Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointment !!! Be careful

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for five nights, if you are going to stay here make sure your room is near the pool area. The others face the road, the amount of noise and dirt is unbearable. It is under new management and I must say he tried to go above and beyond to accommodate us, if he could physically move the hotel he would but unfortunately there is only so much he could do. A car is a must given that the hotel is not an easy walk from the town and beach. Nosara is a great place, we really enjoyed are time there, you must go to La Luna restaurant and Pacifico Azul(best ceviche in town)
1 out of 5
by Enrique from Trondheim, Norway

Neither resort nor spa

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The weather.
Cons: The general manager(stop blaming the earthquake, not our problem), the pool, training room, restaurant and service.Asfalt the road.Staff can't smile.
Location: The hotel is far from the nearest beaches.No transport from the hotel and public transport couple of times a day.Dangerous to walk by the road.
We arrived with great expectations as this was our last trip before we left Costa Rica. We were taken upon by a nice employee who helped us with the luggage and the receptionist who showed us to the room. As we arrived at around 4pm we decided to stay and eat dinner at the hotel. The restaurant looked nice. Regretably, the food and the service did not corresponded with the cost of the food. The waiter and waitress gave us the wrong food (some of us don't like tomatoes and lettuce, for example). The food was lukewarm and not good. We didn't have great expectations about breakfast since it was american, but again the service was below average. If we asked for fried egg, they came with scrambled. If we asked for more toasts instead for "Gallo Pinto", they came with "Gallo Pinto". If we asked for no papaye, they came with papaya. This happened everytime during our stay. The rooms was nice, but the hotel is full of dust from the main road, sitting in the terrace is impossible. The spa is closed and the training room is abandoned.It is not possible to swim/train in the pools as they are shallow. The general manager told us that the problems they have are because of the earthquake in 2011, and he wasn't at all understanding to our situation. It was like talking to a wall and talk only of the problems caused by the earthquake. We left with the feeling that we would have had a better stay in a cheap cabin for a 1/4 of the price we payed here. We expect a refund accordingly!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ruben from Costa Rica

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Very nice suites, friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfast, more proteins.
Location: Very good location between Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel!!!! Avoid if possible

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Cons: Pave the road themselves near the resort to reduce noise and dust. Hire staff that can speak english in restaurant.
The hotel rooms and facilities look lovely in pictures but it is built right beside the main dirt road highway and all the trees and shrubs are covered in grey road dust which they hose down. Instead of a peaceful beautiful experience we were woken up by trucks and motorcycles at 5:30 am passing the resort 40 feet from our room. We couldn't open the windows at night due to noise. There was only about 5 rooms booked out of 3 dozen so the resort was empty and felt very sad. We were the only ones in the pool, bar and dining room. We felt sorry for them so had dinner there which was a big mistake. The cheapest bottle of wine was $48 (when wine at finest restaurants in Tamarindo started at $20). We ordered Filet Mignon medium rare and it came well done with only mashed potatoes - no vegetables. The server did not speak english well and when we asked if there would be vegetables she kept nodding but I guess she didn't know what we were talking about. However the worst thing is the hotel is a 1 hour walk to the beach or 7 minute drive. All the other hotels in Playa Guionnes were in walking distance of the beach and restaurants. They would have been a much better choice. I wouldn't be surprised if this place goes bankrupt soon. Very depressing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by California Traveler from California

Nice Stay

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here in December 2013. The hotel and grounds were well kept and clean. The staff members were attentive and very nice. Our room included breakfast, which was fantastic: big fruit plate, yoghurt, huevos rancheros, rice and beans, toast, juice, coffee/tea/hot chocolate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Nosara

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Fantastic property! Great accommodations, great food, quite during the rainy season. The only downside is the hotel isn't walking distance to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kyllie from San Jose, CA

L'acqua Viva - Nosara

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Pool, very private, friendly staff.
Cons: we did have bugs in our hotel one night and had to go and get our room exchanged. I recommend bringing a bug-off diffuser if you leave the AC on.
Location: Most of Nosara is very rugged, unpaved roads and if you want to go to Samara the nearby town, just remember you need to cross a river ;)
This place was really quiet, but Nosara is a really quiet area. Less tourists than most places. The hotel was great but the receptionist didn't barely speak english. Luckily my friends spoke a bit of spanish, but I was completely useless. Other option is keep your iphone translator app handy....LOL Great service and very friendly staff, I would definitely recommend it. But tip here is to note that you have to get everything scheduled from town. Unlike other yoga retreat places, they don't have staff ready to handle massages and daily yoga. I'm really tough on hotels because I'm very picky, but this one gets a bad rap. Regardless property was beautiful and very private. The pool was awesome and the fruit drinks without alcohol was really cheap. The free breakfast was good too, just your standard eggs, toast, rice, and fruits. The lunches/dinners were good. Don't expect a four seasons or st regis style hotel with superb service though it's not that kind of place and you will definitely be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Houston, TX, USA

any staff problems have been resolved

Posted Feb 17, 2013
Pros: ambience
Cons: The restaurant is beautiful. They need an additonal informal, small , fast, inexpensive cafe.
Location: REALLY out of the way. If you are big ciy or high stress, you will LOVE it.
As nice as it could get. I read the negative reviews and thought they were based on some personnel problems that were fixable. Indeed this was the case and they were clearly resolved. Staff was very responsive. Spa service excellent price and quality per wife, who used it several times. Our suite 205 was excellent and maybe the best - I recommend it. I did not use the hotel restaurant except for the free breakfast, and thought it was a bit expensive, but the rooms are well worth the price. There are many good places to eat very well and close by. The ambience is definitely world-class. Hollywood plans a movie in the area and star will stay there,if that is a hint about its quality. It may be time to develop a yoga program with big names from USA and India since Yoga is so big around there. A few Buddhist monks would fit in with that place really well (my wife is from Darjeeling). Suggest closer association with ancillary activities, like Miss Sky Canopy Tour, snorkel, wildlife (croc, monkey, iguana, bird, tropical fish, etc.), paddle-surf, deep sea fishing, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely relaxing resort

Posted Dec 16, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beautiful Balinese style resort in Nosara. Rooms were big but ours was close to the road so traffic noise was an issue. The nicer rooms are away from the road and pool facing. Hotel is on the main road so easy to find and hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and return.