Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Peter from bellevue, Wa

Mixed review

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Overall experience was just ok. We stayed two nights starting 4/3/14 in a superior suite. Here is the break down of the review: The room was bit dated but clean. The property, food, service and the amenities were good but when you pay $400 (not including breakfast buffet) a night for a room in Korea, you would expect it to be. Here is the summary of the problem: during the stay, I was repeatedly told that they have to charge an additional fee (about $20 per night) for my child because I have made a reservation for just two adults. Even after showing them a package (flight and hotel) reservation from Expedia with hotel reservation showing three people (two adult and one child). When I asked for a management, I got the usual run around and wasting about three hours of my time. I was able to talk to the manager on duty on the last day and I will able to get the fee "waved"... They were not interested in understanding the problem, which was from the customer's perspective, when you pay for a hotel and flight package up front, you have paid it in full.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessica from New York

A+ for romantic getaway

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed in the Shilla for our honeymoon and it was exquisite. Impeccable service, gorgeous surroundings, wonderful restaurants... Couldn't have asked for more if I tried. The pool area all the way to the beach was beautiful. I hope to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alvin from Perth, Australia

Honeymoon sweetness

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Location: Hired a car, fairly cheap, and drove to the mountains and unesco heritage sites. Very lovely drive.
Stayed in The Shilla Jeju for 2 nights in November and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service from when we drove in was what you would expect for the price you are paying but it there were some nice touches. When you check in they seat you in a lounge and grab you a tea while they process your stay. They speak english and were clear with the different entertainment options they have. The grounds are amazing and kept very well. We walked down to the private beach house and it was very relaxed with nice big couches and a bar to grab drinks. A quiet spot to enjoy the beach. We stayed in a superior room with a mountain view however I think they gave us one with the view of the garden which was just as nice. Room was a tad old but very spacious, I believe we were in the West Wing which is older. Went glamping (glamorous camping) which was fantastic but pricey and the poolside entertainment at night is a great way to unwind. Had heaps of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by J. Tan from Singapore

Great getaway with excellent hotel grounds

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Despite delays during check-in (Summer holiday in Korea), the staff were very friendly, professional and welcoming in settling us in. Everything about the hotel was great - the room had a nice, albeit small, sea view and was very comfortable and spacious. We took a nice walk around the hotel gardens in the evening and it was very relaxing. The gym also provides towels and is a plus. As the pool opens till late, rooms around the pool may find it a little noisy. Food was quite good too, but might be a little pricey for some. Overall we enjoyed our stay a lot and would definitely recommend this place for a getaway, especially if you're looking for a child friendly place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Pretty Surrounding area

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the Silla Jeju for 2 nights in July 2013. Surrounding area of the hotel is very pretty with a private beach to walk in the evening. 7-11 and Startucks about 5-10 minute outside of hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J from La

Nice stay

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
No complaints. Great beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Honeymoon Vacation

Posted Jul 2, 2013
You get what you pay for, a wonderful five star experience that my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. Two years married haven't had our honeymoon yet and we picked the Shilla on Jeju for our honeymoon and was wonderful, best choice we ever made. So much to do within just walking distance although the beach is a good hike down a few flights of stairs it was worth it for the relaxing ocean view. The food is a tad pricey but again you get what you pay for with a buffet filled with a variety of delicious entrees. cheaper local restaurants are within walking distance as well. Overall an enjoyable experience. Definitely treat yourself to at least a night in this wonderful hotel. The Moonlight Tango is wonderful with friendly dancers who encourage crowd participation. Great fun. Would do it all over again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CvilleMD from Singapore

Amazing service...couldn't ask for more

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff and people of The Shilla are what makes this hotel great. Beautiful and well thought out common grounds with a very extensive range of facilities. The rooms are nothing to shout about but they are comfortable with good housekeeping standards.Plenty to do for kids within the hotel including the kids island, kids program, pool, beach, playstation room, camping and glamping. The hotel is located in a fairly convenient place where other resorts like Lotte and Hyatt is as well as the teddy bear museum and believe it or not museum. Local seafood shops are also nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry & Anne from Brechin, Angus DD9, UK

A wonderful hotel experience

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: Relaxing and stress free - altogether a marvellous hotel
Cons: HARD, HARD bed
Location: By the sea, elevated and surrounded by beautiful gardens
Quite the best hotel we have ever stayed in - staff are fantastic, food is similar. Its expensive - but you get what you pay for without doubt. Quite wonderful. The only downside was the bed - ROCK HARD. Both of us had sore backs every morning - but I guess this is more to the Korean style than us Brits
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Malaysia

Jeju's leading hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Great view, very comfortable beds although king size made of two beds.
Cons: Overpriced restaurants and no beer/wine at the executive lounge.
Location: Great location if you want privacy but 45 minutes from the airport.
The hotel is in a good location and well spread out with nice sea view from the rooms. The staff at the front desk, conceirge and restaurants are extremely friendly, helpful and polite. However, the housekeeping staff don't speak english if you need help. Also, the restaurants are very pricey but there are many good restaurants within 10 minutes cab ride from the hotel.