Ratings based on 712 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dennys

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The Location
Cons: I know it is a matter of space but it is hard to take advantage of the included breakfast when you need to wait for your turn to eat.
Location: The Empire State building is 3 blocks away and so is 5th Avenue. Herald Square is also there. Madison Square Garden is a little to the south.
3 blocks from the Empire State building. Metro station in the same block. The building is a little old. But everything was in good condition. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Celeste from Florida

Affordable stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014
I found this little gem on expedia. My first impression was it seemed dated. The entrance smelled smokey and always remained that way. The elevator is very slow. One room was pretty small and had a lot of out door noise so I upgraded. It was a much better room in back with no outside noise but, a room next to us had a loud group our last night. They quited down though and all was well. It is clean and comfortable but has an antiquated atmosphere. Breakfast was partially frozen fruit with cereal or make your own toast. I feel it was over priced like pretty much everything in Manhatan.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Bathroom had no heat and could not take a shower. Old bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go elsewhere

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: I did not get bedbugs.
Cons: See above.
Although I was on the seventh floor, it felt like my bed was in the middle of the street. The noise at night included garbage trucks, honking cars, and a screaming woman. And by "night" I mean 2am to 5am. The room had a fluorescent overhead light with a dropped ceiling, which made it feel like I was in a basement. The shower careened from scalding hot to freezing cold minute to minute. There was only one elevator for 10 floors of rooms, so there was generally a five-minute wait to get anywhere. Finally, the staff was at best functional, but not friendly or inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Really close subway station

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Heater. Elevator. Storage room.
Location: Close to Herald Square, Koreatown & Empire State Building. 1 stop away from Midtown West
Great location for the price. Small bathroom but manageable. Bathroom window never really closes, so you can hear the wind and cars from outside. Heater can't really adjust on your own so it was a little cold during my first 3 nights here but was ok with an extra blanket. They fixed the heater to emit more heat on my last night. Complimentary breakfast. Not great, but good enough to fill your stomach with a little bit of something. Comfortable bed and pillow. Enough room space.
2 out of 5
by Rachel from Baltimore, MD

Loud heater kept me up all night

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Good price, clean rooms, pleasant staff
Cons: Fix the heater!
Location: Close to Penn Station and steps from the 6 subway line. The neighborhood is Koreatown, so there are lots of small takeout restaurants to choose from.
My stay would have been pleasant if I'd gotten any sleep. The heater in the room was old and kicked on every 30 minutes, kicking off with a loud, metallic bang. The bang woke me up every time. If you stay here, I recommend listening for this noise before you settle in -- that way, you can request a different room if it's a problem. Other than that, the staff was pleasant and the room was clean. My only other complaint was that the shower head was too low to wash my hair. I'm 5'8" -- I've never had that problem before. Very strange.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from Northeast UK

Location excellent!

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: As above
A wonderful experience. My daughter and I were in New York to celebrate my 60th birthday. From the first welcome we knew it was going to be a great holiday. The room was clean, cosy and quiet. Daily maid service excellent. Fridge and coffee machine a great idea...nice touch. As we experienced a rather cold February the heat of the room proved invaluable as we returned from the chilly streets of Manhattan. The attitude of the staff was excellent. A friendly manner displayed at whatever time of day. The location could not be better. Subway on the corner hotel almost next to the Empire State and close to many other major tourist attractions. Continental breakfast was such a bonus. Relaxed atmosphere and plenty of choices to start the day. Wifi excellent as we could catch up with emails etc...and research visits in the comfort of our own room. Would highly recommend this hotel to friends and certainly consider a return visit too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location for the day/evening

Posted Feb 18, 2014
close to the Empire State Building, 5th Ave, etc. lots of stuff closes by 9:00. Transit to the Village isn't bad. Staff weren't very helpful, but rooms were clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maggy from UK

Budget Hotel in great location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location and cost.
Cons: Hotel needs some updating but is still a good place to stay.
Location: Many of the city tourist hotspots are within walking distance. If you want to go further afield the subway is a couple of minutes walk away.
This is a budget hotel so don't stay if you are wanting 5* facilities. The location is perfect - near subway, 15 minute walk to Penn Station. Rooms are basic but had fridge and coffee maker. Perhaps a kettle would be useful for tea. Room was quite clean and beds were comfortable and clean. Room was made up and towels changed daily. There was no street noise in our room so very quiet at night. (Room 511) Free WiFi was really useful. Breakfast was adequate although the breakfast room was rather small considering how many people were staying. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the heart of New York. We bought this a part of a flight/hotel package.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location - Location - Location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The main feature was Location - Location - Location.
In NY City it's all about location. Since I was going to a show on 32nd and Park Ave this hotel was in extremely close walking distance. The staff was helpful and the hotel was very clean and quite.