Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk, UK

Good basic hotel close to the Victoria Falls

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The staff are the stand-out feature. They are helpful, friendly, professional.
Cons: The front desk gets easily overwhelmed and needs its systems reviewing. Check out was very muddled with long queuesn. I get handed the wrong receipt.
Location: Perfect location next to the entrace to the falls. All activities planned have pick ups and drop offs at the door. The Falls and its area available.
This is my second stay at the Zambezi Sun. The position, right at the entrance to the Falls, cannot be beaten. If you want to pop along to the Falls more than once, then this hotel is perfect. Being in the National Park there are regular visits from zebra, impala, crocodlile and giraffe. It is also really tops for the staff, who are very well trained and inherrently friendly. The food is fair, though the breakfast very good. The room leaves a little to be desired, as it is cramped and fairly basic, but you don't spend that much time there. There is an activity centre, which booked us on several trips and experiences, which is very professional and efficient. We also liked walking along the river to the big brother, The Royal Livingstone Hotel. There we could sit on the decking overlooking the river and take lunch on their terrace in rather more luxury - a brilliant combination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire , UK

Smart Hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Walking distance to Victoria Falls
Cons: Limit on WI - FI should be removed . and Airport shuttle should be included in the room price .
Location: Near the falls .
Good facilities , good food . Lovely room and you can walk to the falls , or next door to the sister hotel , the very expensive Royal Livingstone for drinks on the sun deck overlooking the Zambezi .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Nice hotel close the falls

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Rooms were old style floor were slipy, size bit small
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
It was an amazing experience. It was close to the park and the bungee jump.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Brilliant, beautiful hotel, great staff, great location, and good service
3 out of 5
by Jonathan

Could have been a great hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Food quality for price, cleanliness, staff promptness and attitude.
The location is awesome - walking to the falls. The state of the facilities and rooms are a shame. This place could have been near perfect if it wasn't for the mediocre at best and inedible at worst food, grungy room conditions and the general feeling that the grounds hasn't been maintained for quite some time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland Ohio

geat hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2013
Location: Great location for visiting the falls.
Hotel is close to the falls. Rooms are clean & comfortable. Price is good. Staff are friendly & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Australia

A wonderland

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Pros: The grounds, location and staff
Cons: The room
Location: The closest thing to the Falls - literally 5 minutes from the door
The Hotel is ideally located for the Falls and is set in superb grounds that include freely roaming zebra, impala and giraffe. The restaurant serves a superb buffet although a little highly priced and without an a la carte option if you don't want to stuff your face. You can get a la carte elsewhere in the hotel but the quality and setting was not so enticing. We traveled with a 31/2 year old and the bed set-up for her was pretty poor. A fold-out couch with a big ridge halfway down its length and single bed sheets that didn't fit so got crumpled up as she turned through the night. Although the room was a little small and not well set up for us, you don't go to this place to sit in the room. The rest of our experience there was superb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kennedy from Solwezi,Zambia

More attention should be paid to safety of guests

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Room service and hospitallity
Cons: safety inside the room
Location: Superb for tourists coming to view the Victoria falls
More attention should be paid to safety of guests. Cleaning should be done thoroughly under the beds, couch etc. In our room a scopion was found behind the couch by my partner. We informed security about this and a security guard came over to kill it. This extremely scared me and my partner. We stayed in room 3352. Also the baboons kept on trying to enter into our room. We had to keep the sliding door closed all the time. More security guards to deployed around the rooms to keep monkeys away
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Liya from Toronto, ON, Canada

Fantastic stay

Posted Jan 9, 2012
Pros: The animals walking around, it's their home first!
Cons: The cost of the dinner buffet
Location: Close to the falls, the main attraction
It was fantastic and wish we could have stayed longer than 2 days. We saw zebra playing around, an elephant in the water and lots of monkeys in the area. The falls are a quick walk and it was great to be so close to the main attraction.