Ratings based on 369 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was OK, a bit of age was showing,

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Looks like they were making improvements,
Close to where we needed to be, kept hearing a banging noise at night, not sure what it was or where it was coming from. Overall hotel was OK for the price
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Good location downtown

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Building has good 'bones' and good size to the units.
Cons: Medium and major maintenance. An updating of the interior to match an updating which has been done on the exterior.
Location: On the eastern edge of downtown London, a block away from the Delta and Hilton. Easy to get to and get around London from the location.
We are both in the construction industry. What we noticed was how little major and medium maintenance was being done. The rooms were clean, but superficially so. The units were a good size. Our unit was non smoking, but 'smokers' air was prevalent in many parts of the hotel. Noise from the hydraulic elevator and the hallways was easily heard inside our unit. Properly maintained, the building could be a good, solid place to stay. Our stay was disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Oshawa, ON

Good on the wallet

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Cheap
Cons: I tend to get cold at night, so I thought the blanket was on the thin side (Not sure if you can ask the front desk for extra).
Location: Conveniently located in downtown. Walking distance to the London Convention Centre, the VIA rail station, and the Greyhound station.
I stayed at a 1-br suite w/ kitchen. Suite: A bit creepy at first because I checked in at midnight, it was raining and very windy outside, the building was old, and the living room area was a bit big and not well lit. During the day, however, with the curtains open, the suite felt quite comfortable and open. Bathroom and kitchen quite clean and well lit, perhaps because of the lack of carpeting. 3 sizes of towels, shampoo, and bar soap available. Bring your own toothbrush. Can hear people from other suites esp. in bathrooms through the exhaust fan. Kitchen had fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, utensils, cups, frying pans available, along with some dishwashing detergent and a rack for drying dishes. Few electrical outlets available because building is old. Breakfast: Breakfast was simple but good enough. Muffins, sandwich bread, coffee, milk, some sort of kool-aid available, along with a few other breakfast items I forgot. The lady fried eggs for me, with cheese! She makes a fresh loaf of home-recipe cake every morning and they are delicious, especially the crust! Service: Staff were friendly when I encountered them at check-in, breakfast, and check-out. Food in the area at 12am: - Tim Horton's: SE corner of York St & Talbot St (across the Greyhound station) - Greek food/falafel/gyros/... stand: SE corner of York St & Richmond St - A variety store downstairs at the corner: NE corner of Dundas & Waterloo St - Usual pub fare around downtown
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Dead-bolt lock on the door was broken. Upon arrival, our door to our room was slightly ajar and open to anyone who walked by prior to our arrival. The room smelt greatly of stale cigarette smoke despite being a non-smoking room. There was no temperature control in the room and no comforter on the best, just a sheet and wool blanket.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
You get what you pay for. Some of the guests were allowed of the night I stayed, I have a feeling this is a regular occurrence at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, ON

Disappointing

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: It was clean.
Cons: Customer service and continental breakfast.
Location: Location was good.
I stayed at this hotel for two nights because the water lines froze to my apartment. Overall it was a very disappointing stay. Online it said that there was free parking but on check in I was told that their parking was full and that I had to pay $12 to park in the city lot. I was told this was good until check out. Then the following day discovered a parking ticket! Front desk staff said that they meant "check out time the following day not my check out". They were not helpful at resolving the issue whatsoever. Also, the internet service didn't work during my entire stay which was very inconvenient considering I rely on internet for my work. Again, staff were not understanding or helpful at all. I switched hotels after two nights because of the poor customer service and was very happy that I did! I will not stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2015
We were pleasantly surprised after reading some terrible reviews. Our room was clean and warm but we asked for extra blankets in case things changed through the night. It was quiet, and the beds very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the money, but don't expect much.

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: good deal.
Cons: Rooms, internet, beds,
Location: Amazing location.
Huge rooms, but very outdated. bathroom is clean, the rooms not so much. Beds not so conformable. Terrible internet connection. Impossible to work. Very friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor ON

A disappointing stay

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing that would what to make me come back again or recommend to anyone else.
Cons: It was a good learning experience
Location: It was centrally located and close to the Grand Theatre where we were going to see a play
The location of the hotel was in the location that we were looking for. The picture and the description of the ammenties did not represent a true picture of what the hotel and room actually provided. The bedroom area was oppositye the kitchen. The sitting area with the tv was sepatated with a wall . It was impossible to watch the tv from the bed. The bed sheets and the linnens were clean . The furnishings were minnimal .The couch was a well worn pull out bed/couch. The unit was located next to the elevator; constant noise. When checking in I was required to charge my visa account with $ 100 as security . This was not just held by them but actually cashed, something that was not aware of till I was checking out. I was also told that they would credit my account later after they had inspected the room for anything missing and damage. I insisted that I would wait at the desk till they had inspected the room and verified that it was in order.Once I had left they could have said anything about the condition that the room was left in. It was in order, I received only a verbal assurance that it was fine and to check my visa statement and a credit for the $ 100 would appear there in three to seven days. I have never had to go thru this procedure at any other hotel I have stayed at. Is this standard procedure when booking with Expedia? If that is the case I will not be using your services in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Fine hotel, great rates, with problems

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Comfortable mini apartments, parking, excellent location, cosy, reasonably well equipped rooms.
Cons: Move smokers to the same floor and keep them separate from the non-smokers, and include extra blankets, and better bedding.
Location: Great location, central London, close to everything.
Problem: non-smoking rooms are fine, but not when they are on the same floor as other smokers, so the hallways smell like cigarettes. So, that said, maybe they could consider isolating smoking to one floor. Still, very 80's in many ways, could use an upgrade on the design, but overall fine place to stay (as long as you don't mind the smell of smoke).