Ratings based on 263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great hotel but problem with dishonest employee!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The beautiful landscaping, gardens, pool, beach, etc. Also the wonderful restaurants, great food and the nightly entertainment.
Cons: Change DO NOT DISTURB signs to DO NOT ENTER. Shower door had no track to keep the door shut thigh and the floor always got wet when we showered.
Location: We were at the "Adults Only" section and we loved it. The pool, ocean and restaurants were the highlight of our trip because they were so peaceful!!!
Everything was wonderful until about the third day when someone entered our room while the "DO NOT DISTURB" was clearly on our door. We were out of our room every night from 7:00 to 11:00 PM. We spoke to the night manager and we assumed that the issue was all taken care of because he sent the security man to take pictures of the sign on our door and the beach towels left on our dresser, towels which we did NOT request. But, it happened again the day after! Someone entered again for "turn down service" even though we ABSOLUTELY DID NOT REQUEST IT and the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign was clearly on the door. Contacted the night manager again and 2 different managers actually came up to our room. They were aware of the incident from the previous night and they assured us that it won't happen again. We politely stressed to the managers on both nights that if we place the sign on the door our wishes should be respected and nobody should enter our room. Our understanding was that DO NOT DISTURB also means DO NOT ENTER. All 3 managers agreed!!! Beware and lock everything up in your safe and luggage because some employees do not respect your wishes. We felt violated and on top of that, the employee lied twice and claimed that we requested the beach towels and the turn down service. We asked the managers to show us proof that we made those 2 requests, either by phone request or in writing and they said they had none.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from naples, fl

Nice hotel very good experience

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Everything
It was such a great experience everything was great the people, the grounds were beautiful, the food everything was great I will recommended to a friend and will come back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great hotel for the price

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Most everything!
Location: We mostly stayed on the resort.
I admit that after reading some of the more negative reviews I was apprehensive about staying at the Grand Bahia Bavaro resort. However, I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival and during my stay. Yes, the hotel is HUGE. However, it is made to feel smaller and more manageable with the way it is set up. We had a great pool, a pool bar, restaurant and entertainment right outside our villa. The beach was at least half a mile away, but we just walked to the nearby lobby area and caught the bus to the beach area where we enjoyed all the activities on the beach, snack and pool bars. The food was typical resort food, but had enough variety to appease even the pickiest eater. We stayed 5 nights and dined at two a la carte restaurants....Le Gourmet was the absolute best, lobster and filet mignon. The service at Mikada was slow and that was the only negative of our vacation. English speaking resort employees were limited, but hey most folks only speak English at American establishments...so I was ok with staff speaking their native language. I had no problem getting an extra towel when needed or beach towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Very friendly staff! Awesome place to vacation!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The staff and the food!
Cons: They could have informed us more about activities
Location: There are nearby casinos, nightclubs, water and sport activities, spas, and shows to attend
The resort was beautiful! The staff there are friendly and very interactive. The night life is just as fun and perfect for all ages. The beach is clean and the water is clear; this place is picture perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Love this hotel the location is right on the beach, with 2 restaurants and 2 bars so no need to ever leave the beach or pool area. The room was ok, bed was not comfortable super hard. Phone in room did not work had to ask 3x to get it fixed. Food was ok. Entertainment was excellent in the theaters, beach and pool areas. Drinks super sweet could not taste the alcohol at all had to ask for double shots. Overall okay not excellent. Price For Excursion Was super expensive. In DR they make their money on tourist, for such a poor country it was too expensive b they charge USA prices for everything, no deals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westchester ny

Great Vacation

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We arrived at the Bahia Principe around 1130 because our flight got in late so it was dark. We had a hard time finding our way around because of the sheer size of the resort. However. The next day was filled with sunshine and making our way around was quite easy! The entire resort is spotless, not a piece of trash or cigarette butt visible. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The only thing i did not like about the room was that the mattress was a bit too firm for me. The food was delicious. The word buffet may scare some people but the food is always fresh and very tasty. There are bars all over the resort so finding a drink is very simple. Plenty of pools to choose from and the beach was absolutely incredible. Although there was a slight language barrier, the entire staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly reccomend this resort to everyone and will definitely be going back next year!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from r. hickory hills , il

Beautiful

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Most beautiful place to go to. Everyone is so so nice all the waiter were nice. Very nice resort, so much to do and see the beach was beautiful as well But it is a very very big resort be prepared to walk a lot .. they do have little buses to take you where you would like to go but walking around would be the best experience. The only think that really made of a little mad was the girl the worked in guest services her name was Dahria we went to reserve a dinner with her and she kept rolling her eyes at every thing I had to say and was not very helpful she seemed like she didn't care about anything..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
This is our 2nd year staying at the Grand Bahia. We absolutely LOVE it there! The staff is beyond accommodating. Jonathan & Rudy at the front desk are wonderful! We will continue to visit our "home away from home" in DR.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great Getaway

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Beautiful hotel . Nice staff . Thanks to Elkin and Dosantos from the snack bar and Las olas BBQ for the excellent service.We definitely will be back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Poor service, decent Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The beach is great! Some of the shows were very good (Michael Jackson show, the Circus). The housekeepers were very nice and accommodating.
Cons: Service, day entertainment, music (no music anywhere except for a few minutes a day!), availability of beach towels, service, did I say SERVICE?.
Location: The location is great, I wouldn't venture outside the hotel.
We stayed the week of July 27 to August 1, 2014. Not sure why I did not read this in any of the reviews but at least during this week, the main buffet of the Bavaro section (Bungavillia?) smelled like sewer! Same smell at the Natural Preserve located in the middle of the resort. If you live in Florida, think of the smell of well water (sulfur). The food quality was just ok, usually meats were hard and flavorless, and the service is very poor, even when you generously tip the waiters. It used to be that additional tipping would buy you good service. In talking to the waiters you find out that very few people tip them in cash as tips are included in your Hotel rate. Here is a point of reference: A waiter makes about US$35 per week (working 5 days), we tipped them (cash) US $3.00 to $5.00 per seating, tried to interact with the waiters and be friendly, never picky or unreasonable, never demanding, we talked to them in Spanish - and we still got very poor service. Very disappointing.