Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Do not stay here

Posted Sep 8, 2017
It was one the worse experience in my life, room smelled like cigarettes or worse pot, very dirty, just I can't believe the owner is able to keep this place running. Do not stay here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

THE WORST HOTEL EVER

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I get to the hotel to find no one available to check me in. Once I do I find out there is no beach close to us, the closest one was 12 miles away, no pool, no ice machines, basically nothing at all. I get the key to the room to find it absolutely filthy!!! Roaches in the bathroom, the light didn't work and not to mention when my daughter sits on the sofa we find a pill bottle full of marijuana. The resort owner didn't care and made me and my kids sit in the heat until after 2am to refund my money back!!! I will never stay here again and I would never recommend them!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami beach

The worse place in the Keys, a real deception.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing to like, It is an old trailer park
Cons: Taking this listing out of Expedia is necessary. This is false advertisement, only the pictures are nice
Location: The location is fine, Islamorada is a nice place.
This dump cannot even be called a hotel. Some rooms are mobile others are fixed but is a trailer park not a Hotel. It is located in a trailer park, with access to the water. Inside the small & smelly dirty rooms, mold is in abundance. The rooms are dirty, the mattress have signs of bed bug, the place is depressing. When I complained to the Manager/ owner that lives in the property about the cleanness, he said he had no staff available. In fact, he was the only one there. All of the rooms were empty with the exception of four, I asked him to cancel my reservation but he refused to refund my credit card. His excuse was that he was completely booked. This is a rip off, this guy & his place should not be advertised in Expedia My advice to other tourists: If you go to Isla Morada, down the Keys, Never stay at Floating Sea Cove Resort & Marina .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Quaint, old little place in a good location

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location.
Cons: Maybe a coffee maker?
Location: On Marathon Key, close to beaches and national parks. Close to the turtle rescue and an aquarium. In they eys, need I say more?
The website states it has a 50's vibe, they are not kidding. This is a quaint little place. The rooms are small, a dobule bed (no queen size), no closets, no coffee makers, not even a phone in the room. BUT, it does have a mini fridge and microwave. It has a small box style tv but there is cable. It was a comfortable place to sleep and in a very convenient location. Price wise, it was much cheaper than surrounding locations, but I'm sure it didn't have the amenities that other places had. Basically, we did not go to the Keys to stay in a room. The room was a place to sleep and it served that purpose.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Definitely put on the "never to stay again" list.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gulf Coast, FL

A place to sleep but still.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Though the idea of a floating motel sounds cool, this place really needs some work done. The rooms were old, barely clean and had no sign that the 21st Century was occurring other than the no smoking sign in the rooms. I was also upset that when booking a room I had to pay over one hundred dollars for it because according to Expedia there was "only one room available" even though there was no one else staying at the motel that night! I'll be honest, if I paid something like fifty bucks for the room that would be okay, but what I paid was way too much for a dirty, cheap motel with cockroaches running around and a tube television that didn't work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This place should be condemned for safety and cleanliness violations. The mattresses were directly on the floor. Toilet had fecis splattered in the bowl. Tampons in the fridge. Filthy throughout. And the dock you have to walk on the the rooms not safe for foot traffic. Expedia should be ashamed to endorse this place by having them on their site as it brings down their credibility as well.
4 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was a reasonable rate for what I expected. The room was clean, towels, lotion, and shampoo were provided. However, there is little space to set down personal items such as toiletries, hair dryer, razors, etc. There are also no racks, shelves, or drawers to place clothing. It is ideal for a clean place to sleep, which is what I needed for my visit. The location is great for visiting anywhere in Marathon and about 1 hour and 15 minutes from Key West. It's great for visiting the Keys on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2017
Comfortable quiet relaxing 😎 Would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
Thank you, We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had to find a different hotel.

Posted May 16, 2017
Could not reach them to check in. Had to find another hotel on mothers day weekend to stay. Would never recommend this hotel. EVER. ALMOST RUINED MY FIRST STAY IN THE KEYS.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by Mike A. - Front Desk, Hotel Management
We are sorry you had "problems reaching us". We have been at the same location since the 1950's. We are the First Motel as you enter Marathon. Our office hours are advertised at the Expedia website and Expedia also specifies all the information for check-in including Office Hours and the Motel telephone number in your Reservation Confirmation. Our office Hours are: 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 Noon for check Outs and 3:00 p.m. until Midnight for Check-ins. We close from Noon until 3:00 p.m. to clean our rooms. This is standard operating procedure for most small motels as no one can be checked in until the rooms are cleaned. We answer the telephone during all hours that the office is open. Upon checking our telephone records we find there were NO unanswered calls during office hours on Mother's day. This means that you either did not call or you called outside of our office hours while we were cleaning our rooms. When you call outside of our regular office hours we give you our hours of operation on the recording. We were actually open 3 hours later than usual (until 3:00 a.m.) in order to accommodate our customers for late check-ins on this busy weekend). Again, we are sorry that you chose to go to another motel rather than to call or visit us during our operating hours but we were certainly here to serve you as we did our over 100 other customers that visited us on that weekend. Thank you.