Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from England

Wonderful was the best holiday I have ever had.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Nice clean and right by the river very relaxing.
Cons: More rhino's
Was a great six day's sarfai, our driver did every thing in his power to make each drive better than the one be for. A big thank you for all you done Vincent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice safari but hotel not so great

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Nice safari drives / well located to see animals.
Cons: They could be welcoming and generous with their guests eg give guests several bottles of water (we paid $1,000 per day), especially since water dirty
Running water but not clean? Very stingy with water. Hotel nickels and dimes you. Staff is hit or miss: some friendly, others not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ioan from Australia

Good base for Maasai Mara

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Staff. Things run on time. Camp location. Safaris. Food.
Cons: Lower prices. Maybe offer a shower to guests on the last day after check-out time when returning from the last safari trip. Consider buffet dinner.
Location: Well located in Maasai Mara. Good base for great safari holiday.
Intrepids Tented Camp is a good base for a fantastic safari holiday in Maasai Mara. The tents are clean and have the basic requirements for a comfortable stay: beds with mosquito nets, chair, 2 desks, 2 sinks, separate toilet and shower rooms, electricity, lights, running water including hot water at set times – just do not expect 5-star hotel luxury. Tents, restaurant and bar are in a nice wooded area. Staff are friendly and accommodating of guests’ requests. Manager Edwin was present at dinner to interact with guests and was accommodating – thank you. My driver Simon was very experienced, able to find whatever animal we asked for and accommodating of my obsession of Mara crossings (we saw 15!!) – thank you Simon, you did a great job! Food is good. Prices for everything are high e.g. lunch $USD45, 1hr balloon ride $USD450 but you need to consider the challenge of running camps like this in the middle of nowhere with "so-called" roads in poor condition. Staff do not ask for tips but gladly accept them, so be generous! Safari trips are fantastic, you get to see lots of animals. Well done! Ioan G.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mark from London

Friendly, fantastic and exciting

Posted Jun 18, 2013
Pros: The camphad all the mod cons with very little camping issues.
Cons: Nothing. Perfect
Fab staff, V friendly. It was a pleasure to stay in the tented accomodation. Well done all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delhi india

What a amazing holiday

Posted May 25, 2013
Pros: Staff was amazing . Saw all of the big five
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the airstrip doesnt get better than this leapords were outside our camp
Amazing resort great staff very very very freindly . George the restraunt manager was really really nice . Plz ask for him when you go
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by L.

Mara Intrepid Tented Camp, Kenya

Posted May 14, 2013
Pros: We requested an isolated, quiet tent (numbers 29 and 30 are the most isolated), and it was perfect. Only animal sounds and views of the hippos!
Cons: No complaints!
Location: There were so many animals to see, we only did the safari trips (for 6 days!!). We enjoyed Joseph's daily talk and slide show about the Mara.
Absolutely amazing! Great guides, chef, wait staff, management, and housekeeping. The guides make sure you see the animals of the Mara UP CLOSE!! What a great trip!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by caroline

Perfect in every respect!

Posted Jan 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The camp is only 5 mins drive from the airstrip you fly into, which saves on transfer costs! The tent is extremely comfortable, even provided with hot water bottles which are filled for you. All the staff and Park guides there are superb - friendly and efficient. The food is delicious and there are plenty of drives available at all times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Suffolk

Very highly recommended for great family holidays!

Posted Sep 8, 2012
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The Mara is still the best place for safari.... we love it and so did the children!
We stayed at Mara Intrepids 2 years ago so were pleased to be going back. When we arrived we were "upgraded" to Explorer from Intrepids which was nice. They are both owned by the same group and sit about a mile apart on the mara river. They are identical in many ways though Explorer is smaller, unfenced and a little more personal if that is possible. But this review is equally valid for both camps. Where to start - briefing alll very good with Edwin the Camp Manager. A guenuine and nice fellow and great host. James our tent attendant for both ourselves and our children who were in the next tent down the river was fabulous. The tents are spotless, maintained to high standard and the tea and coffee personal delivery with a wake-up call each morning is great. Restaurant - fantastic food. Variety, al a carte menu's, service from Jerimiah was superb and the food quality could not be better in a 5* restaurant back home. We were also taken out for a bush dinner one evening which was an added treat and all part of the service. Game Drives - John was fabulous as our guide. Very very experienced and really friendly.Nothing was too much trouble and he always started the drive by asking what you wanted to see. Just nothing to fault in any area of this camp, its staff, standards - everything is perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Westport, CT

Superb hotel - would love to go back one day soon.

Posted Jul 15, 2012
Pros: Friendly service, great food, perfect location right in the Mara, the best Land Rovers out there, guides that have eyes like hawks!
Cons: No Complaints
This hotel was on beautiful enclosed grounds. It was less than 5 minutes from the airstrip, Ol Kiombo. The rooms were gorgeous and clean with a nice verandah in front. The food was delicious and the service superb. There were 3 game drives a day and all the guides were highly experienced, professional and courteous. We had some of the best land rovers out there and the most people we were ever with were 3 others, which made it very intimate. Our guide, Michael, continuously was one of the first to find all the "big 5" and he was very accommodating to our needs. We were able to go on a longer game run one day and took a packed lunch with us. It was quite an experience eating out in the savannah overlooking all the animals. Love this place and would recommend it any time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2012 on Hotels.com