Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and shopping

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Loved the location. Actual rooms were just ok for the expensive price we paid.- very small for the 2 queen bed suite- Just room enough for the bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Nice staff, small rooms, very outdated, rock hard mattresses. Expected more of continental breakfast. Maybe at least some cereals or fresh muffins instrad of store bought individually wrapped muffins and danishes for the price I paid per night. Stay there due to location, not for the hotel. I understand there is a very nice, renovated part of hotel- but that wasnt where i was put unfortunately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from No. Cal

1st room to Small, upgraded to a suite beach view

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location, everything is walking distance
Cons: Second floor button on main elevator seldom stops on 2nd floor when pressed.
Location: Segway tours, fair, ferry, boat rentals, Boardwalk, stores, bars, restaurants, bike rentals, surfing, pier,
Hotel is in renovation stages. Valet location was not easy to locate. Check in is in a small room which was not easy to locate and no signs. Every morning there was coffee and variety of fruit and breads. Very nice location and suite have a nice view. Lots of outdoor seating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach

Posted Jun 15, 2016
The room size is extremely small and tight. And for a normal size room the charge is double per night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

One stop shop.

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Family oriented, beautiful site for weddings, all staff are friendly, spa overlooking the ocean.
Cons: Italian dining on site not representative of the cost. Food was not bad, but family fine dining and some diners serve better food at a better price.
Location: Ocean front hotel, dining, shopping, bicycling, all types of water sports, harbor tours/dinner cruises, kids fun zone.
Beautiful, historic hotel. Beautiful views of the ocean. Friendly staff, fast service. Beach side and surrounded by shops, restaurants and activities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

NOT A BOTIQUE HOTEL!

Posted May 23, 2016
Our room was dirty and shabby. The furniture was stained and looked like it came from a low end thrift store. The blinds didn't work. Dried urine on the toilet... Gross. The door was black around the edges like it had never been cleaned. This place advertises as a BOTIQUE hotel. It is like a subpar motel 6. Do not waste your money or vacation time. Stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Clise to the beach . Long way from the airport

Posted May 17, 2016
Did nike the way the room was set up. Walk into room where one of the beds where and then into the other half of the room to the other bed and bathroom and aĺ the room amenities so if you needed to go to tje bathroom in the middle of the night you had to walk down a hall to get to it in the dark.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills CA

Older hotel but kept up nice, close to the beach.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Very close to where we needed to be
Cons: A better view
Location: Right on the water you can also walk to downtown or ride bikes to Newport and Huntington Beaches.
After driving around the hotel a few times, we finally found the entrance the valet said it $45. to park overnight but recommended we park in public parking for only $17.00 a night. We were told that we would have two queen beds with a view of the courtyard. We had the two queens but our view was of a red brick wall. We didn't walk around the hotel at all because there really isn't anywhere to walk other then to your room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Close to everything!

Posted May 14, 2016
Fun get-away and right on the beach! Bike rental next door, places to eat, have stayed here many times and love coming back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very close to beach, but that's it.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Location to the beach. That's it.
Cons: A whole bunch of things: -Renovate the entire property -Cut down the tree on the corner of Main St & the bike path -Soundproof rooms
Location: Lots of restaurants, bars, and activities are nearby. We rented bikes and rode around the peninsula. The harbor docks are only 1 block away.
We booked a weekend at this hotel because of it's location to the beach. Seeing it rated as a 3 Star hotel, we knew it wouldn't be the best, but expected much more than what we got. Below are some notes and comments about our stay: The Good - Location, it's beachfront, so you're steps from the Balboa Pier, Beach, and Restaurants & Bars. The Bad - There's a tree full of birds that squawk very loudly 24/7 on the corner of Main St and the bicycle path, which is right next to the rooms of the hotel. They squawk so loud that you can hear them in the middle of the night. - The walls of the room are thin. This means you can hear all of the loud drunk people stumbling home in the middle of the night and can also hear the drunks partying at the Cabo Cantina, which is across the street. - There is no house phone in the room, so we couldn't call the front desk to complain about loud neighbors or ask questions about what to do around the hotel, we had to walk down to the lobby. The Ugly - The rooms are old & musty. The floor of our room felt like it was eating away underneath the carpet. I walked on several "holes" under the carpet - The AC unit is a wall mounted unit with a remote control. It was very difficult to figure out how to use and we didn't figure it out until Day 2. It then froze in the middle of the night and sounded like it was going to blow up, it woke us up. Since we had no house phone, we couldn't report it - The bathroom had mold on the tile underneath the sink