Ratings based on 1,559 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great hotel with a fantastic view.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The pool, with the covered grotto, swim-up bar and waterslide was nice. We probably used to pool as much or more than the beach.
Cons: A hot tub in the pool area would have been nice.
We stayed at the Hyatt Regency last week and loved it! We had a deluxe ocean front view and I must say the view was spectacular. I really enjoyed getting up early, sitting out on the balcony, drinking coffee and watching the surf. The room included breakfast which was a pretty nice buffet. We wouldn't have paid for it - way too expensive - but it was nice since it was included. The room was nice, beds were comfortable and plenty of space for the 3 of us. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Agawam, MA

Great hotel on the beach. Best hotel I ever had.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Everything, though amenities were a bit pricey.
Cons: Cost of amenities.
Location: Lots to do at nearby Whaler's village and town of Lahaina.
Best hotel my wife or I had ever stayed at. Stunningly beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frisco, TX

Everything about the hotel was great.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Walking the grounds of the hotel and the other nearby hotels. We felt safe letting our teenage kids walk around at night.
Cons: Don't charge extra for a microwave.
Location: There is a place near the hotel that rents snorkel gear, but it is much more expensive than renting in Lahaina.
We chose Expedia's unpublished feature for a four-star and were very happy with the Hyatt Regency. If you've read other reviews and seen pictures of the hotel, you know it's a beautiful place. They are constructing a new building next door, but we never heard any noise from it, so it was a total non-issue. The staff was great, and even switched our room from a King/couch pull out to a Queen/double bed for no charge. Room was very clean with a fridge, but no microwave (you could pay a daily fee for one) or stove. The pool was clean and heated, and not too over crowded. The beach is just 20 feet past the pool, but there is a bit of lava rocks. If you walk a couple hundred feet up the beach, though, it is better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The hotel was awesome. The pool was huge it was right on the beach and it was only 3 miles from the town center. I would go back here any time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing feedback regarding your recent experience at our resort. I am thrilled you found our resort to be well appointed. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. I hope we can welcome you back to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa in the future. Mahalo! Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Avoid discounted package

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The pools are nice.
Cons: They should have the construction extent and consequences be much more explicit in the offer.
Location: Nice shops and restaurants north of the hotel walking along the beach
They sell a discounted package. If you read in the fine print they say they have some construction going. Well, it is actually a whole new building they're working on, the whole area is extremely noisy and they'll work from 7am in the morning every day. Not great if you want to relax in vacation. Hotel personeel are not kind, they just repeat the mantra that it was part of the package. Furthermore the whole hotel is geared toward sales of timeshare property int he new building they're working on, they'll solicit you to attend presentations in every corner of the hotel including the pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Beautiful Maui

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The grounds, pools and location are top notch.
The Hyatt has a superb location right on the beach of Kaanapali. We have been to this hotel a number of times for over 18 yrs and still presents very well. Great pools, breakfast and rooms. Loved that we got an upgrade so as not to have to endure the noise of the new building under construciton. Very positive experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
Thank you for continuing to make Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa your go to property when your travel brings you to Maui! I am honored that we continue to have you as our guest for over 18 years. It sounds like you had another terrific experience. Your recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to your return in the near future. Mahalo! Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ky

Beautiful hotel.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Excellent customer service. From check in to checking out everyone was helpful & polite. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Loved the 2 for 1 breakfast buffet included in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel!

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Staff was so friendly and helpful. Hotel was beautiful and it had penguins in the lobby! Had an awesome trip there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from New Zealand

Very good resort on the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Swan court is a beautiful area to have breakfast. Pool and beach walk
Cons: Intall some clear access lanes to the pool
Location: Beach walkway to beach and through neighbouring resorts to Whalers village
A great resort with all the facilities required to make your stay enjoyable. Interesting selection of birds and fish. An amazing pool, but difficult to access main area due to lack clear walkways between loungers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside CA

Nice Hotel on the beach.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Room Service and Valet were quick and friendly.
Cons: Lighting frmo the beach walk could be improved.
Location: Whalers Village with the shops and restatuants are a short walk from the hotel. Black Rock for Snorkeling is a 25 minute walk to snorkeling.
Enjoyed the hotels location to the beach, Whalers village and Black Rock.