Ratings based on 1,641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Perfection

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Heaven on earth!! Staff are second to none..Facilities are second to none.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. australia.

Arrival!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Upon arrival we waited 15 min for service and then when we asked for our two rooms booked 3 months earlier to be on same floor we were told they were in separate towers unless we wanted to pay extra $80 per room per night. Rooms ready by 2pm but we were begrudgingly told we should really queue through check in again! Finally we were asked to take our own bags to our room ... After brilliant fairmont orchid this was a serious smack in the face. Finally completed survey on line and it failed. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Great hotel, but don't expect the best.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The room, the location, and the pool.
Cons: Customer service was hit or miss ranging from mediocre to reasonably good.
Location: The hotel is just down the street from Lahaina which has stores, restaurants, and a pier for all kinds of vacation activities.
The hotel itself is a great facility with all of the amenities you could want in one hotel and has a great location, but the customer service was hit or miss and the main restaurant inside the hotel did not live up to expectations. We paid extra for a room with an ocean view and were not exactly disappointed, but I would recommend looking at pictures of the room with views from the lanai if this is important to you. The main restaurant in the hotel was on the expensive side and just did not deliver a dining experience that justified the additional cost for us. Having a rental car would be highly recommended anyway though and there are several excellent restaurants nearby. The hotel pool is great both for adults with or without kids and kids at the same time. The room was not particularly impressive, but was modern, clean, and surprisingly comfortable. Overall, I would stay there again, but would either make sure breakfasts were included with my room rate or eat both breakfast and dinner somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oahu, Hawaii

Ocean view

Posted Sep 3, 2014
This room was a true ocean view, no land just ocean... Great view and loud ocean... Rooms are clean and upkept nice. We got a king ocean view and got free upgrade to regency club that included free snacks and drinks. . overall place was great. The jepengo restaurant was off the hook!!! I will be eating there again... I'll be back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location: Ocean, Restaurants, and Activities

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Expedia Local Expert - Everything booked in one short visit. Better discounts than I expected but you can find better Location Walking path
Cons: Need more shady spots near the pool. Hotel needs to enforce their policy about beach chairs being reserved at 7:00 and empty for hours.
Location: On the ocean, great view of nearby islands. Scuba, Snorkling, Jet Ski rental, Parasailing, Charters all within walking distance. Lots to eat too!
We spent a good amount of time researching the Hyatt against several others in the same vicinity. It boiled down to traveler comments and the overall deal. The Hyatt "on paper" appeared to be the best of the bunch (compared to 4 other nearby properties). Observations after our 10 day trip we (Family of 4): •All the resorts charge more than you would expect for ALL meals - Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, snacks, etc. •All of the resorts try to intice you to go to the Timeshare Session with free or discounted activities and gift cards. In many cases the incentives are pretty good if you have 90 minutes, a strong will, and don't ask a lot of questions. •Most of the shady spots by the pool are taken by 7:30 AM by folks that reserve chairs with towels early in the morning. The resort staff will place a notice on unocupied chairs by 9:30 AM however we never saw the staff remove any towels. •The rental Cabanna option is worth it for a day or 2 if you want a guaranteed spot. It includes ice water, a shade umbrella and towels. •Ocean is awesome but the rip tide is the real deal...you will get knocked around if you are not paying attention...saw a guy get rescued because he just got pulled out over 100 yards and was getting exhausted (Kudos to the Great Staff!) •Snorkeling trip for the family is a blast and worth every penny •Discovery Diving is fun if you are not certified •On-site Coordinators to schedule everything •Ask nicely for free Room Upgrade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kalamazoo

Nice hotel close to kanapali beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel was very nice and we had a great time. It is just on kanapali beach, the best one in maui. It is also in walking distance to whalers village, a great shopping outdoor mall and food course.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by GuestRelationsAssociate, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on your stay. I am so happy to hear you had a fantastic stay and you enjoyed the beach and our proximity to shops and several food options! I hope you get to return for yet another awesome stay. Warm Regards, Belinda M - Guest Relations
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegas

Nice hotel. I've been coming buck since 1987

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Clean, courteous staff, awesome food.
Cons: Very pricey food, but no different than other hotels in Maui
Location: The pool area is fantastic, as is the lobby's, restaurants, etc.
The premiere hotel on Kaanapali, in spite of nonstop construction and remodeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mandurah, Australia

The refrigerator was not working efficiently

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Most things, especially the staff
Cons: The refrigerators in the rooms, very old and not efficient
Location: We just relaxed in the hotel pool and grounds
Overall a very good hotel in a great location with very good amenities Breakfast in the Swan room was not a five star experience, very little choice for western guests , in our opinion For example no option to have eggs cooked, just scrambled
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, but could have been better!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The hotel grounds and location are amazing. It's very beautiful and there is a lot to do. The staff working in the bars and restaurants however, are very very rude and seem to hate their jobs! The rooms are also pretty outdated and could do with an update.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing resort, pool gardens and shops were great

Posted Aug 23, 2014
They had penguins birds fish the view was amazing concierge so helpful highly recommended