Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida snowbirds

Something for everyone

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: The hotel is outdated, but that is part of their charm for me.
Location: Bahia Honda State park is a great place for fishing, swimming, and learning about the local wildlife through their nature Center.
Rainbow Bend is a wonderful choice for a relaxing stay in the Keys. It is right off the highway and close to parks, shopping, and attractions near Marathon. A full hot breakfast is included with your room to get you started for the day.The boats offer the avid fisherman a chance to experience the thrill of catching a variety of shallow water fish or take your honey for a romantic shore cruise. The pool area is very inviting after a long busy day. We really enjoyed the hot tub on our patio before dinner. They do have a restaurant on site, but we chose one of the local restaurants recommended by the staff and were not disappointed. If you like a small, friendly hotel with charming surroundings, Rainbow Bend is for you:).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Louise from Dayton, Ky

Nice relaxing stay

Posted Feb 15, 2014
My husband and I wanted a relaxing week's stay in warm weather, and that's just what we got at Rainbow Bend. As noted, the rooms are old-fashioned and in need of some updating, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. I noticed that someone warned about staying in Room 1 or 2. We were in 2 and had no problems with noise. If I ever return, I'll ask for one of the rooms with a balcony, but Room 2 was fine for our stay. The daily breakfast was really good. We stuck to the basic menu (you can update your choices for a small charge), and we liked it, especially the pancakes. As noted, Billy was a great waiter. We took the boat out one day, and although we're not boaters, it was not to difficult to sail it. Contrary to another reviewer, the rooms were cleaned every day--beds made, sheets changed twice in the week we were there, bathroom cleaned. The property is not the Ritz, but it has an "old Florida" charm about it, and I'd recommend it.
2 out of 5
by Helen from Cleveland, OH

Old hotel, needs renovation

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Pros: Personal is very nice and friendly. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was good.
Cons: All in this hotel needs improvement. First of all - conditioner.
Location: Marathon is a very good place for beach vacation.
Looks like this hotel was good about 20 years ago. The best part it has private beach. But swimming there is not a pleasure - a lot of see weeds. Room was clean but looks very old. Conditioner is terribly noisy - it makes bad night sleep. No hair dryer in the room. Supplies include only soap bars. There is coffeemaker in the room, but no coffee, I had to go to the office to get some.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from Pensacola, FL

Beautiful water view.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The hotel staff were nice to deal with. The restaurant employees are very professional.
Cons: More attention should be given to repair and maintenance issues due to the age of the buildings.
Location: Robbie's snorkeling tours is close by.
We stayed for two nights with free boat use included in the room price. We were unable to use the boat due to the high wind conditions, but the stay was enjoyable due to the convenience to other activities. The resort is old but clean. The restaurant food is very good.
2 out of 5
by Denise from N.E. Pennsylvania

needs impovement

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: Overall appearance of the hotel
Location: Located in the center of the Keys
The price was good,but upon arrival there was no parking, staff had us park in the grass. The room that was reserved for us was disgusting; small,smelly & not cleaned appropriately.The smell in the room was discovered to be mold growing on the air conditioner. Evidence of flooding was prominent in the room. After explaining the situation to the office staff, they put us in the only available room, a 2 bedroom efficiency. Cleaner, bigger and no mold. Though the new room was satisfactory and the staff was nice to work with, I still can not recommend this hotel, it really could use a good renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by maria from florida

Horrible

Posted Oct 29, 2013
The romos were dirty, and when I got there they gave me the wrong room with only one bed. They didn't have the room I reserved so I was stuck paying $150 more for another room. Which wasn't worth it at all. I will never come back to this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by joyce from pgh pa

adequate & laid back,not busy

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
typical mom/pop of years past. Staff very nice and helpful. Surprised to find no hairdryer or shampoo. Clean, esp for its age, inside. Outside could use some work. Pool fine and when commented on, hot tub brought up to temp. Made to order breakfast (included) a good deal. The upstairs restaurant - under separate management - is either 4 or 5 star rated. Entrance to it would not suggest that. Did not eat there but a few cust, when asked, said it was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennis from spring hill FL

Everything you would expect from an old Florida m

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: It was a nice little Florida motel had a nice tropical environment it had a nice pool and Jacuzzi the grounds keep Clean the only problem I had wit
Cons: They need to remodel the rooms and update them they weren't bad it just seemed like the last time they remodeled them was in 1970
Location: The motel is in a great location near good restaurants and attractions
Enjoy going to their breakfast every morning just had to fight back the smell of low tide to get to breakfast