Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Last Minute Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The Price was good (especially with Continental Breakfast included). The location is very good and near City transportation!
Cons: New Paint and Room Decor. More "Do Not Disturb" Door Tags in the Room, so Housekeeping doesn't just walk in while you are Sleeping!
Location: Very near the Union Square area. Close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Gardens, and the large Barnes & Noble Book Store.
I had been shopping in the "City" and became ILL while there. A friend suggested the Hotel Grand Union. It was close, the Price was right, they offered a "Continental Breakfast" (included and very Good). There was also a Small Cafe, with very Good, reasonably Priced Food off the Lobby! The Room was very nice, very clean and just right for a Single Traveler. It is an Older Hotel and the Hallways need new Paint. But overall every Service Person was very friendly and accommodating! I would recommend this Hotel to anyone on a Budget and looking for something just off Union Square and the Empire state Building!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Great little find in central midtown manhattan!!!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Good value and location.
Cons: Small flat screen maybe.
Location: Location is excellent and one can walk to theater, bus or taxi easily.
I was looking for a bargain and found a perfect hotel. The staff was professional, the room was clean and had everything I needed. There was a small refrigerator and coffeemaker. I did not lack for anything and I will stay there again. If you are someone who needs bells and whistles, then pay for it. If you like comfort, and value, stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Orange County, CA

Good location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Convenience.
Wifi was very poor in my room, making working impossible. Shower stalls very small. Elevator very slow. Very noisey from truck traffic on 32St. early in the morning, 5 a.m. on.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Broken toilet

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Manager didn't take care of the problem the first time, and the second time he tried to have me unplug the toilet, did not provide us with anot her room either. Also it was noisy, like slamming doors, talking real loud by hotel staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very different from the pictures, ratings mislead

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: They gave me a free water bottle...which was nice.
Cons: Literally most of it.
Location: Fine location.
No idea how it has good ratings, this place was a dump. It looked like someone was going for a 'classic' look in the 90's, and then never updated the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Man. UK.

The hotel was filthy. No manners at reception.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Nothing, it spoiled the break
Cons: The owners should visit the place and see how customers are subjected to squalor
Location: location was fine, sights nearby and easy to find transport.
The room was filthy and smelly. The staff impolite, rooms not clean and sheets never changed. Bathing area smelly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom to

Great location and facilities

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Loved the free wifi, snacks, soft drinks and laundry. Staff with old fashioned service who will do everything to help and are super friendly.
Location: Just one block back from Hollywood Boulevard and easy access to public transport for Santa Monica and Universal Studios.
Great location only a block away from the action. Staff couldn't be more helpful and lots of free stuff (free wifi, snacks, soft drinks and laundry). While the rooms are fairly old, we had a family suite which was huge and everything is clean and works great. As an adult I would highly recommend this hotel, and my teenage boys also thought it was the best hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom TX

Outdated hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Well, I travel a lot and have stayed at many hotels throughout the country, this one was the worst ever. Don't tell me that you get what you paid for because I paid $700 for 2 nights. The employees we very nice and friendly (the only good thing), but the hotel is in a desperate need of a renovation. Everything about it was so so old, like back in 80s. Cheap tile, rust, dust, mold, and something never seen before - the fans along the halls. What is that? The layout was so weird. Carpet on the stairs was so dirty. I couldn't sleep there as it felt so filthy inside the room, and an old AC was bowing right on me. I'm not in any way snobby, but, please, in this case it was too much to take. Everywhere I go in the US, in every major city, for $300 a night I was able to get a very nice room, rather it was Miami, LA, San Francisco, Chicago, Boston, Houston, even NY. Please renovate this property. There is nothin good to comment about it except the employees. One remark though, when you clean the prerty, please don't leave trash displayed by the elevators - it's disgusting, I don't want to see somebody else's waste. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Excellent location easy to get to and most importantly as lone traveller I felt safe walking back late at night. However the hotel needs a make over which I have been informed is going to happen in jan 2015, it is dark, dinghy and has a musty smell too it. The room was clean, bathroom/ shower were good again clean . Coffee machine was fine .. Bring your tea and travel kettle if you want tea. Breakfast was good - continental. If you want something else there are plenty of local diners/bakeries/ delis nearby Staff pleasant and friendly. If you looking for luxury then not for you but if you dropping stuff and spending you time out its comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Crap place is crap don't bother with it

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Was lied to about room had hidden fees and was not cleaned properly prior to me getting there over all horrible don't waste your time on it please