Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Daniel from Brazil

How to spoil a nice riad

Posted Nov 22, 2013
This is a beautiful property, with a lovely courtyard and pleasant rooms. The poor service, unfortunately, makes the overall experience well below the average, especially if one considers the high prices charged. Although always courteous and available, the staff do not seem to have received proper training and one feels they are constantly improvising in the various tasks they perform. The gym – one of the reasons we had chosen this riad – is not well maintained and the treadmill for instance is of such low quality that it is of no practical use. The worst part nonetheless was left for the end, when I requested the hotel manager to book a car for us. The rental agency he suggested left us waiting for two hours and when it finally arrived the vehicle was dirty and old, even though I had been specific about the required condition of the car. I cannot help but supposing the manager's criteria was the highest commission offered instead of reliability of the service. I would have appreciated an honest piece of information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Singapore

Nice riad, lacks service

Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself is very nice, located near to sights such as Jemaá el-fna. The breakfast is served any place you want in the hotel, but to be honest it is nothing much to look forward to consisting of two small buns, two small pancakes and some jam. In addition you get a small fruit salad, in our case the apple still had the price tag. Be careful of asking for an extra juice or some eggs with the breakfast, they surely take paid for it - you pay the same for two eggs in this hotel as a full dinner in the city. Staff is also just average, not really helpful when we was followed by two men wanting money from us. We offered the men 25 dirham just to get rid of them, but they required 200 dirham. The receptionist supported them saying we should pay more - but why? We never asked them to follow us. Conclusion is it is a nice hotel in a nice part of the city, but pleas don't expect to much of the staff there.
1 out of 5
by Elaine from New York, NY, USA

Definately NOT 5 Star standard

Posted Apr 19, 2013
Pros: The decor
Cons: Service, Room and Prices
Location: Obscure location deep within the Medina
Definitley not 5 star! its a complete rip off. There is no telephone or fridge in the room. Tv and air con were rubbish and not working. No laundry or ironing offered by the hotel. Room service is terrible and overpriced, as are the spa treatments. The swimming pool and gym are tiny. You have to go to reception to order and ask for anything and more often than not there was no one there. Location of riad is obscure and away from main attractions so transportation (and paying for it) is necessary. The decor of the riad is beautiful but you can tell it is not maintained very well upon closer inspection. The only positive were the two Hassan's that work there who were very helpful and accomodating. Otherwise it was the worst 5 star hotel i have ever seen. DO NOT STAY HERE.
3 out of 5
by Julie from Milan, Italy

Beautiful but overall value for money is not ok

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: The beauty of the place, having breakfast on the rooftop terrace.
Cons: Value for money not ok, and we had continuously the impression of being offered services just to spend more.
Location: Perfect location for people who love to explore. Close to the center of the old Medina
Esprit du Maroc is a very beautiful Riad with a good central location: close to the soukhs and to the center of the old Medina. The staff is very friendly and gives advice whenever they can. However, for the rate we paid I would have expected more comfort in the rooms and better food. Breakfast is ok but not overwhelming, and dinner is far too expensive considering the "just normal" quality and considering price levels in Marrakech (we had better dinner in places in which we paid less than half).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Leicester, UK

Elegant Riad in Heart of the Medina

Posted Feb 17, 2013
Pros: Roof Terrace
Cons: Breakfast was a little monotonous but well presented
Location: Right in the heart of the Medina. Awkward to find initially, approached through labyrinthine passages. This the real Marrakech.
Exactly as expected, an elegant Riad in the heart of the Medina near the Merdesa Ben Yousef. Breakfast was served on the stunning roof terrace and was adequate. Dinner was taken in the dining room, which had an open fire. The meal was rather expensive compared with other restaurants. The bedroom was large and comfortable, the ensuite bathroom clean and spacious. The staff were attentive and friendly. I would use the riad again. One word of caution. The riad claims to have parking, it does not. it can only be accessed on foot. Overall it was very pleasant, one could find fault as others have but one would have to be very picky.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Authentic Riad experience.

Posted Feb 16, 2013
Nice place, definitely an authentic Riad experience in a good location for the Souks. But long wait for food and drinks, expensive and the hotel got our bill wrong (they did however correct the error). Hamam was good. Generally nice people and happy to help.
3 out of 5
by P & J from Sydney NSW, Australia

Lovely RIad but Poorly Located

Posted Nov 3, 2012
Pros: Lovely haven
Cons: Poor location
Location: Very poor
This is a most beautiful Riad, with rooms and alcoves that display superb Moroccan architecture. My wife and I had a very pleasant time eating by the poolside or on the rooftop. However, its major negative is its location. Regular taxis told us that it was not accessible; we were therefore left with a lot of luggage that had to be dragged for about 0.5 Km. The beauty of the Riad contrasts with the narrow and sometimes filthy lanes nearby. The moment one stepped out of the Riad, the harassment started. In the end, we resorted to hiring the hotel taxi rather than go anywhere on foot. If we were coming back late from dinner, a prearranged taxi was a must. While we were told that wi-fi was available, there was no access in the room, and I had to sit in the courtyard next to the reception to access the internet. We also found communication difficult, as neither of us speaks French of Arabic. Instructions were therefore not always followed. Service was variable - some staff very extremely good, whereas others were not dependable. The breakfast was of poor quality, with no variation from day to day - we ended up ordering eggs, just to add some protein, and were charged extra for this. They did not have a printer for us to print our boarding passes. In the end, mainly because of the harassment we experienced as soon as we stepped outside the Riad, and the lack of internet in the room, we spent only 3 nights, although we had paid for 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Alexandra

Calm amidst the chaos

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
A great place to relax after the hustle of the souks. Large and comfortable room, plentiful breakfast, nice rooftop patio to take some sun or enjoy a meal. Definitely have a hamman and a massage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from London

Great for couples

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: Staff service, opulence of surroundings, ambi ence of Riad.
Cons: Lack of suitable pool.
Location: For authencity very good.. Very close to Souk and squ uare. This was also quite restricting due to the lack of decent restaurants or food outlets
The Riad was absolutely superb with the only downfall being the price of hotel food and drink. Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this Riad to anyone who wants to stsy in a more authentic part of Marrakech.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Very nice Raid and warm welcoming from staff 5 ***

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: The harmann (body wash) the layout of the hotel
Cons: Needs more range of breakfast rather then bread all the time
Location: Its in the middle of no were and you can get lost very easy, its best to ask locals for help, but be aware of them asking for money
Quality of the staff and their service - I had given them a 3 because of they need more english speaking staff rather then just one. all of them spoke French and Arab. But all staff where very warm and welcoming and do try their best in helping with all your enquires They said they have full breakfast but its only Moroccan breakfast (mainly bread) and not English style like sasauge etc... The hotel needs to provide a more range of pillows rather then just hard as i found some nights very hard to sleep with their pillows Their Harman was very nice and relaxing and its worth getting done we all enjoyed.