Ratings based on 596 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom caribbean

Only for short stays

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Although I had a non-smoking room, the room (and hotel) had a strong smell of smoke. Also, the shower head in the bathroom was very dirty; I had to request that it be cleaned. The front desk staff were helpful and printed my boarding pass but I doubt I would ever stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn, NY

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Overall the hotel was great and conveniently located near a variety of places to eat and shop daily necessities. One complaint I had was a small puddle of urine on the floor behind the toilet. Other than that everything else was wonderful. I will definitely stay at this location again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was the worst

Posted Feb 15, 2015
The staff was bad. The room was dirty and there was spear mat in the hall way
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2015
It's a home away from home. Great accommodation, wonderful service. Convenient location. Easy access to the city or long island tons of entertainment and attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Mu stay at the Howard Johnson was great. The staff was very helpful and hospitable. Everything as advertised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Great price, convenient location. Minutes to tons of shopping, public transportation and the city. Many attractions , dining and fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Great rates, is like a home away from home. I would certainly return as well as recommend others to visit. Hospitality was wonderful. Conveniently located close to everything. I wouldn't have any other way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 31, 2015
I LOVED IT:) COME HERE ALL THE TIME. I will recommend anyone to this hotel any time best rating in the neighborhood love it
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Hotel Review

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: It was close to the area I was visiting.
Cons: Upgrade the facility and staff friendliness.
Location: Unknown
I was disappointed with the hotel and staff. The staff was unfriendly. I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

You get what you pay for.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: It was close to public transportation.
Cons: A sign visible from the street. The wifi's access range. My room was closest to the street, but the signal was minimal to non-existent.
Location: There's a CVS half a mile down the road, access to the LIRR.
Despite the "Newly Refurbished Rooms", the hotel is still far less impressive than other branches of this highly recognizable chain. There was paint chips missing from the walls. And, while it is close to public transportation, and the free continental breakfast is great. The staff is hit or miss. The younger employees genuinely try to give good customer service, however this clashes with management. On the phone I was told that I could check in early at 12 or 12:30, so when I arrived at that time after taking a red eye I was hoping to check in and go to sleep. However the manager gave me mixed messages. At first he was going to let me check in immediately, if I was a walk in. But when I told him I had a reservation, and had called yesterday and confirmed an early check in, he told me I would have to wait until 1:30, and that there were no rooms available. The "free-wifi" that was provided was inaccessible from my room.