Ratings based on 362 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was an OK hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Clean room, Nice beach.
Cons: More things to do at the resort would be better. We got bored.
Location: Nice location in relation to the beach. Nice beach. Not close to things to access easily.
Upon our arrival, there was not much direction. We did not realize that there were 4 parts to the hotel. Half of it you could not attend those restaurants or beach area unless you paid extra. With that said, it was not worth the extra pay at that. Our room was nice. It was clean and we had just a minor air conditioning problem which they quickly fixed. Food, well, it certainly was not great. I understand making a mass amount of food is a challenge, but with that said when you spend a lot of money to be there, the food should be somewhat good. It was very disappointing. You are allowed to make up to 3 reservations at the listed restaurants. 2 of the restaurants we went to had decent food. but that was dinner for only 2 nights. And the food at most of the restaurants were just like the buffet. Excursions cost are about 95 a person. I expected that. We did 2 of them and they were good. One was a ATV trail with stops. The other one was a tour of the country and how they make cocoa beans, coffee beans, etc. Outside of that, when you are at the resort, there really isn't much to do there. They did not have much of anything to do to keep yourself entertained. The beach is nice. We walked the beach a ways and enjoyed the water and scenery. I would unfortunately not recommend this hotel or the Riu according to Riu guests we talked to while down there. FYI
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom long island ny

The staff don't want to speak English and help you

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Food
Cons: Better service and security
Location: Nothing
The unfriendly staff that it is hard to approach. We got rubbed and heard many of the other rooms complaining about it. When we talked to manager he said he never heard about stealing in this hotel. The safe in the room wasn't working. The phone wasn't working. The reservation for the resturant was hard to make by our choice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
They were always out of towels for the pool, they were always out of coffee cups in the lobby. The staff was not very well versed in languages other than Spanish and they were is also quite a lot of staff willing to sell excursions but not replenish coffee cups or towels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis,IN

Fun hotel but needs more entertainment options

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Pools were great. Staff was awesome though some could not understand a bit of english. Grounds were exemplary.
Cons: Evening entertainment was not good at all. Everything closed too early to have fun after 1030pm.
Overall we had fun. Weather was good and the facility is massive so expect to walk A LOT!! There is not much to do after 1030 or 11pm and the disco opens at midnight until 2am which is also ridiculous. Pools are very very nice and the bar staff is awesome. Beer is not good at all and tastes like they haven't cleaned the lines in years. Drink options other than beer are fantastic and very tasty. Food is good at the buffet though sometimes its cold and is repetitive which is the way any resort buffet is. Le Gourmet is good but expect to be there for 2 hrs. Service was so very slow and options are very limited. BBQ option was a joke and is basically a buffet you had to get a reservation for and the mexican was the best. Plenty of shopping options on the grounds and the trams were used extensively since the facility has 5 resorts on it. Good times by our group but probably would not go back again at least not to this one.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

dirty rooms,long way from beach!

Posted Jan 31, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Communication, Cleaning,
Location: We didn't have much help in that area, with booking day trips.
We were very dissatisfied, the beach was along way from our room. We could not use the whole resort, limited to certain areas. Rooms were dirty. Our friends had cockroaches in their room, and the ceiling was leaking from the toilet up stairs. Poor communication, not told about the things that are offered at the resort. Some areas smelled like sewage. Only a few friendly employes. Not worth the price we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
It is a really big resort full of activities lots of pools and nightlife.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte

Grand Bahia Bavaro

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Beach, pool, pool bartenders
Cons: Buffet food gets old, towel guy pretty cranky, room slow to be cleaned, HUGE property!
Location: N/A
We went for a 40th birthday celebration as a couple. We enjoyed ourselves, but I would not stay there again. Pro's - the Dominican Republic is pretty and the weather was great for us, clean room, a la carte steakhouse was good (make reservations upon arrival!), common area maintenace is top notch!, Las Olas beach snackbar - location was great and baked chicken was good (this first 4 times we had it) Con's - the place is HUGE, over 7000 guests were there - walking or shuttles, staff doesn't make eye contact, room wasn't cleaned until later in the day if at all (we had to call once just to get towels and water, buffet gets old FAST and the room smells odd. I read the reviews before I booked it, and our stay was consistent with what I had read. Some people have loved it and others were just so, so. I stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro 2 years ago and would book that over the Grand Bahia ANY DAY!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Overall it wasn't bad

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Overall we had a good time and enjoyed the close proximity to the beach. The food was just ok (Barbeque Buffet was the best) but the resort staff was friendly. The bed in our room was hard as a rock which made it very uncomfortable to sleep. Wash clothes must be a hot commodity there because they will not give them to you without asking. The same goes for a floor towel for the shower. The room had a cold feeling and was dark. The irons don't work, we asked for a few. The resort is huge but the shuttle service is great so you don't have to worry about a ton of walking. There is a bit of a language barrier with the staff but you will make due just fine. The next time I visit I will try another resort but we still had a great time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel, very clean and impressive

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Loved the resort. Very clean and tidy. Employees very friendly and helpful. Nice entertainment in theater and lobby. Welcoming place to socialize
Cons: I did have to ask questions about making dinner reservations and getting a safe. I think they should have offered this information when I checked in
Location: Great location on the beach. Fun excursions available in the area. Otherwise we didn't leave the hotel.
We had a wonderful time. Loved the atmosphere, the resort , and the people. Definitely a relaxing and fun vacation. Hard to leave, definitely recommend going to the resort and I would return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Nice resort

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: The staff and how friendly and willing they were to help you.
Cons: A little stronger drinks, pool opened a little longer, better food
Location: We did horseback riding and jeep tour. Jeep tour was okay, horseback riding on the beach awesome
Nice resort, can get lost easy enough, needs more night life activities not much to do after 9. Did not like the pushy souvenir shop salespeople, did find one shop that had prices on things and she made us feel welcomed in her store in the Tropican area. Pool closes at 6, been nice if opened a little longer. Food was average especially the buffets, not sure what kind of bacon but hard to chew and food was always warm if not cold. The Dominican restraunt was awesome, I didn't care for there food so Julio took me to the buffet and brought my plate back so I could eat with my spouse and friends who enjoyed there food. They kept the beach nice and clean, didn't check any of the water activities. All in all nice resort, friendly staff easy to understand.