Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Nice resort, hard beds, awesome amenities & beach

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: The beach, pools, size of the room, and service.
Cons: The food. It was not good for the most part, with the exception of the Mexican restaurant.
Location: Location is great. 20 minute ride from airport. Beaches and pools are top notch. No reason to leave the resort.
Hotel and staff were great. Our Butlers David and Julio were good. Room was great, except the smoke being pumped in when we turned on the AC and the very hard beds. Swin up suites are the way to go. Beach was amazing, as were the pools. Lots of pool bars and even service on the beach. Restaurants were nice, but food was average to poor. Love the stocked mini-bar. High end sprits and Presidente/Budweiser beer. No reason to leave the resort. Check in was a pain. Make sure you print out your reservation before you get there. There are 4 different Palladium resorts all together and the property is enormous. Beach vendors will harass you once you step off the resort property, and their prices to be higher than the hotel gift shop. All in all a great property.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, PA

Not what we expected.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: The property was beautiful and the gardening spectacular. Right on the beach with chairs there & at the pools, just get 'em early 'cause they go fast.
Cons: People could be friendlier and things easier to figure out.
Location: We honestly only had 5 days so didn't leave the property. Not too much at night to do but drink.
We were very excited after seeing all that this hotel had to offer but became quickly disappointed after our arrival. Their arrival procedure is quite chaotic & we entered the hotel lobby without so much as a hello. Their reception didn't appear like a check in desk. Our room wasn't ready for 2 hours after it should have been. They just kept saying, go have another drink. Most of the ancillary people are quite friendly, gardeners, housekeepers, but many of the direct contact folks are not. They can barely smile and often act as though they are doing you a favor by waiting on you. The butler system is supposed to be your contact for things. Each small building has it's own butler & that's who is to arrange your reservations & answer questions. Ours had only been at the resort for 1 week & when I asked about something she said she didn't know but never came back with an answer. We NEVER saw her again or any butler in our building the entire time we were there. There is no explanation about how the restaurants work and people are very put out when you ask questions. Can they put the directions in the menu or at the door?! It's a very confusing system. And try finding something to eat at lunchtime, it's 2 resorts over. The entertainment was never listed anywhere, you had to either trust your butler knew (remember, we never saw ours) or you asked someone. Oh, and buck up on your Spanish, very little English on the island or hotel. We would never return to this island orPalladium
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Great stay, needs a bit updating but enjoyed our entire experience. Will go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York NY

Nice resort, not spectacular

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Adults only, no kids running around. Lovely pools (new one was so nice!), lovely beach. Hotel rooms were nice.
Cons: The service was not impressive. They were friendly and smiled at us, but in the end did nothing special to help. Was expecting more.
Location: Did not leave the resort.
This is a fine resort, I was just expecting more. When we checked in, we were told we could not make dinner reservations until the next morning. The next morning, options were slim. We could not get into the most recommended restaurant at all. When we did show up for our reservations each night, the staff seemed surprised and not ready for our group. We would wait an additional 15-20 minutes for them to get our table ready, even though the restaurants were nearly empty. This happened every night. The food overall was not good. The best was the Mediterranean restaurant. The rest of the food and buffets were below average. Food also seemed not readily available. If you got hungry at the beach or the pool, options were slim. You could go back to the buffet, get a slimy sandwich from a refrigerator, have a few items on a toothpick from the lobby, or go to a beach bbq that seemed just dirty. I was expecting food available everywhere, or for food to be able to be delivered to your location, as they promote 24 hour room service. Also, our butler really did nothing for us. We asked one day for the special pillows, which he promised to deliver, but never did. The staff was very friendly, talkative, and smiled a lot, but did nothing special. You had to grab pool or beach chairs by 7 or 8 am or you were out of luck. Overall, we had a great time because we just wanted to sit on a beach, drink, and eat. But, I was less impressed than reviews had predicted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice DR Hotel, Great Beach Area, So-So Food

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Swim-up rooms, beach
Cons: The food
Location: Tons of resorts nearby, beach, scuba/snorkeling, parasailing
Swim up rooms were incredibly awesome, as was the beach, but the food was definitely hit-or-miss. Rooms were very clean but beds weren't the most comfortable. They do offer a pillow selection service, however. Room service takes literally forever. Staff was very nice, but parts of the hotel may need updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful pool, fabulous bars, nice beach with bar service.
Really fabulous pools and beach. The property is really beautiful. The staff was great. I had a hard time with some of the food, which was the only downside to this place. There is a market within the compound so everything was super convenient. We had a really relaxing vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, ON Canada

The most gorgeous beach ever!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Swim up room and the privacy.
Cons: Staff friendliness and helpfulness.
Location: We went golfing which was absolutely amazing too! DR is a beautiful place to visit.
We had a swim-up room which made a world of difference. Highly recommended! The beach was the cleanest, purest water ever and absolutely took my breath away. The staff isn't as friendly and helpful as other places I've been but the resort was a gem of a find!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities and beach but bad food

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Lots of choices and the rooms were very nice.
Cons: Food needs a major overhaul and they could def step their drink game up.
Location: We didn't leave the resort. Beach, pools, food, drink is all there on site.
Overall it was a good hotel/experience. Our biggest concern with the food. The regular non-reservation restaurants had pretty bad food even for an all-inclusive. That being said, we got reservations after the first night and had very good food at the Japanese grill and the steak house (we went to each twice). We had a swim up room which was even more awesome than I expected. Worth extra ten dollars for sure. Room was really nice and only complaint is that the mattress was really hard. Beach was really nice but also crowded. I would say that food is biggest drawback but hotel was nice as was all the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

A Must Do! I Can't Wait To Return

Posted Nov 10, 2014
But for the maid who washed our used glasses in the basin and dried them with a bath towel and the majority of the Royal Gourmet staff who pretty much neglected/ignored us 4 of the 5 times we ate there, the resort would have gotten all 5s. We could not help but notice that our "fairer skinned" compadres were attended to much more quickly. Worth mentioning for their EXCELLENT service, our butler Estaban, Charlyn, the reception supervisor and Nigel, the bellboy. Throughout our entire stay they were consistently wonderful. At La Steakhouse, Melanie, Pedro and Elvin were fantastic....the steak was superb too! At Bohio, Juan at the pasta bar and Yoquelin, our server, were wonderful. I've travelled to many countries and resorts in Mexico, Aruba and Bahamas...I will definitely look for Palladium resorts from now on....the Royal Suites Resort is IT. Specifics: The food was great throughout (french, brazilian and the steakhouse)...not a bad bite in the place. The food at the Royal Gourmet was great. The spa was magnificent and the facilities pristine. Had a "Royal" massage.....80 minutes of bliss! The complex is huge, but can catch rides throughout. The beach was wonderful...lots of chairs, huts and beds. Only suggestions for improvement: better drink service on the beach and provide wifi access to all resorts when guest check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luciafrom Spain

Nice hotel, pleasant stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Royal Suites Turquesa(RST) for 2 weeks in October and the whole stay was very pleasant - the accommodation was nice (we had the swim-up room), the food has improved since we were here last time (which was 2 years ago), all the staff were very friendly. The only thing that let it down a bit was that the main pool (that was only available for the guests of RST) was closed for reconstruction and therefore was unusable.