Ratings based on 417 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Spend the extra bucks and stay somewhere else

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: -location right across from the queens village Long Island railroad stop -free wifi -refrigerator in room -flat screen tv Cons: -sketchy clientele -Pot smell in hallways -area a little shady -loud for the light sleeper -hotel furniture; dated, stained and ripped -price too expensive for what you get
1 out of 5
by sara from Montreal

Just don't!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Staff reacted quickly when i complained about the noise.
Cons: Cleanliness and curtains.
Location: Absolutely nothing....Queens village isn't a pleasant place.
Queens village isn't a pleasant neighbourhood of Queens....plus you have to take the train daily to go to NYC and not the subway...so almost 20 dollars only to get in and out of the neighbourhood. Very poor breakfast and unpleasant smells due to uncleanliness....i had a problem with the noise since you can hear your neighbours TV if high, and the curtains don't cover the windows entirely, that was another problem at night since there are a lot of lights around the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley from Virginia Beach, VA

Love this hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Family oriented, comfortable & clean.
Cons: More breakfast choices.
We loved this hotel. Very comfortable and reasonable price. Family oriented business. We will definitely come back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tropic gyal

Ok hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Overall its a good hotel. Its situated close to the highway so its easy to go around. Theres a few restaurant close by. The breakfest is the strick min, mini bagel &coffee thats it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loved the stay, better than expected

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Convenience to LIRR, access to 495, free Parking.
Cons: Hallway renovation completed and well lit
Location: Dollar Store to buy Souviniers next block from Hotel; LIRR 1 1/2 Block from Hotel, which connects you to Metro/Subway. Very Handy.
Reception lady, whole staff provided excellent service with smile. It appeared some renovations in Hallway were in progress but did not disturb us, we were group of four, came to see N Y City and surroundings. Perfect access to LIRR within one and a half Block. Indian Restaurants within 2 Miles. I will return again from Ontario Canada Price is right, reasonably good breakfast and ample variety except for cream cheese, it was not on the counter but if you asked for it you would get it, perhaps from freezer..
2 out of 5
by Kathleen from Boston

Room smelled like cigarettes

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Improve on their cleanliness and lower their price.
Location: The hotel is in Queens Village. The Aqueduct is near by. The neighborhood is very modest. The hotel is way too pricy for such neighborhood.
We requested a non-smoking room and ended up being in a room that smelled badly like cigarettes. The bathroom sink was covered with a red stain. The bed was uncomfortable. But on the bright side, the hotel staff was extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sandra from atlanta, ga

close to everything

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: smoking rooms
Cons: new bedspreads
Born and raised in NY I've had the pleasure staying in your hotel. I'm looking forward when I come back in Aug.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Worst of the chain !

Posted May 3, 2014
I usually have a good experience staying at Howard Johnson's hotels. This particular hotel has to be the worst of the chain. The draws were dirty, tub had a permanent ring around it. Upon entering my room, I noticed my comforter was dirty with food stains, when this was brought to the front desks attention he entered my room in an aggravated manner and attempted to brush off the stains. After about two mins of him insisting it was clean, I finally convinced him to change it. Then housekeeping never came to clean the room, I left the room at 6am and came back at 8pm to it in the same manner I left it. So sorry I didn't get a chance to take photos, this is my first review and I didn't know they allowed attachments but I know for future reference. If you have other options pls don't stay here. They have a great location in Jamaica queens great staff and great rooms !!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2014
the room smells, even the non-smoking one. location is ok as we were driving, 15 min from JFK and flushing main street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Crystal from L.A california

Yummy Taco

Posted Apr 22, 2014
The Howard Johnson Inn was a nice, the staff were very polite and smile when you pass them by. The best part about this hotel was that there was a yummy taco across the street. Best place to go when you're hungry.