Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by Petrafrom Garbsen

ein nicht zu empfehlendes Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Cons: Eigentlich sieht die Zimmerausstattung auf den ersten Blick nicht schlecht aus, aber leider ist der Raum nicht sauber und nicht alles funktioniert.
Location: Nicht Flughafennah, wie in der Beschreibung und um das Hotel liegen Bauruinen und Wellblechhütten mit sehr engen Gassen.
Leider nicht so nah am Flughafen wie erwartet und in einer wirklich nicht guten und sehr abgelegenen Wellblechhüttengegend von Addis. Unser Zimmer war auch nicht sauber, zum Beispiel waren Flecken auf der Bettwäsche. Die Zimmer sind sehr hellhörig; ein lange läutendes Telefon im Nebenraum war sehr gut zu hören! Auch das im Zimmerpreis enthaltene Frühstück war eine Zumutung .Als wir ins Restaurant kamen, war über mehrere Minuten kein Personal auffindbar. Alle Tische waren voller Reste der vorhergehende Frühstücksgäste, das Besteck war nicht sauber. Es gab Kaffee, Ei, Brötchen und eine Marmelade. Keine Butter, auch nicht auf Nachfrage, keinen Saft oder Wasser, von Wurst oder Käse ganz zu schweigen. Die Personen an der Rezeption hatten zwar unsere Buchung, waren aber unorganisiert und obwohl ja alles über Expedia vorher geregelt war, dauerten der Check-In und das Auschecken lange, da auch hier wieder erst kein Personal anwesend war. Der Hotelpreis ist für Äthiopien viel zu hoch angesetzt; ich habe bereits in Addis in anderen Hotels übernachtet, die sehr viel günstiger, aber meiner Meinung nach nicht schlechter waren.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly hotel with a few challenges

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Friendly staff, and some very sweet and kind indeed, though detailed conversations about bills can be hard work as only some speak good English and a system for methodically creating bills seems non existent. Hotel is a fair way out from the sprawling 'centre' of Addis. Rooms very clean and spacious, beds fine as long as you like very firm. Bit of challenge getting a cab at a reasonable price through the hotel - probably best to find one who isn't too avaricious yourself and then book them for your needs during your stay. Hot water avalable in good showers almost all the time. The restaurant isn't used much in the evening and after trying it really should only be used if you are too tired to go out. Breakfast ok, starts very early and many residents get up at fivethirty so you may have the pleasure of listening to them trek off to work at the crack of dawn. If you ask for tea with milk you will get hot milk with mint tea (Actualy surprisingly nice with bit of sugar!!!)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Lennart

Bra hotell men lite off

Posted Nov 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Rent och fint modernt hotell, men ligger lite off. Ändå lätt att hitta till för taxi. De beställer gärna taxi. Vetter på Peacock Park emd lummiga träd och odlingar. Rummen är stora med bra arbetsmöjligheter. Frukosten ok men inte riklig. Utbuder i restaurangen ganska klent, men maten som serverades var god och stora portioner. Nästan ingen bar: bara öl och gin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is off the beaten path (you'll need to ask the hotel staff to call a taxi, and once you're away from the hotel, you'll be lucky if a taxi driver knows it by name), but worth it. The room was very clean, huge, and relatively comfortable (the bed was exceptionally firm); the bathroom was very nice; and the internet worked well (though only via the ethernet in our room). We only ate one breakfast there, and it was fine (especially the coffee). They also held some luggage for a few days while we traveled to other parts of the country. I'd definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

No commitment

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
Tooooo baaaaad. Non of the mentioned facilities were available.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted May 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Lets start with the location, awful ..in the middle of slums ,not easy to access it. The shuttle bus didn't show up at airport although i called the hotel for pick up. Elevator 90% of the time didnt work.breakfast....What breakfast, just bread and cold scrambled eggs .although it was a prepaid rate, i went to all hotels in addis to book another place but not to stay there but all decent hotels were fully booked due to an international conference so i had to stay the 3 nights there. One night they had a power cut and at 11.45pm they wake me up to give me a candle..so sweet Friendly staff though
1 out of 5
by Deogratiasfrom Germany

My horror stay at Detiny Addis Hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2012
Pros: the internet was working pretty good.
Cons: the poor breakfast
Location: the hotel is the middle of the slums and has no amenities at all.
The actual facts contradict what is advertised in the Web about this Hotel: it difficult to reach; there is no warm water in the bathroom; the breakfast which was supposed to be a buffet is simply dreadful. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone!
3 out of 5
by teacher;pastorfrom Nashville, TN, USA

Possibilities

Posted Mar 20, 2012
Pros: Great as group, not so great if alone.
Cons: Surroundings
Location: Horrific
The location is really bad. I was alone, accustomed to getting out alone. This beautiful hotel is in the middle of an impoverished surroundings. It would probably be ok for a group, they would not have the same concerns as one alone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Irvine, CA

Pretty Good!

Posted Feb 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Destiny Addis is a pretty good hotel. It's fairly new and the quality of the building is very nice. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The food was great and the room was very nice. Of course you have typical Africa challenges- electricity went out for hours at night until 7:30am, the wifi didn't work, and I was the only one in the hotel for my night's stay but I will definitely stay there the next time I am in Addis.