Ratings based on 1,377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

What a pleasant surprise!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: I loved the Law library in the lobby
Cons: They are almost finished with the renovation of the Grange restaurant. I'd have loved to have eaten there.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Citizen hotel in Sacramento. The staff was superb and the decor was classy and elegant. I especially loved the Law library in the lobby. If you are tired of the same old, same old... Give the Citizen a try!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Old hotel but nice location.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Heater not working. Not bath tub. Give me a small room that I should have been upgraded.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Fine if you a) have a dog or b) like clubs

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Posters and political cartoons. Room was clean, bedding high quality. Security very responsive.
Cons: Customer service
The staff wouldn't find us another room as so I ended up sharing a bed. Less than optimal. When we checked out, we were told that they would have provided us a two bedroom room if we had been more insistent. Really? Isn't asking enough? Restaurant under construction.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Was great except when I arrived I realized the grange Resturant was closed for remodel that was the only reason I booked there
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorba Linda, CA

Nice Old Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: The quotes on the pictures
Cons: More food choices open
Location: In front of a park and you can see some homeless people around. Not too many choice around for nice meal - there are some fast food around.
Nice old hotel but I don't know if would be safe to walk around at night time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wedding Stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: We stayed here after getting married in the area and were treated like royalty. I would definitely stay again!!
Cons: I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. I enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Cute but very small.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly & helpful. Very convenient being in the same hotel as the wedding.
Location: Very close to the capitol and the capitol park is beautiful.
Nice boutique hotel, cute political theme, but very small rooms! Only a queen bed and we could still barely get around. No dresser, only an armoire, and the shelves were taken up by coffee maker & glasswear so we had to live out of our suitcases so it got messy quick and even more uncomfortable. The bathroom had no counter space to be able to lay toiletries out so again, not functional & added to the discomfort. The shower was cold, then hot, then cold again. We had a corner room which you would think would be a bigger room but my husband & I agree that it's one of if not the smallest rooms we've ever stayed in. And we had our dogs with us since the hotel is pet friendly but if we knew how small the rooms were we wouldn't have brought them, or stayed somewhere else. Even without the dogs, I will not go back. We travel often (usually w/o dogs) & I can go 2 weeks out of a carry on bag. And the rooms were still too small for comfort. We were there for a wedding and even our friends complained of the size of the rooms. I rarely leave reviews & hate leaving a bad one but I believe people should know how small the rooms are. This hotel is for that business person with clothes to hang only, limited toiletries, & is only there for a couple days.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Charming, centrally located, comfortable, cooperative relationship with local gym. Pet friendly!
Cons: I was given a room by the elevator... the first night there was a stream of people talking, laughing, kids crying, etc.... the 2nd night a wedding was in full swing when I got back to my room about 9. The speeches and music were so loud that it felt like I was in the same room. Thankfully, they stopped at a reasonable hour ( 11PM) . Better sound proofing would go a long way. The hotel apparently was full and the only room that I could have changed to would have been noisier, according to the front desk.
Location: Walkable to most things but keep in mind that this is a city and there are a lot of homeless around the immediate area....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Very nice Hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: In Sacramento where things to do are endless.
The Hotel is well located, very clean and in excellent condition. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is located in the Hotel and has excellent food. Our stay, though short was excellent with one exception. The house keepers need to check the alarm clocks, ours went off very early which was disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vintage Vibe

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: We simply enjoy the experience of The Citizen. It just is our hotel of choice for downtown events when we don't want to drive home.
Cons: There isn't much we don't like. There are things that are out of the hotel's control.... like fewer sirens. But that's life in the big city!
Location: Easy walk to the Gilden 1 Center, Community Center Theater, IMAX, Crest, restaurants, and nightclubs.
This is not a grand expansive hotel. This is a hotel that takes you back in time. When you didn't hole up in your room but came down and mingled with others in the hotel library. The rooms are mostly on the small side. They are nonetheless well appointed and the beds are super comfortable. It's downtown so they provide earplugs as there will be noise. As with all the downtown hotels.... if you want absolute quiet, a suburban hotel is for you. But the location can't be beat. The Grange is outstanding for your meals.