Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

Nice place if you're Italian

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The food was good, clean and well kept hotel and beach
Cons: Hotel should give opportunity to locals for management positions
Nice and affordable hotel but; It's Italian owned and run so Italian guests get preferred treatments i.e the reservations at the nice restaurants etc... everyone else is stocked at the buffet
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fort myers fl

Not good Customer Service

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The facilities... Beautiful surroundings
Cons: Customer service.... Employees looked tired and exhausted and that reflected on their services....
Location: The location is wonderful... The beach is right there
When we first arrived, I did not like the entrance it was right there where the colmados and bodegas were. After we passed the lobby, I liked what I saw... Everything was beautiful... You could see the beach right there. The rooms were ok.... But I was disappointed with the customer service.... At the buffet I asked for soda and the lady said, I'm sorry but my service stops right there... The hotel also focus more on Italian guests than any other race... All the signs and announcements were made in Italian first rather than Spanish, because I'm of Dominican origin I felt like they did not care as much... There's also a lot of smoking going on and I got sick because of that, will like for them to have non smoking areas for families with kids, and asthmatic people.. Food was ok.... I will not stay there again although I will recommend the facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Wonderful staff, great place to stay. Amazing beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike and Martha from new york

Great time

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Two resorts in one. The Palace and Beach resorts. Not a five star, but I feel I got my moneys worth. I stayed at the palace with my wife. It was relaxing but fun. A short walk down the beach brought us to the beach resorts where the nightly shows took place and an exciting beach party. Numerous shops. The palace resort had poolside events had fun pool party. The drinks were not as watered down as I had experienced at other resorts. Overall had few complaints. CONS: IF TRAVELING FROM SANTO DOMINGO AIRPORT (Sti). Taxi fare is 100$ we hustled it to 80$.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hammergrams from Colorado

Check-in

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Love our couples retreat room but is a bit noisy with neighbors
Cons: Check-in process. A guest should be able to reserve more than just 3 nights at the hotel restaurants for a 7 night stay.
Location: We just dove and would recommend Coral Point Diving in Bayahibe.
The check-in process is the worst I have ever experienced. You CAN NOT check-in prior to the 3:00pm check-in time even if the room is ready. We arrived at 12:30 after travelling all night and then this happened . I even tried to come back at 2:00 in hopes the room would be ready and they said no check in is not until 3:00pm whether the room is ready or not. Well with that said you can imagine all the guests wanting to check in at 3:00. I travel frequently and have NEVER experienced such a bad first impression for a hotel. I am a front desk agent and find this policy NOT customer friendly. I feel this is not the fault of the front desk staff but rather the managing group.
4 out of 5
by Elli from Chicago, IL

Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: I really liked that you could go to both the Dominicus Palace and Beach Resort hotels
Cons: Customer Service! The bartenders and guest services lady were very rude
I just got back from my vacation at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace. We found a great deal through Expedia and had an amazing week in the Dominican Republic. I had read quite a number of mixed reviews about the resort prior to the trip and was a little nervous about it. However, everything went very smoothly- we had a fabulous room (wasn't overbooked) and the beach was amazing. I just have a few tips for future visitors: 1. Dominicus Beach definitely has more going on and is nicer but we went back and forth between the two resorts the whole time 2. Viva Cafe at 615pm was perfect and a great meal with great views of the sunest 3. La Roca also had great views (we didn't get to go to this one as we only got 2 of the restaurants according to Guest Services) 4. Atlantis was delicious and worth the $20 per person 5. Bartenders are the worst! They will completely ignore you unless you tip them each time 6. Bring your own snorkeling gear (we thought this was included and ended up spending $30 for one set) 7. Bring your own cups for the beer (this was a serious regret on our part as we stayed on the beach most days and had to walk up to the pool for a tiny little cup of beer and we couldn't find any cups to buy any where)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Boston

Decent for the Cost

Posted May 3, 2014
You get what you pay for at the Viva Dominicus. The staff, room, and food were just okay. However, the hotel grounds, including the pool and beach are beautiful and well kept. The bartenders and entertainment staff are very friendly and engaging.
2 out of 5
by dj from NJ

close to beach

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Wi-Fi terrible lizard and crab in the room because of the not tight doors-we have proof
Cons: maybe
Location: nice
Wi-Fi terrible lizard and crab in the room because of the not tight doors-we have proof
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never got so stay there

Posted Apr 25, 2014
When we got to the hotel we were told that hotel is booked and no rooms for us available We were sent to DreAms Punta Cana Had good time, nice hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible disaster

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I booked this resort about five months ago. when I arrived they said they were overbooked. Therefore I had to be moved to another resort. It was a terrible experience.