Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel - very original

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Originality
Cons: Pool is a bit limited - but somewhat difficult to change
Location: Close to Cenang beach
Stayed there for 2 nights before going onto another hotel - great experience - very original. Loads of cats that wander around - great restaurants and fantastic helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of a kind

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pleasant and enjoyable stay as expected Wished Wifi signal is stronger to all location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Temple Tree: Better than perfect

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Black and White House, house cats, temple tree restaurant in the main house, double showers, wood baths, pools, space, rice fields, buffalo, templetre
Cons: We completely trust the staff in their work and will leave any changes if at all, to them.
Location: I could tell you about nearby and it is good but do yourself a favour and slow down. Linger here for a few days and if you're lucky a month.
Review is for Temple Tree at Bon Ton. This place is luxe, homey, spoiling, warm, boutique, antithesis of chain resort, eye for the environment, caring of animals, perfect distance from town, most beautiful unique lap pools, gorgeous house cats, amazeballs food, great staff and the BEST brekkies ever. The fresh fruit, home made breads and cakes are so divine and unexpected. We loved trying to guess what we would have placed in our fridge each evening for the next morning. We booked elsewhere for part of our holiday but extended our stay here and happily lost money on the other booking. The character and soul of each house is lovely. They do have creaks and cracks but we live in a house like that at home and that is how we like it. Exquisite casement leadlight windows and french doors. If looking for modern sleek plush luxury take yourself and petty complaints elsewhere. This place is wasted on you. Sort of place that talented friends could go MIA and come back with a completed novel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FRANCE

Very nice place, a journey within a journey...

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: The originality and the care taken in the design. Cleanliness of the garden and pools (there is two pool)
Cons: The mosquito net and sheets of the beds are a bit old.
Location: A lot.
I loved the decoration. The staf is perfect. Temple is near the airport so = plane... But it´s not a problem because : - langkawi airport is very small, - there is not a lot plane, - no plane during the night, That´s why it was not a problem for me .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alejandro Chehebar from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Nice wooden complex of rooms but...

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
it is far away from action, i.e. restaurants, beaches, shops, etc. Internet in the rooms does not work most of the time, there is no telephone in the room to communicate for an emergency or for a request to reception, and IT IS COMPLETELY UNATTENDED DURING THE WHOLE NIGHT, nobody remains in the property, if you have a problem you have to call emergency by yourself. STAFF is very helpful but ESPECIALLY MRS AYUNIE, an enchanting and lovely malayan woman that is very good in english speaking and very helpful with tips and reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sean from Ireland

Quiet outdoor pool and just 15 minutes from Beach

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located near the airport about 15minutes walk from Cenang beach along a busy road, but a taxi can be booked from the hotel and costs around RM12 during the day. The hotel itself has a restaurant with excellent food and a nice quiet outdoor pool to the rear. My only criticisms are minor and they are that the breakfast is eaten in your room (the food is placed in your fridge the evening before) and just consist of two slices of fresh bread, some jam, and a slice of cake per person. You have your own kettle, french press coffee maker, and toaster though, so you can drink tea and coffee to your heart's content.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
We travelled to Langkawi for part of our Honeymoon. We were greeted with a welcome drinks and upgraded to the Penang 1 room which was beautifully decorated. We were given a bottle of champagne in the evening. Breakfast was lovely each day as the bread/cake was baked in house so it was very fresh and delicious. It is about a 15-20 min walk to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent heritage resort

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Wonderful restored traditional Malay Houses. A treat for anybody interested in architecture or design.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jemma from Singapore

Beautiful rooms with a colonial feel

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for one night before we flew back to Singapore and although our time was short it was luxurious. Our room was huge and the little touch of having the breakfast already in the room for you to enjoy whenever you get up suited us as we had a very early flight. We ate at the restaurant at Bon Ton and can't praise the food highly enough, it was delicious! We came away suitably stuffed and just about managed to roll back to our room. There are lots of cats roaming around as they rescue them. This didn't bother us but someone who isn't a fan might not like it as they do tend to come into your room if the door is open. The hotel is close to the airport which makes it good for a quick stopover but if you were to stay in Langkawi for longer and wanted to get out and see the island you would probably need to get a taxi to go most places. Overall we enjoyed our stay and it really has a different feel to most typical places to stay which we very much liked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Sanz from Asia

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for a total of three nights. The rooms were stuffy and hot on the first day we arrived as the air con wasn't able to cool the rooms sufficiently at 16 deg C. The rooms cooled down gradually when we left them on over four days. We were bitten by mosquitoes on the first night. We learnt our lesson and used the mozzie appliances approved in the room. Sadly no cable and we had to walk to Bon Ton to borrow some DVDs which wasn't too bad if your main purpose was to spend time outside. Showers were excellent and so were the decor. Tastefully done. We like the pool, especially when it's sunset time. Wifi was wonky on second day and we could not connect to it. But it became better after that.