Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgarian in Oklahoma

An okay hotel but getting quite dated/tired.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The large room would have been great if the A/C had worked. Being close to train station was good -- 4 suitcases & traveling by train.
Cons: A/C must work. Room needs an update - mattresses, quilts, bathroom caulking, etc.
Location: Walk to shops & restaurants around 2 big squares. Beautiful architecture. Wellington Mines 10 min walk. Other WW I sites by taxi (e.g. Vimy Ridge).
The staff were great and very accommodating but not much can substitute for a good night sleep. The room was nice and big for a family of four (teenage kids) but unbearable hot, and A/C did not work. Opening the windows in late July doesn't help much and then of course the outside noises are easily heard (across from square and train station). We checked out the next morn and went to the Holiday Inn Express -- had to book two rooms but the A/C worked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Northern England

One night only

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Space, Staff, ambience.
Cons: Restaurant on a weekend, but that's France.
Location: Location next to the train station, but didn't hear trains. Large open space with fountains over the road. Perfect for WW1 tours of the British sector
Stayed overnight between 2 other destinations, but should have made it a longer stay. Everything was first class, couldn't fault it, as long as you are aware of a common French practice of no restaurant on a weekend. Plenty of others within walking distance though, so no real problem. Room excellent, spacious and spotlessly clean. Will probably go back for a longer stay.
3 out of 5
by B from Belgium

Hotel Angleterre

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Big room.
Cons: Update the decor.
Location: Arras is attractive town with plenty of WW1 sites around.
Hotel a little shabby but not very chic. Was not too sure about mouse trap spotted under a door. Opposite train station. Parking is in municipal, underground car park complete with used syringes. Rooms are spacious if a little old fashioned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel very convenient to Canadian War memorials

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Excellent reception staff who had helpful tips for getting around. Good rooms and service. Located in a wonderful town. Close to Canadian war graves and Vimy. a very meaningful trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Everything was acceptable and the location is excellent.
Cons: Coffee maker in the room would be really nice.
Location: Vimy Ridge and Wellington Mines
We arrived in Arras specifically to go to the Vimy Memorial and the Wellington Mines. The hotel is perfectly located and given it is across from the train station you'd never know it. It is very quiet and though a tad old and tired looking it was clean and comfortable. There was a fridge in the room but would have liked a coffee machine. For a quick stay it was adequate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice old world hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: staff was very friendly and hotel had warm feeling
Great comfort and convenience. Clean rooms and very nice breakfast. We had 4 adults and stayed in the one large suite. It was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Norwich, UK

A little dated, but still nice.

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Pros: It's location to the centre of Arras.
Cons: I think the bathroom is in need of refurbishment. In fact, the hotel could benefit from quite a lot of modernising.
Hôtel d'Angleterre is a lovely hotel overlooking the plaza outside the train station. I was a little worried that trains might keep us awake but not at all. I didn't hear one! Our room was perfecly clean and neat. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired and dated BUT clean and well looked after none the less... The hotel staff were very accommodating and patient with my basic French skills. They definitely spoke English better than I spoke French so we got there in the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lyle from Montreal

Well located hotel, near restaurants, parking.

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Location and large room.
Location: Close to restaurants and city square.
Excellent room. Efficient check-in and out. Found a good restaurant, Bistro du Boucher, nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by John from West Midlands

needs a kettle

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
excellent although slightly dated hotel. Why no kettle for tea/coffee in room? Dont hoteliers ever listen to their clients. curtains wouldnt close correctly so room lit up during the night. Station is directly opposite the hotel but no noise. owner/managers very friendly and helpful alas restaurant closed so no evening meal or breakfast and we got soaked walking to get a meal in the evening. Wifi free and good reception. Soft bed and pillows so not comfortable for us. However would return for stopover if in area.