Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami

nice, but not the best we have enioy.

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: The hotel grounds are very well kept, the food was overall pretty decent and the battler ladies were very helpful and accomodating.
Cons: The air conditioner on all the restaurants should be kept at a much lower temperature.
Location: We did not visit any of the surrounding areas outside of the complex.
the room we stayed on, which happens to be one of the better ones, was a little too far from the beach. the beach area was nice, but in the ocean and the edge of the beach were pretty full of sea weeds most of the time, at least at this time of the year. some of the service personnel was great and others slack. our experiences with the Expedia's sponsor "BLUE" transportation and tour agency was by far not the best. they screw up what airline we were coming in and departing on, so they gave us the run around and pick us up late for our Santo Domingo tour, in addition their agent rep. Mayreni, located in our chain hotel Palladium Royal Suite Turquesa, did not keep up on time appointments, was rude and kept blaming some body else for her inconsistencies and short comings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
It was a very pleasant trip and the accommodations met all my expectations
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2015 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for preferring The Royal Suites Turquesa and for your time sharing your experience through Expedia. It is a pleasure for us to know that we fulfilled your expectations. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015
the only thing they need to improve is the air conditioner in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2015 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your time sharing your experience with us through Expedia. We appreciate your feedback about the Air Conditioner system, it is very important for us to know from our guests how we can improve the quality of our services. We hope to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Adults only all-inclusive on the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The staff here is some of the friendliest I have come across in my travels. everyone is usually smiling or humming a tune.
Cons: The quality/choices of the food at the restaurants could be improved. The seafood restaurant was closed while we were there, so choices were limited
Location: We went a nice Jeep safari excursion, where we were able to drive our own Jeep and have local fruits, chocolate, coffee and coconut.
This was our second time to this particular resort. They had done some refurbishing of some of the buildings since the last time we were there, which was nice. One of the restaurants was under renovation, so the choices for food were somewhat limited. The staff here were all really friendly, just like the last time we visited. The beaches were OK; a little more seaweed and less beach than I remember from before.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2015 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Eric, We would like to thank you for having chosen once again The Royal Suites Turquesa and for your time sharing your experience with future travelers through Expedia. Thank you for your kind words. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you during your third visit with us. Kind regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Swim up rooms

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: I loved the swim up rooms, grounds were beautiful, and rooms were nice and cold.
Cons: The beds were pretty hard and although the rooms were cold, it was better than being too hot.
We stayed in the swim up rooms which was really nice. Short walk to the adult only beach and there is a swim up bar and large pool along the way. Most of the staff was really nice and pleasant, except at a couple of the swim up bars. Rude, really. The food was typical buffet selection. BBQ on the beach was beautiful experience, again food was okay. We had reservations for a Chinese restaurant but our Butler neglected to tell us it had a dress code, long pants for the men. Also, just about every night someone would knock on the door around 9:30 asking if we needed towel, pillows, or if your frig was okay. And if you didn't answer they would let themselves in. It happened to the couple we were with too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't usually write reviews, disappointed

Posted Jul 24, 2015
I don't usually write reviews but this is no 5 star hotel, I should have listened to the bad reviews. Food is not good at all, there were ants all over the bathroom counter, our shower was broken twice, bathtub water would not go down. We had a swim up suite, had to call everyday sometimes twice to tell them to clean the pool it was always dirty. Also tiles all up on our swim up water. Also ocean is not nice, it is not on the Caribbean side so the water is not blue. Will not be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Very nice hotel & grounds close to the beach.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
We really enjoyed our beautiful room and upkeep of the grounds. Our butler Oscar was great and really made my birthday special with room decor. The food was less to be desired but many options. I preferred room service burgers and fries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Firstly, I would like to thank you for preferring The Royal Suites Turquesa and for your time sharing your experience through Expedia. We appreciate your feedback and we would like to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations about our Food offer. We will forward your kind words to Oscar. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. With kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Beautiful facility!

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Amazing rooms, pools. Bars are great including swim-up. Beach compares to Negril Jamaica (that's a good thing). Room service food was great.
Cons: Butler service - never there, didn't answer phones...no benefit from them. Restaurant staff lacked, not much attention to detail. Need more night life
Location: Saona Island, Reef Explorer, Dune Boogie. Domincan people are gracious. Go into town. Barter with beach vendors.
Can't beat Punta Cana/Bavaro area. Beautiful beach. The Royal Suites Turquesa Adults-only rooms are amazing. I've stayed in a lot of different resorts, and this had the best room (we chose swim-up) by far. Food was disappointing at the Turquesa, but was great at the rest of the Palladium. Over the years going to the Dominican, I see them abandoning more of their traditional food and trying to please the other cultures. But honestly, the best food we had was an excursion to Saona island (a must see) where we had grilled fish and chicken with rice and beans. The Turquesa in June was low key. No social director, and not much happening at night for a 30-something crowd. Disco at the Palladium was disappointing. If you are wanting a quieter trip, spend time with your significant other, go here. If you want a younger, more social experience, this may not be for you. If you're from the U.S., get used to the food not being like it is at home. You're in another country... It was tough getting around, golf carts everywhere, but they'd only stop if you stepped out in front of them. Palladium is so big it takes awhile to go anywhere. Still a beautiful place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

There's a lot to see and do if you research...

Posted Jun 14, 2015
We read reviews about rooms being musty and only ham sandwiches at the pool available for lunch. Yes the rooms are slightly musty but let's face it, your in a humid climate. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. As far as limited lunch options, we ventured about 50 ft out of the audlt only beach area and found the Paella guy making Paella everyday, right on the beach next to a beach hut bar!!! That was great! We are beach people and enjoyed the beach daily, there was a few days that due to tides the seaweed washed in. No biggie. I did wish there were a few more huts available for shelter from the sun. Pools were clean and nice. The only issue we had was communication. There was def a communication barrier, as we know very little Spanish. Half the fun was trying to figure out how to get what we needed but also having a sense of humor when we didnt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted May 28, 2015
It was a wonderful stay staff was very attentive but rhe food needs an upgrade.