Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet, lovely hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Serene, beautiful setting.
Cons: The gym and spa need upgrading. The bartender was nice but didn't really know how to mix drinks.
Location: Playa Guiones for great waves, Playa Pelada for beautiful sunsets, lots of good restaurants, fishing tours, and turtle viewing
This is a very nice hotel located between Playa Guiones and Pelada. Its quieter and more upscale than other Nosara hotels and the setting is beautiful. Rooms are very spacious and well kept. Pool area is great but the "gym" is very rundown and the spa appeared to be closed during our visit. A hot breakfast is included every day; delicious but the same each day.The staff was very pleasant. Best way to get to the nearby beaches is by car; it's a long walk otherwise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

An interesting hotel but relaxing

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: I like our room and the privacy and I liked how tentative they were to our needs and questions. The staff were nice and friendly.
Cons: There restaurant menu and prices of their food. Their food didn't blow my mind and many items on the menu was not available.
Location: The hotel is located on a busy main road that is noisy and loud especially in the morning when you want to sleep beyond 6a.m. The beaches are not far.
The hotel was amazing but not like many hotels we had been to in the UK because it came across as a retreat because we came at the beginning of the peak season. We became familiar with the hotel staff at the reception and restaurant. This was a blessing because my husband and I did not speak any Spanish so we had to speak to the hotel staff for booking transport which they happily organised for us at fixed price even though tut tut taxi are fairly scary at first but you get use to it and the cheapest way of transport. Even though the hotel beautiful & amazing, our room did not get wifi so we had to go to the reception area every time we need the web so we went there everyday just to plan our day activities. For me the pool and jacuzzi was freezing cold but my husband love jumping in after he finish baking in the sun. I feel in love with my air conditioning in our room but hated our mini fridge was fairly noisy at random times during the day. Unfortunately, the hotel is off a busy road which you will notice early in the morning because I was woken up by traffic between 5am to 7am everyday - be prepared for early morning wake up calls. However breakfast starts at 7a.m. The restaurant was pricy and the menu was poorly translated into English so the descriptions were not accurate or made any sense. We found out the hard way so I would suggest eating out for more choice and better food.We went to local cafes and restaurants instead for food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wunderschöne Anlage im Bali Style!!

Posted Oct 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super nettes Personal und sehr herzlicher Empfang. Wir erhielten viele tolle Tipps bzgl. Restaurants und Strände. Die Zimmer sind sehr groß mit riesigem Bad. Sehr schöne Poolanlage. 5 min. zum Strand, mit dem Auto kein Problem. Anfahrt über Schotterpiste, besser vor Einbruch der Dunkelheit da sein, sonst evtl. schwer zu finden.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surtout pas un 4 étoiles !

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Même si nous ne restions qu'une nuit, nous avons changé notre réservation pour la suite supérieure pour nous éloigner de la route. L'hôtel est situé au bord d'une route très poussiéreuse à cette période de l'année et il est impensable d'y séjourner. De façon générale, l'hôtel aurait besoin d'entretien. Je ne le recommande pas !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by kathyfrom jacksonville fl

Warm and wonderful...

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
We went to L'acqua Viva with friends for a surf trip. Originally, we were concerned about the hotel as the ratings were not complimentary. All of that concern vanished when we arrived. We were met with friendly faces, a cool smoothy, attentive concierge, and a clean room. We had a driver (arranged by the hotel) pick us up at the Liberia airport. Upon arrival we rented a car. Between 3 families, we rented 2 cars and a golfcart. That is a recommended plan as the hotel is a few minutes from the beach. The food all week was exceptional at the hotel, La luna, Pacifico Azul, The Paris Cafe, and the Guilded Iguana. We were able to relax, visit with our friends, and give our boys a generous amount of freedom to explore. Additionally, the hotel set us up with wonderful surf instructors, kayak/paddle board guy, and restaurants. The staff was hard working, attentive, fun, and consistant. L'acqua Viva's food was perfect all day...breakfast, lunch/fish tacos, and late afternoon ceviche and dinner. The other guests were also enjoyable and interesting. We were just pleasantly surprised every day and we look forward to returning soon. Maybe the next time we will go in the rainy season.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by david voxfrom nosara

Worst hotel in Nosara

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
For the price you pay here, the hotel and service should be good.Spa Hotel? There is not something you would call a spa... It`s dirty, dusty and noisy.I could not sleep, because of the hotel was next to the dusty road, everythign got dusty .. The service was bad, and the restaurant a joke. It was a major restaurant, with no people eating there trough my 7 day stay! Go somewhere else, where they have a view, not a dustry road and a restaurant with fresh food!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

pretty hotel going down hill

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
i think the management of this hotel is killing a potentially really good hotel. the building and the rooms are really nice but the service and food and the energy of the place is dead. its a shame because this could have been an amazing place to stay had it been managed correctly.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Disappointment !!! Be careful

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at this hotel for five nights, if you are going to stay here make sure your room is near the pool area. The others face the road, the amount of noise and dirt is unbearable. It is under new management and I must say he tried to go above and beyond to accommodate us, if he could physically move the hotel he would but unfortunately there is only so much he could do. A car is a must given that the hotel is not an easy walk from the town and beach. Nosara is a great place, we really enjoyed are time there, you must go to La Luna restaurant and Pacifico Azul(best ceviche in town)
1 out of 5
by Enriquefrom Trondheim, Norway

Neither resort nor spa

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The weather.
Cons: The general manager(stop blaming the earthquake, not our problem), the pool, training room, restaurant and service.Asfalt the road.Staff can't smile.
Location: The hotel is far from the nearest beaches.No transport from the hotel and public transport couple of times a day.Dangerous to walk by the road.
We arrived with great expectations as this was our last trip before we left Costa Rica. We were taken upon by a nice employee who helped us with the luggage and the receptionist who showed us to the room. As we arrived at around 4pm we decided to stay and eat dinner at the hotel. The restaurant looked nice. Regretably, the food and the service did not corresponded with the cost of the food. The waiter and waitress gave us the wrong food (some of us don't like tomatoes and lettuce, for example). The food was lukewarm and not good. We didn't have great expectations about breakfast since it was american, but again the service was below average. If we asked for fried egg, they came with scrambled. If we asked for more toasts instead for "Gallo Pinto", they came with "Gallo Pinto". If we asked for no papaye, they came with papaya. This happened everytime during our stay. The rooms was nice, but the hotel is full of dust from the main road, sitting in the terrace is impossible. The spa is closed and the training room is abandoned.It is not possible to swim/train in the pools as they are shallow. The general manager told us that the problems they have are because of the earthquake in 2011, and he wasn't at all understanding to our situation. It was like talking to a wall and talk only of the problems caused by the earthquake. We left with the feeling that we would have had a better stay in a cheap cabin for a 1/4 of the price we payed here. We expect a refund accordingly!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rubenfrom Costa Rica

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: Very nice suites, friendly staff.
Cons: Breakfast, more proteins.
Location: Very good location between Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada.