Ratings based on 855 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Great if you are a college kid on a budget

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Outside areas Food was OK
Cons: The rooms need updating and better cleaning/daily upkeep. Wine selection is poor (if you are into that)
I am a 50 year old parent who was at the Grand Oasis for Spring Break "escorting" my son and a few friends. It is a perfect place for a college party, including easy booze and food. They had a blast and didn't care about some of the more subtle aspects of the hotel given their priority list. I recommend it for college kids on Spring Break. For adults who have been to nice beach resorts, this is NOT one of them. The outside scene is beautiful. Nice beach, great pools, nicely landscaped. The food is decent for the price point and there is plenty of it. If you like beer, Dos Equis is always flowing. Downsides: * The rooms are extremely worn. They look very tired - all beds and furniture are ragged. * When I checked in, there we no towels in my room. Those were hard to come by. The cleaning staff didn't have any more to provide. It took a full day to get my bathroom towels stocked. * My room was cleaned every other day. One time they skipped two days. Totally random. One day, I had towels, but no soap or shampoo. * Bathroom is dimly lit. Toilet area occasionally smelled like sewer gas. Shower dripped water rather than having a nice flow. The standard of upkeep of the rooms felt like they had not standard. But, as I said, the kids didn't seem to mind the room issues. It was all about the party for them, and that was 5-star. I would not choose this place if I were on a vacation with adult friends/couples.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kelowna, bc

Worst hotel I've ever stayed at.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
If you want a nice hotel with the worst customer service around then this is the place. We booked all inclusive for grand oasis cancun, even paid the most you could pay to upgrade to an ocean front room with king bed for mine and my gfs anniversary. We arrived at 9am and were told we had to wait until 3pm to get our room. Once we got our room it was NOT ocean front where our friends were who booked the exact same thing as us at the same time. Theirs was beach level with huge patio, exactly what we PAID EXTRA for. We were 3 levels up with 2 queen beds. Again we paid extra for a king not two queens. When we asked the front desk about what we could do to get what we paid for they treated us like absolute garbage and offered us NOTHING to make it right. They made us feel the worst we've ever felt in any travel experience. We asked to talk to the manager who didn't want to show his face so we ended up getting stuck with a guy who couldn't care less about their mistake. My girlfriend was crying and had anxiety from the staff being so rude and ruining our entire trip. They never reimbursed us for anything, not even extra tickets to any shows, nothing! The ac in our room didn't work, when we asked them to restock our all inclusive fridge it took them an entire day to get to us only to give us one extra beer and 2 waters. I wouldn't recommend this resort to my worst enemies and I'll certainly be telling every one I know to stay far away from this rip off of a hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Argentina

vacations

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: friendly perssonel, and excelent service
Cons: hotel mantainnace.
Location: very nice location
the hotel has a lot of restaurants, however the menu of each of them is limited. A lot of people are following you to all hotel installations offering a lifestyle holidays memberships.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view from windows on the sea

Posted Mar 11, 2015
very annoying reservation mistake by Expedia. Received good service from hotel but had to pay extra to temporarily enjoy vacation. Spring break period with fun crowd from America. Entertainment was soso, food also, alcoholic beverages all inclusive were terrible... All you can expect from spring break without missing out on the fun :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
don't go there during spring break, to much noise! Those kids yelling and screaming for the whole night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Awesome resort but make sure you get the Grand

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Traveled with some friends down for spring break. We booked through Expedia and decided to get the Grand Oasis package even though we weren't exactly clear on the difference from regular Oasis. Ended up being the best thing we did. The resort has two sides and you can walk around both. However, the regular Oasis package only gives you access to food and drinks on one side. One side (Oasis) which has lower quality food and drinks, is the party side where everyone hangs out. Really crowded and has long lines to get food and drinks. The other side of the resort (Grand Oasis) has nice restaurants and bars with good liquor. I never had to wait more than 2 minutes to sit down at a table or get drinks. Worked out good for our group because we could hang out and enjoy the Grand Oasis side but also head over to the other side for the partying. The resort itself was very nice and well kept. Staff worked hard to keep it clean and they were very friendly. Plenty of chairs and beds around the pool area and on the beach. I would recommend it to anyone but just understand that during spring break (early March) it is a big party scene. Probably not the best time to go with little kids.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom York, Pa.

Bring your towels

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The views and how well the property was maintained. Very nice pool as well.
Cons: The service regarding towels and bottled water. Rooms were very warm, A/C did not work properly. Water ran out of the shower due to the drain.
Location: Located in hotel district, they provide trips, but I did not do any. I stayed on the resort.
The grounds to the property are very well maintained and beautiful. The weather was perfect and you could not ask for a better view. We stayed in building 3000 with an ocean front view. The resort is very large which was a good thing because there were literally hundreds of kids there on spring break. The hotel did well regarding keeping the kids at the one end of the resort and everyone else at the other. The A/C barely worked in the room it was very warm. For some reason the maids do not want to give towels. We repeatedly had to ask for towels and rarely received them. Rooms are not guaranteed I went with a friend and we were supposed to have 2 queen size beds and there was one king size. After multiple complaints we finally got a different room for the second night. Only had two good meals, the rest of the food was not good. Eat at the Cocoa or the Mexican restaurant that requires reservations. Again, gorgeous property, awesome views, but receiving towels and bottled water were a huge hassle.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom floridia

Trashy

Posted Mar 6, 2015
My experience was overall bad, I had terrible service from the staff. I stayed for 5 days and 2 out of the 5 days I had no running water. The door knob on my door broke off and the food is terrible
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice place for the price

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The value for the money, the variety of eating options and cleanliness and condition of facilities and grounds.
Location: Location was on a beautiful stretch of beach, there were restaurants, shops and snorkeling nearby as well as transportation to farther excursions.
We went with a group of all adults. The facilities, beach and rooms were great. There was a lot of choice for meals, not much waiting. I like the way the hotel sectioned off types of guests, the pyramid seemed to be middle and older age adults, the grand had a lot of families and the oasis had the younger adults/teens/singles. Staff was very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Good hotel with a lot of options.

Posted Mar 4, 2015
"The entertainment hotel" nickname is very true. From the aerial shows in the lobby, multi cabaret shows, to the tickle staff. It was all great. The rooms are comfortable and clean but after 4 attempts at getting an iron from housekeeping we gave up. Make sure to iron your clothes before you arrive. The customer service is very lacking in the hotel gift shops. One very frustrating thing was trying to get a stamp to send a postcard. The front desk said to go to the gift shop and the shop staff said go to the front desk. Really there were no stamps. Overall it was a good experience.