Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Paradise!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The water suit was very nice with a nice big terrace and beautiful views. The beach is very nice and the lagoon is great for snorkelling. The food was ok and the staff is very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holt, MI (USA)

AMAZING! Well rounded resort! Highly Recommended

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: It is important to highlight that two of the servers were especially noteworthy: Haashim at the Koimala restaurant and Sulimann at the Sunset bar!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Fish, dive, snorkel, swim, surf, paddle board, beach, spa, eat, exercise, & RELAX!
As a stop on our around the world tour, the Chaaya Island Dhonveli was a perfect place for us to recharge our batteries as it was the midpoint of our 30 day adventure. From the point we landed at the airport to departure, our entire family felt as if we mattered! We were greeted at the reception area with a drink and a cool wash cloth, escorted to our room, we were thrilled with the accommodations, and loved, loved, loved our server Haashim (Koimala Restaurant)! He not only took care of us, he engaged our children in conversations about the World Cup, asked about our activities, and seemed to care about us as a family! In addition, Sulimann at the Sunset Bar was also especially engaging. He asked us questions, demonstrated he cared about us and we appreciated his contagious smile! We enjoyed the food, rented paddle boards, went to the spa, loved the beach, and snorkeled daily on the house reef. If you are looking for a well rounded resort, look no further than the Chaaya Island Dhonveli and ask for Haashim and Sulimann! We have stayed in five hotels since we departed and the Chaaya Island Dhonveli ranks at the top! We are a family of four…and loved this island and everything it had to offer!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older Resort - Shows its age

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The amazing surf at Pasta Point.
Cons: Better communications skills for staff. Renovate rooms. Fix AC.
The beach is beautiful and the waters of the Maldives are lovely, but this resort shows its age. The water bungalow I stayed in had damaged flooring and fixtures. The Air Conditioning was unable to produce cool air, so there was really no escape form the heat. The food was reasonable and the staff tried to be helpful, but many of them couldn't speak English, so communication was difficult. The surf break is great, but unless you are a surfer, you should fins another resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Malaysia

A Memorable Honeymoon

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: The scenery, foods and sea view of the overwater suite,
Cons: As mentioned in `my experience' above
Before we reached the resort, we already have high expectations but guess what? we are just blown away!! The place is so dreamy and we just forgot for a moment who we are..and by the way, the foods are great too with some variation every other day. We just have some suggestions, the aircond is not cold enough for the afternoon and it would be wonderful to install a bidet in the wash room for convenience and hygiene. Also,we happened to receive a US twenty dollar 'old notes' from the cashier when we checked out and this have gave us much inconveniences when it was refused by the cashier at the airport ferry terminal and we have to beg one of the souvenir shops owner in Male to accept it. Otherwise, it would be a perfect honeymoon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by HD from Vancouver

Great food!

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall service was great. Very friendly staff. Didar set us up a beach dinner which was really nice. Pant the Indian chef was awesome, and always have us great service and the food was the best (try the cheese naan).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Annette J from London

Good value for money

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Chaaya Island Dhonveli for 3 nights and had a really pleasant stay. I was in one of the Water villas, which I would highly recommend since it gives you a bit more privacy. The rooms are big and very comfortable and I loved my terrace where I could just chill with a great book to the pleasant sound of the waves. The internet in the room is also fast and reliable so easy to keep in touch with friends and family. I booked the all inclusive and was quite pleased with the selection of drinks on the All inclusive menu. The restaurant were good as well - only wish to improvement was that they would rotate the tables - so you are not placed at the same table every night. The island also have a nice selection of different bars and a great Spa, where I had a lovely pedicure. For the money you pay and compared with other prices at the Maldives - I think this hotel is an excellent choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lilian from qatar

Nice hôtel.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Beach, swimming pool, bangalows
Cons: Food...
Beautiful Island, beautiful sea, nice accomodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Heaven full of Angels...

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Possibly Room Service or Beach Bar for All-inclusive guests
Location: Island acitivites include badminton, Snorkelling, table tennis, pool, jet skiing,, spa and day excursions to nearby islands.
Amazing Place very relaxing and picturesque nature...Clear water and clean beach... Staff were beyond polite and helpful. I will never forget this experience in my life. The food, cleaning service, Dhonveli Punch Cocktail, and many many more positive things about our stay. If finances allow we would like to visit again in the future! Regards to everyone at Dhonveli!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from Seattle,WA

Great honeymoon

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: rooms, locations, amenities
Location: city tour, fishing trips, submarine tour
Maldives is definitely a place to go! Good thing about Chaaya Dhonveli is that it is close to the city. The resort provides tours to local villages and city, and we are able to learn about the culture. They also have a submarine tour which was an amazing experience!The waters by the hotel is crystal clear and beautiful. Beaches were nice and we saw reef sharks, sting rays etc. We stayed by the water bungalows and it was definitely worth it! The staff was also nice and friendly. Overall, it is definitely worth the money even it could cost some good $$$. This hotel is a must- go!