Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
30% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
This has to be the worst hotel on town. You have to kick the door to open it. When we got into the room the bathroom had been used and there were stains on the bed and a hole in the bathroom ceiling. We were to tired to find another place so late so we stayed the night but left the next day and found a different place. On the bright side, there was a friendly cat that roamed around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm springs

Not good

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Dirty carpet, room stank, bed itchy. Not a pleasant place
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very Outdated Hotel with Minimal Amenities

Posted Sep 7, 2017
This hotel is literally a cheap place to stay with minimal amenities & comfort. Check-in was fast & easy, but the room was barely clean. The carpet was filthy, of 3 lamps in the room only one worked, another was missing a light bulb & the 3rd was unplugged and the outlet was covered up/not usable. Housekeeping starts early & if you are not out of your room when they arrive, they completely skip your room & don't come back. Beds were barely ok, but pillows were old & lumpy. Towels were clean, but had a rancid smell. It was the middle of a heatwave & the ice machine was broken & never fixed in the 3 days we were there. You can hear your neighbors in the next room, so if they're noisy don't expect a quiet night. Overall, a cheap hotel with only the bare minimum to sleep & shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toluca Lake, CA.

Its fine for Quick Getaway to Palm Springs.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The location was great!
Cons: The entire property could use a makeover.
If you are looking for The Waldorf or even Motel 6..............DON'T stay at The Desert Lodge. The Desert Lodge is fine for a one or two night inexpensive stay in Palm Springs. Yes, the place needs tender loving care. But, my room and bathroom were clean, though could use an upgrade. The pool, shuffle board area and jacuzzi were clean but could also use an upgrade. The grounds could use a landscaping makeover. If the owner(s) were smart they would invest in this property, there is a lot of great potential there! But, then the prices would go up. Just remember....YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. When YOU CHOOSE to pay under $50 per night for a room, then YOU should expect to get under $50 for that room and NOT The Waldorf or Motel 6! So, if you're traveling to Palm Springs on a tight budget and you're not demanding The Waldorf or Motel 6, The Desert is Lodge is fine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location is the best of my stay

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Great weekend get away everything was walking distance
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SCW AZ

We ended up not staying.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
It was 120 degrees out. They had no air or water.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Stay away!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: Everything
Location: Palm Springs
When we first checked in the hotel seemed a little run down. The glass on the lobby door was broken and everything in the lobby looked dated. We went to our room and it was a furnace. They had not turned on the air conditioner in the room even though it was almost 110 degrees outside. We had to go to the store and buy a fan to help cool down the room. A few hours later it was cool enough to sleep as long as we didn't open the bathroom door, because it was still hot in there. We tried to get ice from the ice machine and it was broke, they gave us some chang to fill the ice bucket at the liquor store that was next door. The next morning the circuit breaker went off and we lost power to our room. Luckily we were there otherwise it would have been a furnace when we got back to the room. We actually wondered if they had rooms that were hourly because there were some sketchy looking people coming and going. They had multiple broke down busted up cars in their lot. We would have left after the first night but the check in form says no refunds and we were only staying for 2 nights. The second night we actually saw 3 roaches in the bathroom, but it was in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
by ALMA CELINA

GOOD

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
it was ok
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way too overpriced!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Firsy, I reserved a smoking room but when I got there, the clerk said he just gave away the last smoking room. Second, the room was small and VERY HOT!! It took almost 3 hours of running the air conditioner to get it to a comfortable level. Third, when I called the motel directly, they quoted me the SAME PRICE as I was getting at a supposed discount through Expedia so there was NO discount at all. Way over priced motel. Id be willing to pay 35-40 dollars, not 65!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sweat Is Not Fun

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
The AC was off when we got in the room and considering its 90° outside at midnight this is a problem. We turned it on and after 3 hours the room still didn't cool down. Eventually we just left.