Ratings based on 879 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Staff and facilities are not up to par. Maybe it was because it was the off-season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pa

Beautiful View

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The meal plan and staff Food was great
Location: Swim, Golf and Eat and Drink
The Resort was a perfect choice when I booked on line very island like with beautiful ocean water and the meal plan is a must
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, TN

Great off-season visit

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Outstanding service. Not crowded during the off season. VERY reasonable rates.
Cons: Rooms were very comfortable and nice, not too fancy. Had a problem with my smoke alarm going off whenever I took a hot shower.
Location: Very convenient location to the airport and public transportation. Beach/pool on site, but needed to take bus or taxi to most shopping/restaurants.
I had a fantastic long weekend here at Grotto Bay. Great offseason prices and because of the relatively few guests, great service and facility access. The rooms were very nice. This would NOT be a good choice for guests with mobility issues as there are a lot of stairs/slopes between buildings. There is a small beach area, pool, jacuzzi, fitness area and the swimming cave is pretty unique. The buildings are a bit older, but everything is still in nice shape.I particularly enjoyed the fireplace in the lounge and the front patio area for relaxing in the evenings. Very happy to have a refrigerator in the room. The service deserves special mention as being outstanding. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and would go out of their way to see to it that you got what you needed. They always greeted me by name with a smile when I saw them. The front desk offered very clear and helpful advice as far as getting around the island to places I wanted to visit. They arranged for rides for me for my golf excursions in advance, helped me coordinate my travel on public transportation between bus and ferry and even contacted me when an item that I had lost turned up in lost and found a couple of days later. They provided solid restaurant recommendations. The location of the hotel was great, with a bus stop right at the entrance to the hotel and just across the bridge from the airport. Will visit again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: The Bay
Cons: Clean-up the beach area a little.
Location: Great location. Just lay on the beautiful beach private..
Everything was great. The people are so friendly and helpful. The bus 7 day passes are the way to go. This was our first trip to Bermuda What a beautiful place to visit...... We will be going back soon..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Wonderful stay, stunning views, helpful staff, friendly locals, fantastic overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rhode Island

Comfortable and convienent accommodations

Posted Dec 14, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed Grotto Bay. It was close to the airport, which meant just a 5 min cab ride ($12) before exploring the beach. The distance is important, since foreigners can't rent cars and you can't take suitcases on the buses. Cabs are quite expensive. The hotel is 10 min from St. George and 20 min from Hamilton -- the bus is a scenic, pleasant ride, as well as an opportunity to learn about Bermuda from the drivers. You can buy bus passes at the front desk. The staff were extremely welcoming, answering all our questions about excursions, culture, etc. You are likely to be impressed, as we were, by the lengths Bermudians everywhere will go to help you. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a great view of the bay. We could see the causeway and airport, but it was a pleasant view, and quiet. The bathroom was modern and the beds comfortable. We visited in off season, so surrounding rooms were mostly vacant and the cave spa was under renovation. However, the beach was pristine and calm. We enjoyed having it to ourselves, exploring Cathedral Cave (amazing), and observing the fish, birds, and even chickens. The restaurant was also great, as was the neighboring Swizzle Inn. We highly recommend Grotto Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Dec 5, 2014
The food there is great with buffai and dinner, but guests have to reserve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn

Nice hotel with a small private beach and grotto

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Great staff, overall cleanliness, the did a nice Thanksgiving dinner for us Americans and they actually groom the seaweed off the beach - nice touch.
Cons: There are a few things on the grounds that need work but they are cleaning up from 2 back to back hurricanes. Considering that, the place looked good.
Location: You can do a quick hike to the Blue Hole, or walk to the Swizzle Inn. The hotel does have water sports on site. Other than that, it's bus or scooter.
Easy access to and from the airport but no nuisance from the planes and lights. On our last day, the wind must have turned, because we could smell jet fuel when we were outside. But that wasn't the norm. Great little beach that is well kept, heated pool, jacuzzi and swimming grotto. I think there is a second grotto attached to the spa, but it and the spa were under construction when we were there. But, we had the other grotto entirely to ourselves. The water is cold, but the cave is clean and well lit with clear, pretty water - and just fun to swim around in a cave. The staff was great! We did have an issue with the people in the room next door smoking in their room and it came in thru our vent. It's a non-smoking hotel, so that's not heir fault, and they handled it immediately. The location is a little isolated but you can walk to a pub called the Swizzle Inn in a few minutes and could probably walk to Tom Moore's Tavern - but I'd cab it because there are no sidewalks. There are bus stops across the street from the hotel and a scooter rental place if under a 5 min walk. If you are ok with driving on the left, I'd recommend going that route. You have much more freedom. We didn't do their meal package. We did their basic al a carte grub at the bar for mosts breakfasts and one dinner there. It would have been nice to have other breakfast options nearby though, the breakfast bar is something like $22 per person plus grat. and the al a carte is mostly just assorted bread items.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Nice hotel, private beach and grotto

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Location, private beach and grotto.
Cons: See comments above.
We have stayed here a few times because we like the location with easy access to local buses and a short ride from the airport. So far, we can say that every room that we've stayed in is identical. They are spacious and comfortable; however, they are in serious need of upgrades. The wiring is lacking sufficient outlets and USB chargers that you normally find with alarm clocks or lamps in Hampton Inns, Marriott Suites, etc. Most hotels also have microwaves to go along with their small refrigerators. I must say that the maid service and concierge folks are always wonderful and polite. I did email ahead this time and asked for a room nearer to the main building for medical reasons (difficult and painful for 79-year old husband to walk long distance and up hills), and was told that all we could get was a room in the third building up the hill. I was told I asked for a handicap room which I did not - I even checked my email when we got home. Of all the staff members we encountered, the woman who registered us was the only one who was not hospitable and not willing to really look to see if she could find a room closer to the main building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Great First Impression of Bermuda

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The property was very conveniently located. There were bus stops right outside the property, attractions and parks within walking distance.
Cons: It was perfect for our mini-holiday.
Location: There were beaches and parks; Crystal Caves. Snorkling, kayaking and boating as well as motorbike rentals. Very close to St. George's.
We selected the hotel based on other written reviews and then the special pricing offered. We really were not expecting much as we really didn't think we would be spending much time at the hotel. We were very pleased when we arrived. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. There offer guest services which can make arrangements for anything. They also provided detailed information on activities, locations and transportation. We had an ocean front room with a balcony which was clean and spacious. The also had a small refrigerator. The property itself offered a variety of amenities including a private beach, heated pool with swim up bar, a cave, spa services, laundry service and restaurants.