Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Beautiful resort grounds and good entertainment.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The grounds were beautifully groomed. The beaches were nice. The buffets were large enough that we could find something we liked.
Cons: The room cleaning staff need more training. Some days we had no bottled water and no soap.
Location: Everything in the resort was a short walk away. Shoppping outside the resort was just outside the walls of the resort. Excursions left from the resor
This is a good resort to stay at if you like the idea of not having to leave the resort for shopping,entertainment, and dining. It is all inclusive with daily and nightly entertainment. Our room was very basic and worn-out. We had some trouble getting basic needs for our room such as bottled water and soap. It was easy to book excursions, however the excursions themselves were wearing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plymouth, MA

Paradise for A Phenomenal Price

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Views, proximity to beach, enterainment. The Animotion dance team was unreal and loved the Themes each day.
Cons: The sliding door got stuck a lot ( balcony ) is the only thing I can think of.
Location: Everything is on resort. They have a wealth of excursions which leave from hotel, two spas, borders Natl Park. No need to leave resort, we didn't.
If you are looking for the best of the Carribbean, book this resort. The staff, fantastically maintained grounds, selection of restaurants, variety of food, and major wealth of activities to make your experience as exciting or as peacefully relaxing as possible is so worth it. I've been to an All Inclusive in Aruba, and been to Puerto Rico three times and this was the best overall experience I had! The rooms were large, clean and modern. We stayed on the quieter side in the 5000s and it was perfect. We were able to enjoy the nightlife if we wanted to for a quick 10 min walk which was so pleasant and scenic even at night with the stars. The Buffett hall staff were so attentive and friendly. The majority of the staff spoke English but they let us practice our SPanish with them and they answered all our multitude of questions about the country, resort, themselves etc. Even the landscapers and maids said "Hola"everytime they walked by with a smile. We came to retreat from work and NEw Englands snowiest winter on record and boy did this place exceed my expectations. Oh you can also have the staff take you out on a lil Hobie Cat sailboat ride in which they'll help you or you can just borrow the boat with no extra cost. I'd highly reccomend this. Also, try the fish, the restaurant Bamboo, Viva Cafe are a must! La Roca is delicious too. You get to try 3 restaurants but the Buffett food is just as delicious!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Great location close to beach but RUDE staff

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: close to beach. great on resort specialty restaurants
Cons: lay off animators stuff and hire professional people. same on some servers at the buffet. and cleaning personal.
Location: Very secure location with plenty of things to do.
Staff was rude and judgmental. Lots of animators would constantly cut line at bard to get drinks especially the Italian once. They would not respect paying guests and be rude. Sometimes you walk by personal while they were talking and they would stare at you with a disgusted look and after you pass say things about you in Spanish and lough at you. ( know that because my wife is fluent in Spanish) Cleaning staff was okay. wall in the bathroom was dirty and one day we didn't have any towels. After calling guest services it took 40 minutes to finally get ONE towel and an other roughly 20 minutes to get a second one. We never got more shampoo even tho we asked. Servers would sometimes give you an attitude and seem like they don't want to be there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Good

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Need to take shuttle - taxi will cost $100+_ specialty restarant food was just ok_only really bad thing was that there were rocks/coral off the beach in the swimming area so need to be careful! Rooms, personnel were very nice. They will try to sell u a membership so you need to insist if not interested!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Beautiful Property

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Hotel was clean and beautiful. Landscape and beach was well maintained
Cons: Wifi and service
Nice quick get away. The food is ok but not great. If you decide to make reservation at any of the restaurant the wait for the food to arrive once you give your order is EXTREMELY LONG. The bartenders suck and do not know how to make/mix cocktails even the basics. The most of the staff doesn't speak English and the cable channels are all in Spanish even though they are American programs only 2-3 are in English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Great location, lots to do

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Upon arrival everyone was very welcoming. Concierge explained everything about the hotel and gave us a tour of the grounds. He went out of his way to make dinner reservations for us and to make our stay as easy for us as possible. The food was ok, but I would have liked them to include some traditional dishes. I would definitely stay here again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sarnia, Ontario

Our stay at the Dominicus Palace

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The beach was fantastic spread over a nice distance. Never had a problem finding a spot by the pools or the water.
We stayed at the palace based on the reviews, however if you are a younger person i'd highly recommend staying at Dominicus Beach we were there every night for the outdoor disco. Both resorts are laid out nicely and very roomy. I would not go there expecting everything to be close i.e.. restaurants. We found the food to be OKAY at the palace but ventured to The Beach to eat mostly. Slightly disappointed at the fact there was NO BACON, might be a typical north american request but it was devastating lol. Service was excellent, people of the Dominican our very friendly, but barely speak any english. After returning from our trip we realize that most of the reviews were right on about the Dominican only spanish speaking rarely do they do any shows or include the english speaking. I would say go there with an open mind and not looking to converse with everyone you meet because chances are they do not speak english.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bronx, NY

okay... left some things to be desired

Posted Mar 25, 2015
staying at the Viva Wyndham Palace was okay at best... especially for English speaking tourists. most of the staff barely spoke English or understood it. my friend and I stayed for 4 nights and upon our afternoon arrival we were greeted with undercooked hot dogs and strangely cooked burgers. the buns were less than pleasant, and the other options were quite limited. as for the room, our sink had a leak that caused a puddle to form in the middle of the floor. the location overall is nice and scenic, but there is definitely room for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: Beach
Cons: WIFI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
March 2015. Overall had a good experience. For some reason we were received a room upgrade. They told us this was one of the nicer buildings, so I cannot say how others are. Room was nice, very clean! Found 2 cockroaches in the room, not from lack of cleanliness....nothing you can do about it in the tropics. Hotel staff was nice, most spoke enough english to get by. Not many americans. Food was pretty good, i'd say slightly better than a big buffet in Vegas. Food is definitely catered to the majority Italian crowd. Drinks were good, nice to have options of pizza at night and a snack bar during the day. Beach is beautiful. No issues whatsoever. Grounds are beautiful. Felt safe at all times. One thing that really drove us crazy was the awful WIFI. All the staff know this...very frustrating. Spent hours trying to send a single text. Gave up after a while. This NEEDS to be remedied MANAGEMENT! One lesson...taxis are 120 one way to the hotel. Better off using a shuttle service from the hotel for 74 dollars a person round trip. Wish I would have done that. Shops outside the hotel are fairly high pressure. We got frustrated and stopped shopping after a short period of time. Most shops had the same items. ....and bring an insulated drink cup. Cups are small...save you some trips to the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice resort with good beach

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Great price for a nice room and a beautiful beach.
Cons: Individual coffee pot in the room. More staff in the bar areas. This is a resort that sells vacation packages, so get ready for a sales pitch.
We paid extra for a beach view room and that made the time in the room more enjoyable. Bar staff was accommodating. Restaurant food was good and always had a variety of choices. Most of the staff speaks some English so we could usually communicate. Grounds are beautifully maintained. Very safe feel in the evenings.