Ratings based on 1,523 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2017
It was so wonderful! This hotel exceeded our expectation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnwell SC

Nice hotel. Good location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Everything was as expected. The only issue we had was the fact that we had booked and paid for a king room with balcony and the hotel was,unable to provide one. They had overbooked .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Nice hotel, BUT...

Posted Sep 7, 2017
I am a frequent Westin guest and love the beds! This time however, upon check-in we were greeted professionally and treated well. The rooms were assigned and my traveling companion even received an upgrade. Upon entering my room I found the iron to have a stain on it which transferred to my clothing. Secondly, the shower didn't work. It took them a half an hour to respond to the issue. They charge for parking even though they have a full lot of open spaces, (and there is no alternative parking available), on top of the "resort" charge they charge per room. It wasn't even in my top 50 of the Westin resorts I've stayed at in other locations. I loved Savannah, but I don't think I'll be returning to the Westin!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Impressive disappointment with so many extra fees

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The pricing fooled my husband and I. So many hidden fees. You have to pay to use services whether you needed them or not. Then you have to pay again. For example, there is a spa fee just for staying in a hotel that happens to be a spa. By the way you have to pay this fee each day of your trip, it is not a one time fee. Then if you want to use the spa you have to actually pay again for whatever service you choose. Same thing with the golf course. Our receipt shows where we paid for "complementary wifi". One fee was because we parked our own car. We spent $40 on breakfast one morning for cold eggs, warm milk and fruit that tasted like vinegar. By the time you add up the fees we could have stayed in a fancier hotel on the other side of the river. Which was also confusing, for someone who has no experience with Savannah, GA, the hotel description made it sounds like you were in walking distance. The Westin was on the wrong side of the river. So you had to take a ferry, which was another hidden fee and not included in the hotel price, or you had to drive about 15 minutes. Overall it was a huge hassle and serious disappointment. Our vacation was depressing and annoying instead of relaxing we will NOT be returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I've been in worse but not by much

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: The room was okay. I'll stop there.
Cons: Bogus "Resort Fees" hit on card well after checkout.
Location: Not near anything.
Arrived to a lobby full of paint tarps. Check in desk gone. Not a single sign. Searched everywhere to check in. Finally found it. Told them a sign would be nice. They ignored me and smiled. Room was average. No signs anywhere to find workout area. Just keep walking and asking. Parking is extra. Not on bill. You have to go to their lot and use a credit card to get in and out. Far from downtown and restaurants. Booked it on this site. Here's what they don't tell you. When you leave, the credit card you used to cover incidentals now has another hefty bill on it for resort charges. Why? It's a resort fee, meaning, you eat it. I called them and they suggested It's the charge for wifi and a fitness center which is free at any other hotel. Never disclosed. Live and learn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

20th Anniversary Trip

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Golf n location. The View is amazing
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect on the river Savannah historic district
PERFECT VIEW of Historic Savannah!! Easy access to the city with the free tender. So close to Hilton Head easy 26 mile drive n only 18 miles from Tylbee Island. A lot of historic landmarks in Savannah. We will be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Remodeling inconvenience

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Love the view!!
Cons: Probably inform guests in advance when the lobby is being remodeled.
Location: We love the location!
The hotel was being remodeled, so this caused some inconvenience. There is a $28 fee added to your daily rate--which I have no idea what this is for! If you choose to self park you'll walk about 300 yards to the lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

This hotel is in serious need of a renovation.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The pool
Cons: A lot of maintenance, mainly paint and resurface the hardwood in the restaurant area.
Location: I never played the golf course on site but it looks very nice. Downtown Savannah is right across the river from this hotel.
We had stayed at a Westin hotel in the past so we had high expectations for this place. The grounds outside as you arrive at the hotel were very nice and what you would expect. The greeting from the doormen was cordial and very welcoming but the lady at check in was very rude and just not very friendly. This, unfortunately, is what you remember and sets the tone for your stay. This hotel must have been very nice in the past but is very rundown looking right now. In the elevator we noticed one of the rails were missing and the mounting brackets for the rail were very sharp. The floors and walls of the hotel were very scratched and marked up and the rooms were not much better. The the view of the river and pool area however, was very nice. The ferry ferryservice to the downtown area across the river was convenient although very noisy (actually deafening for me) while cruising to the other side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Deltona, FL

Great Stay

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Clean. Beautiful view. Great comfortable room.
Cons: Slightly larger bar for a nightcap would have been nice.
We chose this hotel because of the location and were not disappointed. Great view of the river and activities and ferry service across and back on the river. The room was very nice. Great, relaxing multiple head shower. Slight disappointment in the in room fridge. No freezer section to recharge our ice packs that we travel with. Still, small glitch in an otherwise wonderful stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Rooms weren't cleaned every day. It was under staffed and under reconstruction. I imagine it's incredible when it's up and running properly. The fitness facility is a 10 min walk off site but it doesn't tell you that on line.