Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria UK

A very nice Riad only 300 meters from the Square.

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The convenience to the places of interest within the old town
Cons: It would be nice if a range of alcohol was available. However it should be bourn in mind that this is a Muslim country.
Location: Very convenient to all the attractions within the old town.
An oasis of tranquillity among the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Breakfast on the top floor terrace is not to be missed. The manager and staff are most attentive and ensure that one's stay is memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Slovakia

One night at Marrakesh

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Hotel stuff and localization near by the Jamaa el Fna square.
Cons: I will recommend to put somewhere map of the location with the drawing of detailed road from Jamaa el Fna square to the RIAD. It will be very helpful.
It was my first experience of such style of accomodation (RIAD) and I was really surprised with the services. Only problem for me was to find the RIAD and I had to use local teenager as a guide.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Inaccessible by taxi, long walk,guide is a must

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The bath rooms are exotic, they carry the local ambiance.
Cons: I suggest that the hosts leave their guests alone, don't ask if they want some tea ten times. Give them free access in and out, don't lock the gate
Location: The walking access to the center of the Bazar is great.
Hosts of this Riad are young men trying to comfort guests too much, and this often comes across as artificial and overbearing. There is a discomforting silence as a result of less than 10 total rooms and at least 15 minutes of walk to a taxi or any road. Their 5 star claim is a misnomer, either sneaky dishonesty or a hyperbole, and this hyperbole is quiet routine here. Realistically this is a good 3 star motel, give it 3.5 at best. How can an 8 bed room Riad claims to be 5 star is beyond me. If you like the anonymity and privacy that comes with large hotels, just getting lost in the crowd, this is not for you. But if you travel light and are not intimidated by narrow streets with no access to taxi, especially when dark, then this place is not for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Fantastic Riad!

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Staff were amazing. It is a luxury place. Jhalil, Badar, Mohammed and the staff offer a customer service unlike any I have experienced anywhere else.
Cons: Showers are temperamental at best but I think that is all over Morocco!
Location: Shopping and eating. Usual City Break things. Not many huge world famous monuments etc. The attraction is the souks, markets, people and food.
The Riad was a few minutes walk to the main square yet still remarkably peaceful and quiet. Staff were absolutely wonderful. The Riad, which means, large house has 3 rooms and 2 suites. It has a beautiful courtyard which is exactly as it is on the website. We booked both suites for 3 nights and they were decorated differently yet very similar in layout, size and luxury. Marrakech is a fantastic place. We felt very safe and most places are well lit. Locals are friendly and haggling seems to start at 25% initial prices. This seems to work quite well and many things that started around the 200 Dirham mark were purchased for under 50 which is quite remarkable but that's what the guidebooks suggested. A little tip -Try to walk with purpose when lost in the souks. A local joke seems to be sending tourists the wrong way so don't ask for directions! Just stick to a route and when you come out the other end get a yellow cab. You can travel anywhere in the city centre for under 50 dirhams, usually around 20.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cocoa Beach, Florida USA

Our happy place amidst the chaos of Marrakech

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The tranquility and the service. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel comfortable, safe and happy.
Cons: No complaints. We were very happy.
Location: This riad was very easy to find in comparison to the other places we stayed in Morocco. A 5 minute walk from the main square. Very conveinent.
We arrived in Marrakech 21/2 hours late, we were VERY pleased to see our driver waited for us at the airport. He took us to the city where we met the Manager, Jalil. He was very friendly, professional and informative. He walked our bags through the main square at night and with the help of his staff we arrived safely. The hotel is beautiful. Very clean. Very comfortable. Good bathrooms. No complaints. The dinner we had the evening we arrived was delicious. Our table was prepared for us when we arrived. Jalil sat down with us in the morning during breakfast and went over directions on a map so we could find our way to the attractions. The homemade yogurt was fantastic. We had the opportunity to sit and talk to the staff at night exchanging stories and learning about each others cultures. By the end of our stay we would consider Jalil and his staff our friends. We stayed at a lot of hotels and riads around Marrakech and we found Riad Granvilier to be the best of the best. We enjoyed it so much that we actually returned to say good bye at the end of the trip even though we were staying at a different riad across town. We forgot a few things in the room and the manager kept them for us till we came back. When we arrived again he provided free drinks to us and listened to our travel stories around Morocco. It was an amazing experience. We actually got the feeling of being at home with Jalil and his staff and I can honestly say I've never felt that way about a hotel stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mr M Alifrom London

Highly recommend!! :)

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Outstanding Riad... all the staff were welcoming and helpful. The staff definitely made it feel like home. The room we stayed in was beautiful. Breakfast was very nice and filling. Location is good if you want to be near the square :). If we were to go marrakech we'd stay there again. 10/10! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Thomasfrom Paris, France

Riad bien situé et service impeccable

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cet hôtel est très bien situé dans la médina de Marrakech, à quelques minutes à pied de la place Jemaa el-Fnaa. Il se trouve au fond d'une rue bien calme comparé à l'animation de ce quartier. Il nous a été un peu difficile de trouver le Riad la première fois mais les jours suivants, la tranquillité de cette rue c'est avérée une bénédiction. Sinon rien à dire de plus sur le service et le lieu que formidable. Tout le personnel est très attentif et les chambres sont magnifique. Nous recommandons cette adresse chaudement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jonfrom New York

Great value, beautiful hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The riad was in excellent condition and very beautiful. The staff was very accommodating. The terrace and courtyard was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christianfrom México

Servicio y Lugar Excelente

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
El equipo del Riad Granvilier es extraordinario. Jalil y sus compañeros en verdad se esmeran en hacer la visita lo más cómoda y placentera posible. Cada que llegas te reciben con té de menta y están 100% para ti. En un lugar como Marrakech, es muy util tener alguien que te de tips de que hacer y como evitar las trampas de turistas. Ellos te acompañan a lugares dificiles de encontrar e incluso te ayudan a negociar precios aterrizados. El Riad es muy bonito, muy típico y en una zona más tranquila aunque cerca del centro de la Medina. Todos los días te preparan el desayuno que es muy rico. Definitivamente recomendamos mucho este hotel para quien quiera visitar Marrakech.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah Finnamorefrom Uk

Fantastic

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely amazing stay at Riad Granvilier, the Manager and ALL staff were fantastic. Couldn't do enough for us. Went with my mum and made us feel very special. We had a gorgeous room, with much needed air con and it was very clean. Massive surprise when you walk into riad, beautiful orange tree in the court yard, everything was tidy and attention to detail was spot on. Only downfall was the walk through the small lane to get back and fore to main square, ideal for being right in the middle of everything, but a little scary walking down there in the evening. We had no problems tho, everyone we passed in the lane were friendly and so were the cats :-) just not used to being somewhere so different. Really can't fault it, and would not hesitate to recommend to EVERYONE! And I'd definitely go back.