Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel that met all of my needs

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: The hotel was spacious. The rooms were large and clean. The special on the champagne on Friday night was a fabulous surprise.
Cons: Since it was raining heavily most of the time that I was there, it would have been nice to have the hotel provide umbrellas for the guests.
Location: The hotel is not near any shopping areas. It requires transportation to get to them.
The hotel was in a location that was easy to access via the highway. Unfortunately, it was not near any shops that were within walking distance. You really need a car to get around. The hotel was clean, the staff anticipated needs and provided whatever was required.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Kristin D, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for leaving a review of the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave details regarding our property and your stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Posted Jan 27, 2017
This hotel was just the right size for a workshop; not too large! Nice restaurant also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Kristin D , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. We are very glad to hear that you had a successful workshop and enjoyed our restaurant. Thank you for visiting us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area, CA

Quite, relaxing close to freeway.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, friendly staff especially the housekeeping staff.
Cons: Little more updating on the details. I also wanted to eat at the restaurant but, the website said they only served sushi so I had to eat elsewhere.
Location: located 1 minute from the freeway 10 minutes from the beach.
Room had been updated om the past few years. Still has the old "Las Vegas" feel in the hallways and common areas. All the room numbers signs and other signage appear to be the original gold tone with black lettering. Pleasing, friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2017 by Kristin D , Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your stay at the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. We are so glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable and inviting. On your next trip to our property, please be sure to visit Arterra Restaurant and Lounge, which serves not only fresh sushi, but a full menu of items from our field to fork kitchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Great hotel and great staff! They had a lot of energy even when I checked in at 1AM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Kristin D. , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your staff, and specifically your check in experience. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel for 2 days visiting family

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The lobby and the rooms. The gym and pool were also very nice.
Cons: Free parking, they charged $20 per day which was not initially disclosed.
Location: Carmel Valley in San Diego is only a couple of miles from the spectacular Del Mar Beach and Torrey Pines.
Very nice hotel in the Carmel Valley area of San Diego
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2016 by Kristin D, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the amenities of our property, as well as our location. We truly appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

I would never rate this a 4 star hotel!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Robes, slippers, new mattresses, CLEAN sheets without stains, new pool chair cushions, better food, cleaning up vomit in public areas!
Location: It is right next to the freeway. It's sort of an industrial area. No decent restaurants unless you drive into Del Mar proper, or Solana Beach.
I would never rate this a four star hotel. The pool lounges are so old and the cushions are so thin, they hurt my back when I sat down on them. They are in dire need of replacing. The photos make the pool are look much larger than it is. It was full of infants with diapers on, so I would not swim in it. There are no robes or slippers as most 4 star hotels provide. The food at their "acclaimed" restaurant is just so-so. $50 for a burger and 2 white wine is a bit steep! The bar was full of loud, screaming, drunk people. The obviously overserve in the bar. There was vomit on the sidewalk that stayed there for over 24 hours. It was still there when I checked out. It is so close to the freeway, and very loud. The beds are very hard and in need of mattress replacement. There was a blood stain on my sheets! There were screaming kids running wild in the lobby area, with no one to keep them in check. You described the room with a "deep soaking tub". This was completely bogus. It's just a run of the mill shower/bath. Nothing fancy about it. Wifi is $9.95 a day unless you are a rewards member. It is surrounded with other old hotels, just overlooking the freeway. It may be find for a business traveler, but I would never recommend to anyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Kristin D, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We truly appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our management team.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Its an ok hotel....

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Location was great.. easy access to everything
It was the little things that made me rate less than perfect. Checked in with two adults and two kids... had to request 2 additional sets of towels everyday. My boys and husband has allergies and my 4 year old went through the box of tissue after requesting a new box... that didn't get replenished when the room was cleaned it took two days to get a new box. The food was disgusting...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Kristin D, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback of the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. We truly appreciate your business and are glad that you enjoyed the location of the property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

Never visit here again!

Posted Oct 3, 2016
When we arrived at the hotel the clerk said we had a different room than what we had originally reserved.After that the clerk told us there no more room available. Once I showed her our reservation she gave us what they had which was a room facing the air condition ducks. Needless to say this was our view for our entire stay. We would have left the hotel but there were no hotels with available rooms. Sucks!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2016 by Kristin D, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your room assignment. We will pass this along to our reservation department. Please let us know, for future stays of a specific room choice, and we will be happy to accommodate you, to the best of our abilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

checkin nightmare

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Quiet
Cons: The hotel staff
They told me that my reservation was for the next day, one night only instead of two nights. When I told the clerk that it was wrong, she told me that Expedia mess up things again for sure. She tried to access Expedia to review the info (of course she did not!! I saw the reflection) and told me at the end that she was checking me in and f there was a problem, she would let me know. Food at the hotel is tasteless and expensive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2016 by Kristin D. , Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review of our property. We are disappointed to learn that you did not have a great experience here and we would like to apologize for that. We have reported all of your concerns to our management team and will be sure to follow up to ensure that this incident was an isolated one. Thank you for your business and your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great accommodating desk staff

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Super clean with great front desk staff. Restaurant kind of mails it in but used to be great as well. Many excellent dining options nearby. Always quiet and accomodating. Sushi is hit or miss but the outside patio venue is very worthwhile. This location is 4 min east from the beach and 1 minute away from the freeway access to go either east or north and south. Super clean with great front desk staff. Restaurant kind of mails it in but used to be great as well. Many excellent dining options nearby. Always quiet and accomodating. Sushi is hit or miss but the outside patio venue is very worthwhile. This location is 4 min east from the beach and 1 minute away from the freeway access to go either east or north and south. Super clean with great front desk staff. Restaurant kind of mails it in but used to be great as well. Many excellent dining options nearby. Always quiet and accomodating. Sushi is hit or miss but the outside patio venue is very worthwhile. This location is 4 min east from the beach and 1 minute away from the freeway access to go either east or north and south. Super clean with great front desk staff. Restaurant kind of mails it in but used to be great as well. Many excellent dining options nearby. Always quiet and accomodating. Sushi is hit or miss but the outside patio venue is very worthwhile. This location is 4 min east f
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Kristin D , Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review on Expedia, regarding your recent visit to the San Diego Marriott Del Mar. We are delighted to receive 5 out of 5 as your rating, and thank you so much for your positive feedback.