Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nyon

Not worth it

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: character. views.
Cons: too many to mention.
Location: Lounge around the pool with a book or watch the rice grow in the paddies.
First let me start with the good points: The hotel has a lot of character. The surrounding area is very picturesque. The bad points: The animal shelter nearby, while good in principle, is not entirely conducive for good sleeping, i.e. often the dogs start barking in unison, which seems to happen most often in the middle of the night, and lasts for hours. The always open slats on the walls, which is supposed to bring in fresh air, also allows in all sorts of critters: i spotted and liquidated roaches, centipedes, crickets, mosquitoes, and spotted what looked like the head of a rat or a squirrel sticking into my room through the slats. The air-conditioning does not cool the room either. The locations is terrible inconvenient to get to and from the city. Too far to walk in the heat, and not at all safe to walk during the evening (given lack of street lights and traffic), and any cabs called to come pick you up will charge you extra for being called. THere is nothing nearby to eat so going to town is the only option. The breakfast is pretty basic. A piece of toast, a slice of butter. Some orange flavored sugar water. Instant coffee. And a yogurt. Management was quite absent during my stay, so requesting any additional services (e.g. an extra bed sheet or cup) took much longer than necessary or otherwise was not answered at all. The pool is very shallow, so your legs drag on the ground as you swim. The chaise cushions and lounge towels looked dirty and had a putrid stench
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel - very original

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Originality
Cons: Pool is a bit limited - but somewhat difficult to change
Location: Close to Cenang beach
Stayed there for 2 nights before going onto another hotel - great experience - very original. Loads of cats that wander around - great restaurants and fantastic helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of a kind

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pleasant and enjoyable stay as expected Wished Wifi signal is stronger to all location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Temple Tree: Better than perfect

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Black and White House, house cats, temple tree restaurant in the main house, double showers, wood baths, pools, space, rice fields, buffalo, templetre
Cons: We completely trust the staff in their work and will leave any changes if at all, to them.
Location: I could tell you about nearby and it is good but do yourself a favour and slow down. Linger here for a few days and if you're lucky a month.
Review is for Temple Tree at Bon Ton. This place is luxe, homey, spoiling, warm, boutique, antithesis of chain resort, eye for the environment, caring of animals, perfect distance from town, most beautiful unique lap pools, gorgeous house cats, amazeballs food, great staff and the BEST brekkies ever. The fresh fruit, home made breads and cakes are so divine and unexpected. We loved trying to guess what we would have placed in our fridge each evening for the next morning. We booked elsewhere for part of our holiday but extended our stay here and happily lost money on the other booking. The character and soul of each house is lovely. They do have creaks and cracks but we live in a house like that at home and that is how we like it. Exquisite casement leadlight windows and french doors. If looking for modern sleek plush luxury take yourself and petty complaints elsewhere. This place is wasted on you. Sort of place that talented friends could go MIA and come back with a completed novel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FRANCE

Very nice place, a journey within a journey...

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The originality and the care taken in the design. Cleanliness of the garden and pools (there is two pool)
Cons: The mosquito net and sheets of the beds are a bit old.
Location: A lot.
I loved the decoration. The staf is perfect. Temple is near the airport so = plane... But it´s not a problem because : - langkawi airport is very small, - there is not a lot plane, - no plane during the night, That´s why it was not a problem for me .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alejandro Chehebar from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Nice wooden complex of rooms but...

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
it is far away from action, i.e. restaurants, beaches, shops, etc. Internet in the rooms does not work most of the time, there is no telephone in the room to communicate for an emergency or for a request to reception, and IT IS COMPLETELY UNATTENDED DURING THE WHOLE NIGHT, nobody remains in the property, if you have a problem you have to call emergency by yourself. STAFF is very helpful but ESPECIALLY MRS AYUNIE, an enchanting and lovely malayan woman that is very good in english speaking and very helpful with tips and reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sean from Ireland

Quiet outdoor pool and just 15 minutes from Beach

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the airport about 15minutes walk from Cenang beach along a busy road, but a taxi can be booked from the hotel and costs around RM12 during the day. The hotel itself has a restaurant with excellent food and a nice quiet outdoor pool to the rear. My only criticisms are minor and they are that the breakfast is eaten in your room (the food is placed in your fridge the evening before) and just consist of two slices of fresh bread, some jam, and a slice of cake per person. You have your own kettle, french press coffee maker, and toaster though, so you can drink tea and coffee to your heart's content.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We travelled to Langkawi for part of our Honeymoon. We were greeted with a welcome drinks and upgraded to the Penang 1 room which was beautifully decorated. We were given a bottle of champagne in the evening. Breakfast was lovely each day as the bread/cake was baked in house so it was very fresh and delicious. It is about a 15-20 min walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent heritage resort

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Wonderful restored traditional Malay Houses. A treat for anybody interested in architecture or design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jemma from Singapore

Beautiful rooms with a colonial feel

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for one night before we flew back to Singapore and although our time was short it was luxurious. Our room was huge and the little touch of having the breakfast already in the room for you to enjoy whenever you get up suited us as we had a very early flight. We ate at the restaurant at Bon Ton and can't praise the food highly enough, it was delicious! We came away suitably stuffed and just about managed to roll back to our room. There are lots of cats roaming around as they rescue them. This didn't bother us but someone who isn't a fan might not like it as they do tend to come into your room if the door is open. The hotel is close to the airport which makes it good for a quick stopover but if you were to stay in Langkawi for longer and wanted to get out and see the island you would probably need to get a taxi to go most places. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it really has a different feel to most typical places to stay which we very much liked.