Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Great location. It's an older hotel but rooms have been upgraded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler, AZ

Older property but very convenient location

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: location and the restaurant onsite was very good.
Cons: Definitely either put a warning out about the breakfast self serve coffee being beyond boiling point or turn down the temperature.
Location: It's walking distance to the pier and easy access to the Catalina Flyer for a day trip on Catalina Island.
I think there is a big difference between rooms that have patios and those that don't. But since we got in very late and were leaving early morning, I picked the more budget friendly option. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was recently remodeled. The best part about the hotel is the location. Very central to everything, in the very heart of the Balboa and walking distance to restaurants, shops and beach. Word of caution: the self serve coffee in the morning was so ridiculously hot that when it spilled on my hand I got second degree burns.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so great.

Posted May 20, 2017
For the amount of money you spend on the room you would expect a nice one. When we got there they tried to hit me with a 45$ fee for vallet parking and the room had a broken window with no shades. And the Mattres was horrible very old and crooked, the shower was bad as well
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

to much money for the Hotel you are getting!

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: This place did have a beautiful view. I also loved the location. Also the Jacuzzis was very nice.
Basic, basic rooms. The A/C really didn't work well. Being so close to the beach, you know that there will be sand. There was sand all over the floors. No broom or anything to clean up with. There was no place to hang closes or towels to dry. The walls weren't very sound proof. we could hear people talking and walking all night. The breakfast was a disappointment. All it had was muffins and juice / coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Awesome Location! Close to the beach and harbor!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location, charm, proximity to the beach.
Cons: Check-in was hectic because we couldn't figure out where to park, had to wait a while, ended up parking ourselves.
Location: The beach, the pier, the harbor, AWESOME restaurants!
Overall, the hotel was charming! The building and rooms were cute. I loved how it was indoor-outdoor. Nice that they offered a light breakfast in the morning. Our room at clearly been updated, which was nice. It was cozy with a good sized bed, cute bathroom, table/fridge area and a balcony. Our room was a little noisy at night because of a nearby bar and restaurant, but overall very enjoyable. We did not expect to pay for parking, so come prepared for that! The hotel was so close to beach, we could see the ocean from the balcony. It's right by the pier and close to harbor. The area had a lot to do!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Az

Balboa Inn has a great location!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Walking distance to restaurants, beach and newport Harbor. Lots of paid public parking across the street and was cheaper than hotel parking. Totally enjoyed our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Very nice hotel with view of the beach.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Cons: Lighting in the room and bathroom could be better.
We had a short but spectacular stay middle of the week. The hotel was very nice with an excellent view of the beach and ocean. There were a few minor issues, that we brought to the hotel attention, and they responded immediately. Staff was friendly, courtesy, and kind. We would definitely refer the hotel to friends, and we plan to be back in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marina Del Rey

Location was great, room was not, parking not good

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated and bathroom needs somewhere to put your things on. Bad setup
Location: Perfect location, walking distance to pier and restaurants
The location was good, staff was pleasant, room was dirty - huge stain on the floor, no screen on window, very loud location, no AC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inland Empire California

Disappointed stay near beach

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The first room we were given was very dated(not historic) and dirty. We moved to another room for $50 more totaling now$500! This room had a dripping swamp cooler and the upstairs bed had sand in it ( not from us)!!!! I also was disappointed in the lack of security as anyone can enter the property. You do not need a key for elevator or pool. We were in pool and young teenagers had snuck into area from beach and were kicked out. We were told by maintenance that it happens often. I would not recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love the location

Posted Apr 13, 2017
My kids always enjoy the trip. The hotel needs to put towels in the spa area for the hotel customers.