Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Great value and wonderful staff

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Service Breakfast Size and cleanliness of room Welcome
Cons: Nothing
Location: Old quarter and main market is only about 3-5 mins walk away. Ho Chi Minh memorial about 10-15 mins walk away, temple of literature about 15-20 mins.
Really welcoming and as a treat for our honeymoon (I write a note in the box when booking) they gave us a cake and decorated our bed for our arrival. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and had all advice we needed for our travel and sightseeing. They even asked us to join them to share their dinner while we waited until it was time to leave for the train. Hotel itself is very well kept, pretty and easy walking distance of all the main sights. Breakfast, with a massive selection, and service was as good as our 5* hotel in Bangkok that cost more than 3 times the amount. Highly recommend it and would stay there on my next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by dbsynergy from San Francisco, CA, USA

Best service I've ever received!

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff at the Calypso worked incredibly hard to make sure I had a fantastic time in Hanoi. They deserve the best review possible. This was my favorite hotel during my entire holiday in Vietnam. I would highly recommend them to anyone and if I return to Vietnam, I'll definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barb from australia

in the old quarters in hanoi

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: staff,and the location easy to get around from .
Cons: nothing
Location: its in walking distance to museums,cafe,lakes shopping
this hotel was fantastic,the staff were so helpful with everything .so friendly the minute you walked through the doors.the breakfast was great ,fruits,yoghurt,juice,bacon and eggs and plenty of it .beautiful juice.we did two tour with them which were really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maria from Victoria Australia

Don't let the size put you off

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, white and bright
Cons: The COFFEE
Location: There was a little restaurant down the street that sold good coffee and the food was good too
When we first arrived I had thought it was a large hotel so was a little taken back by its small size but once inside was so pleasantly surprised by how clean and bright it was. We stayed here twice and in two different styles of room, none of which had outside windows but had access to light wells. Not sure which rooms have the balcony access. The rooms were really very nice, clean and bright and I couldn't fault them at all. We arrived early in the morning from the train station from our trip to Sapa. Would recommend that you try to get an early check in beforehand. We paid an extra fee to get the room early but it was worth it. The breakfast was good and is included. The rooms all had free computers and Wi Fi the TV was good too. Staff were helpful and pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a really great stay in this hotel. The staff were super friendly with us and our baby. The room was big, bright, and comfortable. There was fresh fruit and crackers in the room each day. The breakfast was good with even a menu where you can choose from several prepared plates. Location was perfect right on the edge of the Old Quarter. Fantastic value for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Argus from Subic Bay

wonderful service

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. While the location is a little bit away from the centre of action in the old district, it was still only 10 or 15 minutes walk to most of the good restaurants, and there were still one or two close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Convenient hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Will never forgot the juice!
Cons: Extra bed could have a proper mattress.
Location: The lake is nearby but mummified turtle not that exciting. French quarter a bit misleading too but Ho Chi Minh mausoleum not to be missed & Lotteria!
Everything within 30 mins walking distance. Best juices in South East Asia. Western breakfast menu, beef burgers are delicious. Loved having computer in our room. Staff are friendly and helpful. Local area map fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by vtyap888 from Manila, Philippines

Excellent Service at Calypso Grand

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
From the moment we arrived at the hotel to the time we left, the full attention and accommodating service of the staff is excellent. Great job to the Calypso Grand Hotel team! Rooms are very clean and bigger than most boutique hotels while the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is very good, with many and varying choices (love the congee, dimsum and spring rolls!). It could improve more on bathroom amenities (bathroom soap rather than just bath gel)..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LincsRob from UK

brilliant staff and great value

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic value hotel with welcoming and attentive staff from the bell boys to the manager Tony. Clean hotel and very very good breakfasts.