Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York NY

Nice resort, not spectacular

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Adults only, no kids running around. Lovely pools (new one was so nice!), lovely beach. Hotel rooms were nice.
Cons: The service was not impressive. They were friendly and smiled at us, but in the end did nothing special to help. Was expecting more.
Location: Did not leave the resort.
This is a fine resort, I was just expecting more. When we checked in, we were told we could not make dinner reservations until the next morning. The next morning, options were slim. We could not get into the most recommended restaurant at all. When we did show up for our reservations each night, the staff seemed surprised and not ready for our group. We would wait an additional 15-20 minutes for them to get our table ready, even though the restaurants were nearly empty. This happened every night. The food overall was not good. The best was the Mediterranean restaurant. The rest of the food and buffets were below average. Food also seemed not readily available. If you got hungry at the beach or the pool, options were slim. You could go back to the buffet, get a slimy sandwich from a refrigerator, have a few items on a toothpick from the lobby, or go to a beach bbq that seemed just dirty. I was expecting food available everywhere, or for food to be able to be delivered to your location, as they promote 24 hour room service. Also, our butler really did nothing for us. We asked one day for the special pillows, which he promised to deliver, but never did. The staff was very friendly, talkative, and smiled a lot, but did nothing special. You had to grab pool or beach chairs by 7 or 8 am or you were out of luck. Overall, we had a great time because we just wanted to sit on a beach, drink, and eat. But, I was less impressed than reviews had predicted.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice DR Hotel, Great Beach Area, So-So Food

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Swim-up rooms, beach
Cons: The food
Location: Tons of resorts nearby, beach, scuba/snorkeling, parasailing
Swim up rooms were incredibly awesome, as was the beach, but the food was definitely hit-or-miss. Rooms were very clean but beds weren't the most comfortable. They do offer a pillow selection service, however. Room service takes literally forever. Staff was very nice, but parts of the hotel may need updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful pool, fabulous bars, nice beach with bar service.
Really fabulous pools and beach. The property is really beautiful. The staff was great. I had a hard time with some of the food, which was the only downside to this place. There is a market within the compound so everything was super convenient. We had a really relaxing vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, ON Canada

The most gorgeous beach ever!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Swim up room and the privacy.
Cons: Staff friendliness and helpfulness.
Location: We went golfing which was absolutely amazing too! DR is a beautiful place to visit.
We had a swim-up room which made a world of difference. Highly recommended! The beach was the cleanest, purest water ever and absolutely took my breath away. The staff isn't as friendly and helpful as other places I've been but the resort was a gem of a find!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities and beach but bad food

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Lots of choices and the rooms were very nice.
Cons: Food needs a major overhaul and they could def step their drink game up.
Location: We didn't leave the resort. Beach, pools, food, drink is all there on site.
Overall it was a good hotel/experience. Our biggest concern with the food. The regular non-reservation restaurants had pretty bad food even for an all-inclusive. That being said, we got reservations after the first night and had very good food at the Japanese grill and the steak house (we went to each twice). We had a swim up room which was even more awesome than I expected. Worth extra ten dollars for sure. Room was really nice and only complaint is that the mattress was really hard. Beach was really nice but also crowded. I would say that food is biggest drawback but hotel was nice as was all the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

A Must Do! I Can't Wait To Return

Posted Nov 10, 2014
But for the maid who washed our used glasses in the basin and dried them with a bath towel and the majority of the Royal Gourmet staff who pretty much neglected/ignored us 4 of the 5 times we ate there, the resort would have gotten all 5s. We could not help but notice that our "fairer skinned" compadres were attended to much more quickly. Worth mentioning for their EXCELLENT service, our butler Estaban, Charlyn, the reception supervisor and Nigel, the bellboy. Throughout our entire stay they were consistently wonderful. At La Steakhouse, Melanie, Pedro and Elvin were fantastic....the steak was superb too! At Bohio, Juan at the pasta bar and Yoquelin, our server, were wonderful. I've travelled to many countries and resorts in Mexico, Aruba and Bahamas...I will definitely look for Palladium resorts from now on....the Royal Suites Resort is IT. Specifics: The food was great throughout (french, brazilian and the steakhouse)...not a bad bite in the place. The food at the Royal Gourmet was great. The spa was magnificent and the facilities pristine. Had a "Royal" massage.....80 minutes of bliss! The complex is huge, but can catch rides throughout. The beach was wonderful...lots of chairs, huts and beds. Only suggestions for improvement: better drink service on the beach and provide wifi access to all resorts when guest check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Knew what we were expecting

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Repeat visit so we were pretty confident about what we would be getting - that said, it would have been a courtesy for the hotel or expedia to contact us regarding the fairly extensive building works taking place...?! A great relaxing stay, some members of staff continue to shine such as Migualina in the lobby bar. Others on the front desk were indifferent and you could tell they were not interested. Our butler was Oscar and he was excellent as was Abel when covering Oscars leave. I just feel a bit cheated that it wasn't as good as before in terms of service; that special RST treatment just wasn't there this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Posted Oct 20, 2014
I got all I came for: warm ocean, good food, comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom new orleans

Windetfultime

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: We liked the swim up room
Cons: Room service
We had a wonderful time. Even though construction is still going on the grounds are beautiful. We loved the swim up. We Had trouble with room service but after our but,er called to report problem it improved. The food is ok nothing fantastic. We really enjoyed be Michael Jackson show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excelente

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Todo de maravilla, muy pero muy bueno