Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ojo Caliente, NM

HoJo Midtown

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: staff helped us clean snow off our car. The location is great.
Cons: Needs some renovating, updating
Location: right next to interstate and very close to downtown and the Nob Hill district
close to downtown basic room. staff helpful. Room clean. Pool was closed, internet was down and alarm clock didn't work.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Far from anything, pleasant staff; in transition

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Staff was willing to help.
Cons: Everything needs improvement if it is going to be a real Howard Johnson Hotel.
Location: There is absolutely nothing near by. One needs a car or one needs to be willing to walk to go get something to eat. They try to compensate for that.
This hotel/motel is in transition. It still has the signs for the previous place: Plaza Inn. That creates a lot of confusion when you are looking for it. There is one flimsy sign for Howard Johnson, but I was told they are going to have new signs soon. The hotel is a bit run down. But the staff do their best. The drivers were very pleasant and drove me to the Old Town. However, getting a ride back from Old Town to Midtown was not so easy. Eventually I did get rides back. But the drivers stop at around 6:45 PM so there was no chance to linger in the Old Town in the evening. (I did once get a ride at 5:30 to the Route 66 diner and then got picked up at 7:00.) The breakfast in the AM is fairly basic but the ladies serving it do their best. Everyone who works there is trying to make the best of a less than perfect situation. Howard Johnson should make their improvements BEFORE calling it a Howard Johnson. For example, on line they advertise there is a swimming pool. Guess what? The pool is totally closed and under construction. It is not really up to the standards I expected from a Howard Johnson. Maybe that will change in the next six months. The good news was that it was relatively cheap, especially before the high local taxes are added.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

HoJo/Plaza Inn midtown

Posted Feb 11, 2015
The hotel was dated but the staff was very friendly and helpful. Many of the repairs in the room were effective, but asthetically crude. Awkward access by car, took me til the second day to figure out the best ways to come and go, some printed instructions would have helped re access to the nearest arterials & interstates. reasonably met my expectations with the one exception being that the televsion in room 122 was constantly subject to interference.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: It was OK for a short stay. Not luxurious, but didn't need luxury for a quick overnight. Just a bed and a shower!
Cons: 24 hour shuttle!
Just a short overnight stay. Arrived after midnight. Didn't know shuttle only ran till 7:00 p.m. Not stated anywhere on the websites. Had to blow another $20 for a taxi. Disappointing. Room was clean and quiet. Barely had time for coffee before heading back to airport by 7:00 a.m.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia ....why a 3.5 rating??

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Horrible conditions! Stained sheets, disheveled room, graffiti lined elevator....what else needs to be said!! One horrible night on our vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Isabelfrom Texas

Pretty good for the price

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
So the airport/local shuttle is a big plus. The neighborhood did not look dangerous, but was definitely not fancy either. The hotel was not the newest but not falling to pieces either. The room was clean, fridge worked really well, microwave did not have a glass plate and I was told I would have to bring up the issue with housecleaning the next day. They picked me up at the airport and dropped me off at UNM for an interview. I was picked up after the interview in the afternoon but only after calling probably close to or more than an hour with no response. I did not try the food but they seemed to have basic breakfast options. The decaf coffee in the lobby was hideous. Overall I think it was a decent place to stay in an ok neighborhood for a good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

fair

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was clean and staff was great ... Room service was a little in a hurry to clean even though check out wasn't until 12, but the stay was great . we will be returning :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Aglow Conference in Albuquerque

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, great. Friendly staff. Yummy breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kristinafrom Texas

Adequate. Nice people Bkfst & shuttle end too ear

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an adequate hotel. Nothing special. Great shower. Inadequately-cleaned toilet. Nice people. Breakfast with awful eggs. Okay biscuits and gravy. No other hot options. Ends too early at 9:30 am. Shuttle good, but ends too early at 7 pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Unhappy breakfast customerfrom Albuquerque, New Mexico

Worst breakfast ever; Worst internet ever

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was ok. The hotel in general was ok, but the breakfast and one of their servers were horrible. There was practically no food and what they had was terrible, not to mention that the server was very impolite and rude, even when trying to be nice. The front desk people, on the other hand, were just amazing. They were always very polite, always attentive and trying to help. The night folks don't compare to the day staff, but they were ok too.