Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

A Must Do! I Can't Wait To Return

Posted Nov 10, 2014
But for the maid who washed our used glasses in the basin and dried them with a bath towel and the majority of the Royal Gourmet staff who pretty much neglected/ignored us 4 of the 5 times we ate there, the resort would have gotten all 5s. We could not help but notice that our "fairer skinned" compadres were attended to much more quickly. Worth mentioning for their EXCELLENT service, our butler Estaban, Charlyn, the reception supervisor and Nigel, the bellboy. Throughout our entire stay they were consistently wonderful. At La Steakhouse, Melanie, Pedro and Elvin were fantastic....the steak was superb too! At Bohio, Juan at the pasta bar and Yoquelin, our server, were wonderful. I've travelled to many countries and resorts in Mexico, Aruba and Bahamas...I will definitely look for Palladium resorts from now on....the Royal Suites Resort is IT. Specifics: The food was great throughout (french, brazilian and the steakhouse)...not a bad bite in the place. The food at the Royal Gourmet was great. The spa was magnificent and the facilities pristine. Had a "Royal" massage.....80 minutes of bliss! The complex is huge, but can catch rides throughout. The beach was wonderful...lots of chairs, huts and beds. Only suggestions for improvement: better drink service on the beach and provide wifi access to all resorts when guest check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Knew what we were expecting

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Repeat visit so we were pretty confident about what we would be getting - that said, it would have been a courtesy for the hotel or expedia to contact us regarding the fairly extensive building works taking place...?! A great relaxing stay, some members of staff continue to shine such as Migualina in the lobby bar. Others on the front desk were indifferent and you could tell they were not interested. Our butler was Oscar and he was excellent as was Abel when covering Oscars leave. I just feel a bit cheated that it wasn't as good as before in terms of service; that special RST treatment just wasn't there this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

Posted Oct 20, 2014
I got all I came for: warm ocean, good food, comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom new orleans

Windetfultime

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: We liked the swim up room
Cons: Room service
We had a wonderful time. Even though construction is still going on the grounds are beautiful. We loved the swim up. We Had trouble with room service but after our but,er called to report problem it improved. The food is ok nothing fantastic. We really enjoyed be Michael Jackson show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
hotel was great.Blue travel leaves much to be inspired. had to wait 3 hours for a pick up time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

Luxury Resort in Punta Cana --- Royal Suites

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Size. Variety. Friendliness. Multiple-options so doing the same thing every day also came with variety. Staff has been excellent on both visits.
Cons: Knowing in advance about pool renovation. When such a major part of your stay is affected (pool/Caribbean) you should know in advance and be prepared.
Location: No comments - we don't leave resort and seek out "adventure" items. They offer the usual items such as parasailing and tours but we just beach it.
For an all-inclusive, this resort is top of the line. The Pallidum is four resorts in one and we stayed in the high end Royal Suites Turquesa for the second time. Staff is great. Grounds are lush. As a Suites person, we can use all the resorts and have exclusive use of reservations at ala carte restaurants. The buffets are fine for lunch plus there are beach grills where lunch is also prepared daily. The seafood paella was excellent. Golf carts are at your call for transportation around resort. There is a casino --- if you need that. We stayed five nights, which for us is about right. Two years ago, we had no issues but this time around we arrived to find the Royal pool closed and under renovation. This was a huge negative as we loved hanging at the adults-only bar/pool and engaging others in conversation the first time around. Plus there are no kids crowding the bar as there is at all the other pool bars. No splashing. No crying. No kids games. That was available in the pool along the swim-up rooms but it just was not the same. This does not seem to be the place for "action" needs --- we think our kids would be bored here. But not us. Even with the disappointment of the pool bar, we'd definitely go back. The room cleaning was impeccable. Restocking of our room was great. Staff extremely friendly. Ours was a time of just vegging out at the pools and/or the beach so it was mission accomplished.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jayfrom Mitch

