Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Horrible rooms!!!!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
When we first arrived to the room safe and refrigerator were not working and staff made us wait over an hour before having the problem fixed. After this incident things became a little better but not enough to recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

A Very Good Value

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Animation staff - great team, fun, hard-working. Property/rooms - cleaner than most that we've been to. Beach - clean and safe.
Cons: Towels weren't always available to everyone, but wasn't a major issue. Food became a bit mundane, but there's something for everyone to eat.
Location: I would recommend the catamaran/snorkeling pkg (see Hector on the beach). I would NOT recommend the dune buggy/go cart excursion...dirty, breakdowns.
We traveled with 10 total adults, and stayed from 1/9 through 1/16/15. We were given a room very close to the nightly entertainment area, which concerned us a bit at first, but it turned out to actually be more of a convenience than anything (e.g. going back to the room for sunblock, etc). The rooms we cleaner than many we have stayed at throughout the Caribbean/Mexico and lacked that musty smell that I very much despise (Yeah!). The property is well maintained, pools were sizable, and the ocean was only a short walk from the rooms. We did have some issue getting towels the first day, but got them every morning thereafter. The Animation crew (Anna, Pedro, Coca Cola, etc.) were hard-working and lots of fun. We weren't pressured by 'time share' salespeople at all and found the food to be satisfactory (Rafael was waiter #1!). Oh, and the drinks were good too (thanks Franklin and others!). The beach vendors will buzz you most of the day, but a friendly "no gracias" is all you need. They work hard too...and I offered them water frequently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

very nice hotel

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: very nice entrance and the pool. Staff was well dressed and very attentive.
Cons: Rooms TV and closets lights be fixed. They should have lanterns for the mosquitos.
Location: location is great near many clubs and casinos.
my room was located too close to the swimming pool. My room did not have the led lights i saw in the picture of flat TV, was a little disappointed. However, was still nice and clean and was a villa. My friend had the room just as the picture in one of the building, very well decorated. Staff was great and service was great. Food was also very good. Entertainment was OK, however, i went outside for entertainment. Very romantic environment if reserved.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arkansas

Great cheap all inclusive

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Everything was great. This was my second time here and the hotel didn't let us down. However the reception staff did lose my reservation and ran my father in law off after they repeatedly refused to work w/ us on a solution. We had 8 rooms rented and they wouldn't let us add a paying customer to a room w/ only 1 occupant. Rusdel Acosta has terrible customer service skills.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New jersey

Reservation inconvenience

Posted Jan 5, 2015
I made Reservation two months before my stayed and when I got to the hotel I was told they were over book and I had to stay for the first night at another hotel next door..they gave me a romantic dinner at the beech to compensate. I was told by a manager that the dinner included lobster in it was a $150 dinner. Turns out lobster was not included nor the good stuff on the menu.. the setting was very nice so I ended up spending $50.on the dinner. I felt tricked.. I made my reservation on Expedia as always. But some how this was a disadvantage to them at least that's what they made me feel. Overall I would not recommend this hotel based on that inconvenience. They are to many hotel's in Dominican Republic lots of competition.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its NOT All-inclusive

Posted Dec 31, 2014
We stayed in this resort for 3 nights and it was disappointing... First, it is not all-inclusive at all. There is an extra charge for Wi-Fi, even though it is listed on the website "Free Wifi". There is also an extra charge for using the safety box in the room. And extra charge for room service and local call. So don't be fooled. Second, there is not much food selection on the menu. All three restaurants have very limited items. Last, don't book the tours in the resort by the pool side. We booked a Paradise Island Tour with lobster lunch, but NO lobster. Our Waterfall Tour was $20 more than other people. So take time to compare the price before you book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Lovely adult only resort steps from the beach.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and up beat, the beach was truly beautiful, the ocean was warm and great for swimming, food was good and abundant.
Location: The location was very close to the airport which was nice. It is also right on the beach which was a real plus.
Blue Bay Hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The grounds were lovely and lush and very well kept up and clean. The room, though a bit small, was clean and more than adequate for our needs (we were at the beach most of the time and rarely in our room). The staff was so friendly and helpful and they all went out of their way to make our vacation truly memorable and wonderful. We were there over x-mas and the hotel worked hard to make this a very festive occasion. Food was good and abundant, beach was beautiful and great for swimming and relaxing and activities were a lot of fun (if you choose to participate). We also felt very safe at this resort since there was a guard on the beach and on hotel grounds at all times and it is part of a gated community. The Dominican Republic is a lovely island and Blue Bay is a great representation of its beauty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Room not like the pictures. Staff amazing

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Standard room was not much to talk about. Certainly nothing like the pictures. The facilities and the entire staff from management to maintenance were simply amazing. They have a VIP section at the hotel but the staff treats everyone the same. Friendly and eager to make sure you are enjoying your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but staff not the best

Posted Dec 24, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for three days in December. The hotel facilites, food, pool were all great. We loved the sauna. There were just a few things we didn't like. There were never beach towels when we needed them, the staff seemed more friendly and helpful towards the foreigners ( I am a foreigner but could pass for local and my husband is local). Compared to other hotels we have been to, this is the poorest treatment we have received from staff. The other thing was that the room only had one funtioning lamp/bedside plug and the water in the shower was not as hot as it should have been. Other than these few things, we enjoyed the hotel and got a well deserved rest. However, I don't think I will go back there because of the inferior we received.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Resort for older adults and business professionals

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The Japanese restaurant on the resort has great food.
Cons: Need new wash cloths and towels DAILY.
Location: Excursions were fun---mega extreme: horseback riding, waterfalls, and zip lining.
The entertainment employees at the resort tried to force me to write a positive review before my stay was over. The staff is overbearing. It would be nicer if they just let you enjoy your vacation. Younger couples may prefer to go to Punta Cana.