Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn N.Y

Best location on the strip!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The staff by far is the best of all. The make you feel like kings and queens! They give it their all to make your stay enjoyable.
Cons: The only suggestion I have is to try to improve on the dinners. The breakfast and lunches are good, the dinners need spices and a little love put in.
Location: So much to do inside the hotel however if you should wan to venture outside, Senor Frogs, Hard Rock and so much more is right across the street.
This is absolutly the place to stay at. Please do not believe the bad reviews. I really do not understand where they come from, they are not true at all. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a smile and hello from everyone. They make you feel like family here. I stayed in Royal club suite #1714 and 1717 for the rest of our clan, the views were incredible. The rooms were beautiful, marble floors, clean and well stocked with towels and drinks. The bathroom was very nice,jetted tub and walk through shower. I miss that shower already : ( I can not say one bad thing about this place. I could have stayed in any of these hotels and I am glad we chose this one. As a matter of fact you can walk on the path in back along the beach to see all the other hotels and the OCCIDENTAL has the best pool! All the action was at the Occidental! The other hotels didn't have the entertainment all day. Tons of fun for everyone. Go and stay they call Aruba the Happy Island - I call the OCCIDENTAL the Happy Hotel!!! It's nice to tip the staff every now and then the really show their appreciation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

beach and pool excellent location.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: the pool
Cons: food choices and food preparation (food in warming trays was cool (not heated) and sometimes were nearly emplty.
Location: other hotels to visit at Palm Beach and bus ride downtown to visit city.
Below par. Food quality and choices for meals was disappointing. Furniture in room was antiquated. Came for vacation, not to be bothered with vacation packages (time shares). Pool was excellent. Nightly entertainment was awful, very amateurish. Casino play was non-existent (a little play and pay) wouldn't hurt for someone to stay here for a week.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Needs renovation would not reccomend families

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: In the center of beach area
Cons: Renovations needed Things for children Better restaurant
Location: Located in great area
Nothing for children Bathroom ceiling falling through with pipe leaking urine Food menu needs to be reviewed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

overblooked and got bumped

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: The managefrial staff should be fired
They overbooked a timeshare event so we got bumped to the Riu which was a nice hotel. They lost our luggage bringing us back from the Riu and still did not have a room for us until the second night. The management was absolutely horrible. They avoided us at all costs. Promised they would make it up to us but all our efforts to talk to them went unanswered. They just waited for us to leave knowing that there wasn't much we could do. They blamed the whole thing on Expedia. I would never stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yus

Garbage hotel nice beach

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Very rude staff including the supervisor not worth all inclusive at all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 24, 2014
No complaints with hotel or staff but the restaurants weren't that great. The buffet was good but didn't serve turkey bacon. Everyone doesn't eat pork or beef.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Room,cleanliness,staff all were fine, but.........

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Property,decor,staff.
Cons: The whole dinner buffet thing needs to be more authentic to the nationality they are featuring each night.
Location: Did ABC Jeep Tour to the Natural Pool. The guys, Raul and Eduardo were great tourguides. Funny, informative, accommodating. Also did the Sunset Cruise
Attentive staff,clean room,beautiful beach and pool. Latin Explosion and LaReverie were excellent.Managed to reserve at the Italian restaurant one night and it was very nice, food authentic and service excellent.Tried to book other "nice" restaurants for other nights and were told the next few days they were all booked yet when passing the Mexican venue that night we saw more than 3/4 of the tables were unoccupied. Breakfast at the Palm Buffet was always excellent (woman at egg station is amazing)but...the dinners were sub par taste-wise and did not reflect the "featured" nationality very well. Italian nite had rice balls which were jalepeno poppers.Looked like a rice ball til you bit it,no rice just spicy cheese.Canoli had Reddi-Whip instead of canoli cream.Mexican nite did have chicken fajitas and rice and beans(nothing to write home about) but the next morning at breakfast what the sign said was corn patty was a beef empenada which should have been out the nite before.Asian nite was disappointing.Plenty of white or fried rice, spring rolls,egg drop soup.Those were the only expected items I found. The spare ribs were NOT Chinese-style but were covered in regular smokey bbq sauce not the sweet red sauce.No matter which nationality it was featuring the same bbq chicken wings were there. They need some work in the area of food.Watermelon was always warm,late nite hot dogs always cold.Beautiful property and staff that really tends to you and is very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Do not stay at this hotel!

Posted Jul 20, 2014
We were so disappointed in this all inclusive resort. Aruba was great and we'd definitely go back but would recommend the Hyatt which is right next door. "All inclusive" drinks watered down, hotel staff very unfriendly, all inclusive food fair, no air conditioning turned on in public areas, pool and beach areas always reserved from first thing in the morning under umbrellas so not enough room for all guests, hotel run down, mismatching furniture etc. I never complain like this, but for what we paid, did not get our money's worth. Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati. OH

Great location. Food disappointing.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The Hotel is ok, compared others we have stayed at this hotel needs some updating. We were very disappointed in the food except for the buffet. Breakfast was the best meal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Disappointing

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: some of the food was ok, pool was ok.
Cons: More attentive staff, better food, cleaner.
First room had a musty smell, front desk gave a key to another person, who walked into our room. we were unpacking, gave us another room. That room had a TV witch was about 15 years old and the remote did not work. shower was broken, did not clean the room just changed the sheets.