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Waste of time & money

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am currently at the hotel (6/25/2014). 1) could not find my initial reservation & management offered no help. ( would not let me use the phone to place a too free call) 2) while waiting 2 couples needed to see management abt missing items from room 3) a guest called for towels and was told to come to front desk to get them 4) after I rebooked using hotels.com told me it would take 30 minutes to see email 5) they gave someone luggage to the wrong couple 6) then she tagged my luggage for the wrong room 7) like other reviews the water from shower get on floor 8) this is not a hotel or resort more like a compound or fortress too big and cumbersome . Need a golf to go any where and must wait on it to arrive 9)adults only...till u go and eat then kids everywhere 10) the foods sucks royal like the name 11) did I say no customer service and you need to speak Spanish to communicate little little English.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no espanol- no excursion-no book excursion's ahead

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Spa the best thing in all the resort on site
Cons: communication -local infusion- food is aweful
Location: I don't know because we could even get expedia partner tours to show up, now that we've asked for a refund there trying to tell us that we went on the
We arrived after 11 hours of traveling, and had to wait a couple of for our room. They did fix the broken hinge on the bathroom door, but the air conditioner leaked in the ceiling for the entire trip. Most of the staff was great, we had a swim up room the waitress stay by the bar most of the time, so don't bother tipping if you have a swim up room she still won't come anymore often. The food is not good and were not picky people, all the resort that we have been too are all inclusive, and the food at this resort was the worst. Reservations must be made on the first day before noon or you may as well forget it. I do not feel that the restaurants were really worthy of the mandatory reservations. Some employee's understand english but you should learn spanish as it will serve you better. Stay away from blue excursions we booked an excursion ahead of time and were not picked up twice and I am still trying to be refunded for an excursion not taken. They also sent us to look for the blue employees who are rarely there. This is not how you want to spend your vacation. The spa is the best thing there, the shops are for tourist and charge too much. The main activity is drinking. Over all the employees butlers and housekeeping are great. Maybe with time this resort will get better with time. I would have love to see more Dominican foods and more local activities. Traveling isnt just about being entertained but also for learning about other cultures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

I would go back in a heart beat.

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Grounds, Pool areas, Beach, facilities
Cons: The A la cart resturants
Location: The resort was huge and we found little need to sight see.
Beautiful Grounds, excellent pool areas, best beach I have ever seen, Great friendly staff, Accommodation was good, some minor maintenance issues, nothing big just daily service stuff. The buffets were of a high standard but the in the a la cart restaurants were hit and miss. We stayed in the, adult section, Royal Suites and the facilities were wonderful. Everything was easy, convenient and we met lots of people. I would go back in a heart beat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tfrom New York

A little overpriced but a good place to relax

Posted May 30, 2014
I stayed in room 5812 which is a junior swim up corner suite. I liked the room because it was more private and the butler was basically sitting right outside the room. Each buildig has its own butler and each builing has about 6-8 rooms. One of the butlers (Anabel) was really pleasant and always asked if i needed anything. Check in was good. Check out was easy. Food was good (for an all inclusive). Service at the main gourmet restaurant was great and the servers and hostess were always pleasant. I stayed at the horel as a solo traveler and i didnt feel uncomfortable or unsafe. Theonly 24 hr place to eat was really far away. Food wise i'd say Room service was the only thing that needed improvement. Waited over an hour for a cold quesadilla and a bad desert. Drinks were really good and you get soda, beer, water and four choice of hard liquor in your room. Room was a bit dingy, sofa and chairs were dirty. Didnt even want to sit on them. The patio was great which is why i paid for the swim up room. Just wanted to sit in the sun and relax. And thats what i did. They keep the grounds groomed pretty well but guests leave hings lying around and no one ever picks them up. The pool outside my room was only cleaned once (the night after it rained) and there were water bottles in the water. Water bottles were sitting on cabana tables for 3 days just sitting there. Anyway i probably would stay at one of the other hotels in the resort and not pay as much. And i wont expect as much as i did