Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place but bring pillows

Posted May 12, 2015
Cons: the beds and pillows were awful
Location: zip line, fishing, warm water springs
Awesome place. by far the best view anywhere. Jungle was exceptional. The wildlife was everywhere. Great photo opportunity. The staff was by far the most helpful I've ever encountered. Any tours you wanted picked you up there. Just a great hideaway and highly recommend. My only comments are: The beds are terrible. Like sleeping on a plank of wood. our backs hurt after two days. hopefully they fix this. My only complaint. also if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. We enjoyed the nighttime noises from the porch but if you are a light sleeper, it may bother you. I wouldn't want to not have it as so great to hear but just an fYI for travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, NY

Awesome View of Arenal Volcano!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The view from our balcony and the hotel staff.
Location: There are many things to do while visiting this area of Costa Rica. We enjoyed La Fortuna waterfall, Hanging Bridges, Zip Line w/Sky Trek, and Tabacon
This was our first trip to Costa Rica. My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Lost Iguana Resort and were extremely impressed with the amenities. The hotel staff were courteous, friendly and very helpful answering our questions about things to do during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reston, VA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location - being located directly in the rainforest was just amazing. And the staff... can't say enough about the wonderful staff.
Cons: Nothing really... perhaps netting over the bed, in case you wanted to keep the doors open more often.
Location: Again, the location is in the rainforest is the hotel's best asset. Many things to do around the area - hiking, kayaking, canyoning, rafting, etc.
If you are going to Costa Rica to see the rainforest, and the natural beauty of Costa Rica, this is the hotel for you. It is a little more out of the way than some of the other hotels in the Arenal area, but you are in the rainforest with so much wildlife, and flora around. All of the units face the Arenal volcano, which if you can imagine stepping out on your patio, and your view is of the forest, hummingbirds, parrots, and in the distance, sometimes clear but sometimes shrouded in fog or clouds, a 4,000 foot volcano. It is breathtaking. The hotel is on a hill within the forest, with the reception area, and restaurant at the bottom, and the cabins at the middle and top of the hill, so it can be a hike if you room is toward the top (which ours was), but the overall effect of the hotel's location cannot be denied. The hotel staff were just great, especially at reception, and very helpful with booking tours, hikes, etc. We had a luxury king room with the outside shower, and a jacuzzi - it was heaven... and very large. The double glass doors open to the large patio (which included the jacuzzi), and from there you can sit and just take in the great view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Very nice hotel in tropical area. Right in the middle of forest. Our room was in front of areneal volcano. Forest, view, bird sound was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom bath, uk

Very comfortable hotel for a family

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The rooms were very clean and well equipped and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Our boys were made to feel very comfortable.
Cons: The gym was pretty disappointing in terms of what was on offer and the food in the restaurant for dinner expensive.
Location: Loads to do within a quick walk or short drive. We went repelling, visited hanging bridges in the canopy and walked through a lava field - awesome
The hotel staff made us very welcome and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were good and the view to the volcano from our room truly stunning. There was a lot to do very close to the hotel so it was great not to have to drive very far once we reached the hotel. Our boys were made to feel welcome and catered for in the restaurant. They loved the many facilities nearby such as the springs, repelling and the canopy walks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Fancy hotel, far from town.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: great volcano view. friendly, helpful front desk.
Cons: put some real lights in the rooms. light the exterior walkways, the beds are hard and the pillows are floppy.
Location: We did nature hikes, river kayaking, horse back riding to the Fortuna Waterfall, and zip lining. A great area.
Nice rooms with awesome volcano view, air-conditioning and WIFI. Room lighting was "romantic", so we were reading with flashlights at night. Hotel is at the end of a long, winding, steep road about 20 minutes from Fortuna. I would have picked something closer in retrospect. Restaurant is very nice. Great breakfast buffet, but too fancy for repeated lunches or dinners so we drove into town for meals. I wish the gate guard hadn't greeted us every time with "do you have a reservation", even on our third day. Front desk did a nice job of arranging activities for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

Great location and staff

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Enjoyed staying at Lost Iguana in March 2015. The staff was very helpful and the hotel is secluded but close to everything around the Arenal area. We were able to see a lot of wildlife just in and around the hotel grounds. Our room was fantastic with a great view of the volcano. Very much recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Two great days in the Lake Arenal area.

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: We found the location to be good and close to activities. The staff was very helpful and the food was quite good.
Cons: It would have been nice to have more than two towels for a family of four. Called once about it, but it was forgotten. No big deal.
Location: Warm springs. Hiking around the property and volcano. Hanging Bridges. Zip lines. Fishing on the lake.
The Arenal Lake area has a number of great activities surrounding it and the volcano. We wanted to find a fun, quality hotel to serve as a base and the Lost Iguana was it. The pool was small, but fun and the view of the volcano was super good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York NY

Perfectly integrated in nature

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Staying at Lost Iguana was the best experience we could have had. We stayed on the first floor, a spacious room with an outdoor shower and an outdoor bath tub that made you feel part of nature. The tranquility of the rooms is well balanced by the fun atmosphere at the pool where kids play and adults can enjoy drinks at the bar. The stuff was very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Great stay in a unique resort

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Views, hiking trails, heated pool (w/ swim up bar), secluded location
Cons: bedding, walls are too thin (can hears loud neighbors and/or crying babies)
Location: Whitewater rafting, zip lining, water falls, etc...
The hotel gives you the experience that you have really gotten away from everyday life. They have great grounds including miles of hiking trails with one of a kind villas; including outdoor showers, hot tub, etc. The restaurant is great which you will likely frequent since the closest town is about a 20 minute drive away.