Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A Traveller from England

Good hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Good location for Bangkok centre - does what it says on the tin
3 out of 5
by Peter T from Australia

Forget the "Health Club"

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Sign in room says all new facilities and equipment -must have been printed 20 years ago! Very disappointing, old and mostly broken equipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by d6peter from gatineau

Empress delivers

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: expedia
Cons: keep it up
Location: not too much around but did have a 7/11 close
The Empress has aged very gracefully, still great looking, clean, organised! Breakfast was wow. Resto super. No complaints about anything.
2 out of 5
by Michael from Adelaide, Australia

Don't believe the 4star rating

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Can't say anything positive about this experience
Cons: Rate the hotel for what it is and that is a 2star hotel.
Location: Location was fine.
This is not a 4star hotel. Staff don't have much of an idea of what is going on. I checked in at 2pm to be told room will be ready in 20minutes, an hour later and 2 requests by me, it was finally ready. Got to room and walked straight into the 70's. Old carpet, old TV, floor towels that were supposed to be bath towels. Forget trying to use internet and the wi-fi is just not up to it.
3 out of 5
by megan from colorado

Nothing special

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: It was available, and a decent price.
Cons: Food, atmosphere.
Location: A short walk to the old city - tho this is the furthest hotel from the action.
If you need a place to stay, this lace gets the job done... But everything about it is pretty average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from Bangkok

Good location; Good Price

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: Location, price, buffet breakfast
Cons: Minor, but some of the bathroom fixtures are old.
Location: Night Market
This is a large hotel, just south of the Night Market. It is in easy walking distance of the Night Market, restaurants, and bars/pubs. My room was clean and comfortable. While not luxurious, this is a very good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Oliver from UK

Good value and comfortable

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Room was clean and there were some nice touches eg chocolates delivered each night. Room and extras (eg room service) were good value
Cons: Sound proofing between rooms wasn't great.
Location: So-so - not much around the hotel itself although it was only a short tuk tuk ride to the riverside or the old town.
Stayed here for four nights while visiting Chiang Mai. Overall a pleasant stay and good value for the money. The hotel does feel a little dated although this didn't really detract from our stay. Soundproofing between rooms however was not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jade from Chicago

Nice hotel, helpful staff

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Staff, lobby, food, cleanliness.
Cons: Tell people how the lights and air conditioner are operated upon check-in. This is done by a single control panel on one of the night tables.
Location: Restaurants nearby.
The hotel is in a good location in terms of being near some small restaurants, and not too far from the airport. Check in was easy and staff were friendly. I got one of the intermediate Deluxe rooms, for about $10/night more than the basic (Superior?) room. It was a comfortable size but not notably spacious. Bathroom was fine but not especially large. I wondered about the difference between the cheaper room and mine. In any event, the room was clean and comfortable. Woodwork on the furnishings seem a little worn and could use an upgrade soon. Air conditioner is loud on anything higher than the "low" setting, but cooled the room well. Breakfast was included and was very good. Plenty of variety and quality was good, but the buffet items were the same every day. Still, it I felt it was good value for the money. When small things came up, they were resolved in an easy and friendly manner by the staff. Overall, staff were quite friendly and accommodating. I was very satisfied with my stay at this hotel, and would return again without hesitation. Internet worked fine most of the time and was included in my room price.