Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton, ON Canada

The most gorgeous beach ever!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Swim up room and the privacy.
Cons: Staff friendliness and helpfulness.
Location: We went golfing which was absolutely amazing too! DR is a beautiful place to visit.
We had a swim-up room which made a world of difference. Highly recommended! The beach was the cleanest, purest water ever and absolutely took my breath away. The staff isn't as friendly and helpful as other places I've been but the resort was a gem of a find!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good facilities and beach but bad food

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Lots of choices and the rooms were very nice.
Cons: Food needs a major overhaul and they could def step their drink game up.
Location: We didn't leave the resort. Beach, pools, food, drink is all there on site.
Overall it was a good hotel/experience. Our biggest concern with the food. The regular non-reservation restaurants had pretty bad food even for an all-inclusive. That being said, we got reservations after the first night and had very good food at the Japanese grill and the steak house (we went to each twice). We had a swim up room which was even more awesome than I expected. Worth extra ten dollars for sure. Room was really nice and only complaint is that the mattress was really hard. Beach was really nice but also crowded. I would say that food is biggest drawback but hotel was nice as was all the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

A Must Do! I Can't Wait To Return

Posted Nov 10, 2014
But for the maid who washed our used glasses in the basin and dried them with a bath towel and the majority of the Royal Gourmet staff who pretty much neglected/ignored us 4 of the 5 times we ate there, the resort would have gotten all 5s. We could not help but notice that our "fairer skinned" compadres were attended to much more quickly. Worth mentioning for their EXCELLENT service, our butler Estaban, Charlyn, the reception supervisor and Nigel, the bellboy. Throughout our entire stay they were consistently wonderful. At La Steakhouse, Melanie, Pedro and Elvin were fantastic....the steak was superb too! At Bohio, Juan at the pasta bar and Yoquelin, our server, were wonderful. I've travelled to many countries and resorts in Mexico, Aruba and Bahamas...I will definitely look for Palladium resorts from now on....the Royal Suites Resort is IT. Specifics: The food was great throughout (french, brazilian and the steakhouse)...not a bad bite in the place. The food at the Royal Gourmet was great. The spa was magnificent and the facilities pristine. Had a "Royal" massage.....80 minutes of bliss! The complex is huge, but can catch rides throughout. The beach was wonderful...lots of chairs, huts and beds. Only suggestions for improvement: better drink service on the beach and provide wifi access to all resorts when guest check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Knew what we were expecting

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Repeat visit so we were pretty confident about what we would be getting - that said, it would have been a courtesy for the hotel or expedia to contact us regarding the fairly extensive building works taking place...?! A great relaxing stay, some members of staff continue to shine such as Migualina in the lobby bar. Others on the front desk were indifferent and you could tell they were not interested. Our butler was Oscar and he was excellent as was Abel when covering Oscars leave. I just feel a bit cheated that it wasn't as good as before in terms of service; that special RST treatment just wasn't there this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Posted Oct 20, 2014
I got all I came for: warm ocean, good food, comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom new orleans

Windetfultime

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: We liked the swim up room
Cons: Room service
We had a wonderful time. Even though construction is still going on the grounds are beautiful. We loved the swim up. We Had trouble with room service but after our but,er called to report problem it improved. The food is ok nothing fantastic. We really enjoyed be Michael Jackson show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
hotel was great.Blue travel leaves much to be inspired. had to wait 3 hours for a pick up time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Luxury Resort in Punta Cana --- Royal Suites

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Size. Variety. Friendliness. Multiple-options so doing the same thing every day also came with variety. Staff has been excellent on both visits.
Cons: Knowing in advance about pool renovation. When such a major part of your stay is affected (pool/Caribbean) you should know in advance and be prepared.
Location: No comments - we don't leave resort and seek out "adventure" items. They offer the usual items such as parasailing and tours but we just beach it.
For an all-inclusive, this resort is top of the line. The Pallidum is four resorts in one and we stayed in the high end Royal Suites Turquesa for the second time. Staff is great. Grounds are lush. As a Suites person, we can use all the resorts and have exclusive use of reservations at ala carte restaurants. The buffets are fine for lunch plus there are beach grills where lunch is also prepared daily. The seafood paella was excellent. Golf carts are at your call for transportation around resort. There is a casino --- if you need that. We stayed five nights, which for us is about right. Two years ago, we had no issues but this time around we arrived to find the Royal pool closed and under renovation. This was a huge negative as we loved hanging at the adults-only bar/pool and engaging others in conversation the first time around. Plus there are no kids crowding the bar as there is at all the other pool bars. No splashing. No crying. No kids games. That was available in the pool along the swim-up rooms but it just was not the same. This does not seem to be the place for "action" needs --- we think our kids would be bored here. But not us. Even with the disappointment of the pool bar, we'd definitely go back. The room cleaning was impeccable. Restocking of our room was great. Staff extremely friendly. Ours was a time of just vegging out at the pools and/or the beach so it was mission accomplished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daysifrom Rep Dom

Excelente

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Una estancia de lujo, desde que llegamos el trato fue de primera, muy atentos, la comida muy buena y las instalaciones en excelente estado, me gusto mucho y lo recomendare.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jayfrom Mitch

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Waste of time & money

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am currently at the hotel (6/25/2014). 1) could not find my initial reservation & management offered no help. ( would not let me use the phone to place a too free call) 2) while waiting 2 couples needed to see management abt missing items from room 3) a guest called for towels and was told to come to front desk to get them 4) after I rebooked using hotels.com told me it would take 30 minutes to see email 5) they gave someone luggage to the wrong couple 6) then she tagged my luggage for the wrong room 7) like other reviews the water from shower get on floor 8) this is not a hotel or resort more like a compound or fortress too big and cumbersome . Need a golf to go any where and must wait on it to arrive 9)adults only...till u go and eat then kids everywhere 10) the foods sucks royal like the name 11) did I say no customer service and you need to speak Spanish to communicate little little English.