Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Cons: The bath mat was filthy and had mold on it.
Beds could be more comfortable. It was OK for one night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Ca.

Good location, but very disappointing.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Only positive was the location.
Cons: Everything could be. Rooms were dirty. Found a big bug on the bathroom floor, carpet had not been cleaned well. Dirt caked on in bathroom. Rooms old .
Location: Near the mall.
First time in Portland, so picked this one which was right behind Maine Mall. Terribly disappointing. Did not feel safe . Rooms were dirty and smelled damp and smokey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cook

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Did not feel that safe door was about off its hinge not that clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Disappointed

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: It's proximity to where friends were staying.
Cons: Serious consideration should be given to outer appearance as well as the overcrowded, small accommodations. Furniture was lined up along the wall.
Location: Adjacent to Maine Mall with many shops....also highrise hotel we will consider next time.
We have stayed at Econo Lodges in the past but were disappointed this time. The motel looked tired and dated. There was too much furniture in a small room and it was hard to navigate. Overall, cramped and dated would be our rating. We will not be recommending this particular location to friends headed to the Scarborough/Portland Maine area. The owners need to do some upgrades to appearance within as well as outside. Because of our disappointment, we opted to leave without going for breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

For a one night stay, the place served well enough

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location: Go to the Portland Museum of Art!! Very friendly, open, thoughtful place. Great art.
Good location - a 10 minute cab ride out of Portland. The curtain rod was held up tenuously, there was some decay in one area oft he bathroom and the toilet needs to be better secured. Basic amenities, small room but clean, very quiet and the bed wasn't bad. A little more attention to decor and maintenance and the place would be a real good find. As it is, it's ok - and especially from the perspective that this was high season in Portland, hotel space is insufficient for number of tourists and, except for this place, Econolodge, the prices were exorbitant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from little Rock, Ar

You get for what you pay for

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Room dirty. Furniture rearranged. Person at front desk was very nice, but wasn't dressed that way. Cheap price, old hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qu├ębec

Nice hotel, easy access!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Nice hotel, comfortable bed and easy access to highway. The breakfast was good but not enough choices. Good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Everything we needed.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and very pleasant staff.
Cons: Outside landscaping and condition of staircases and exterior.
Location: close to shopping, highway, Old Port and downtown Portland.
Mostl important, the room was clean, bed comfortable, shower worked and had good pressure and hot water. It included a microwave, small frig, soaps and shampoo, wifi and light breakfast. Totally suited our needs for one night. Conveniently located to shopping Maine Mall and downtown Portland and sites.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Clean but run down.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Desk staff was friendly and generally helpful.
Cons: The building needs some real work updating and repairing the defects. Even the televisions in the room were old CRT models, not flat panels.
Location: Near airport and they provide shuttle service to and from the airport.
Stayed one night at Econo-Lodge just off the airport at Portland, MN. The room we were given had an air conditioning unit that was inoperative and the desk clerk did give us another room. The door of that first room showed evidence of being kicked in at one point, with the door frame damaged and not properly repaired. Even our second room, though better than the first, left a lot to be desired. Shower rod sank and shower curtain was too small. The room, which had two double beds, was small and crowded. The breakfast which was provided was cereal and breads (small sweet rolls, bagels, English muffins. There was no fruit available. The two juice containers had ice in a central canister int he juice contained which never cooled the juice, since the dispensers were only half-filled. This is a one star motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Out of the way

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a hotel that is set back off the road so it is quiet and not within walking distance to much. Luckily everything is pretty much driving distance anyways so no big deal. Hotels smells kind of musty and maintenance could use some work. Overall a cheap low budget hotel.