beautiful hotel.

Posted May 7, 2016
Reids is a famous hotel which more than exceeded my expectations. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Decor was fabulous. Gardens wonderful. Food brilliant and they were careful with my husband's gluten free needs. Can't think of a single bad thing to say.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Lives up to its name

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Its position, facilities, atmosphere, location and helpful, attentive staff.
Cons: The billiards room could have the table re-instated and not be set out as a meeting room.
Location: Located for the west end of the city and easy walk down into the port and old town area. Lots of restaurants and places of entertainment nearby(casino
There have been several extensions to this classic hotel built on the cliffside overlooking Funchal harbour.All tastefully done and very classy. The place to stay chosen by celebrities and royaltyas evidenced from the photos and memorabilia in one of the lounge areas. This hotel has a different restaurant for each meal as well as its own Italian restaurant with spectacular views in the grounds. The gardens are rightly famous and taking afternoon tea at Reid's is a treat for non residents as well. One of the strong, traditional English influences. Leisure facilities are there too with 3 outdoor swimming pools: heated saltwater and freshwater and a sea water pool at sea level. Sundecks and sunloungers for resting, tennis court and indoor gym for the more active. Spa with treatments onsite although the sauna and steam rooms are in the respective gender's changing rooms so are unisex. The hotel organises activities for the guests (if wanted) every day, most are exclusive to residents, but also mostly at extra cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent
5 out of 5
by Brigitte

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Luxury friendly hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Tell guests in advance about the trips so they can plan their stay
Location: Beautiful cliff top location; walkable to town where there is culture, wine and history. Trips into hills to go walking are easy.
Brilliant short break to see Flower Festival. The hotel was wonderful. Staff were so friendly and efficient, room was enormous and very comfortable. Food delicious in all their restaurants, especially their signature Williams restaurant. Easy to walk into town, but there was a regular hotel shuttle. Lots of very good excursions organised by the hotel - not as cheap as some of the other operators, but really good quality guides who gave us plenty of local information. The standard of decor in the hotel was amazing. You have to try the afternoon tea - a real step back in time. Take a frock (ladies)!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2016
A wonderful hotel, really makes you feel special. Keen to visit again and would not want to stay anywhere else.