Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Australia

Great in-city location, but small rooms

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The location, the cleanliness and the cafe that is open in the morning at the base of the hotel.
Cons: The "breakfast" is over-priced for what it is; its some pieces of bread with cheese, tomato and cucumber, and soup.
Location: Highly recommend the Noodle Exchange down the road.
Overall, considering how much you pay for this hotel; it meets all your basic needs whilst being in a great central location. It had two twin beds, a bathroom, a small fridge. What it didn't have was space or too much room to put your bags somewhere. But once I got over the initial shock of how small the room was, it was actually very comfortable, with a working heater and warm shower! The key selling point for this hotel is the fact that its in such a great location, and attached to it, is a small cafe that does great coffee and is open when everything else is still shut (just don't be fooled into having their over-priced "breakfast"). I would recommend this hotel, because based on the price, the location and the cleanliness of the rooms; you are getting a great deal.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St Kilda

Good location, but poor hotel amenity

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The location, close to interesting shops and an easy walk to Harpa.
The hotel room was tiny and barely allowed enough space to allow me to open up the Antler suitcase to take out my clothes. No visible power sockets to allow me to charge various items. The bathroom was a broom cupboard with the toilet facing the shower at an awkward angle, and close to the basin - the gap allowing entrance was tiny again. The bathroom smelt and the water had an odour. This was my first hotel stay in Iceland and was very disappointing! And the photo on the hotel.com website bore no relationship to the room I was offered, therefore misleading advertising.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brief encounter

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Only used the hotel as a base during brief stay in Iceland. Room OK. Only worrying thing was that interior doorframe had been kicked in. Also no staff were available at checkout,so left key in room. I should add that this was at 0730hrs more a hostel than hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, Florida

What Did I Get Myself Into!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: I didn't like anything about the hotel. I discovered that European standards are much lower than American standards.
Cons: I don't think they should be renting these rooms out and calling it a hotel.
Location: You have to walk up a hill to get to the hotel (two blocks). There are better locations.
I was completely disappointed with my experience. Here are my points: 1. The room did not look like it looks in the picture. 2. They didn't provide basics like an ironing board, a washcloth or soap. 3. The location could have been better. 4. It wasn't a real hotel 5. The television didn't work properly 6. I couldn't turn in my key I first started my vacation in Reykjavik in a hostel. I looked forward to checking into a hotel to live in real luxury. The Adam Hotel is not really a hotel, it cosists of small apartments. Furthermore, I think some people (citizens of Iceland) were living in one of the rooms because they were in the common living area eating and watching television in the kitchen. When I went to the front and asked for an iron and ironing board, the employee looked kind of puzzled. He said: Let me see what I can scrape up. He came back minutes later with a delapidated iron. I thanked him and asked again for an ironing board and he told me: we don't have one. It's a good thing that I brought a bar of soap and a wash cloth with me because the hotel didn't provide any. The television kept freezing up on me (Satellite television). I couldn't turn in my room key because the hotel wasn't open at 7:30AM
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom hong kong

Bad Experienc

Posted Jul 28, 2014
i was very disappointed with the tiny room i had while i paid a high room charges no wifi in room outside my room have benches for anyones to sit n chat every night there is a group of people chatting outside my room till mid night i couldnt sleep until they leave no 24 hours service at reception to file my complaint i wont recommend this to others
2 out of 5
Recommended
by J & Mfrom USA

economical is best you can say

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Located in nice area but hotel entrance is through a bar/restaurant, some staff surly and disinterested. Tiny room on third floor with no elevator. Room wasn't clean and was uncomfortable. $160 in Iceland is cheap but this was sub standard for so called "3 star***. We enjoyed touring the country and Reykjavik is a charming city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the tower in the Church

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Supermarket downstairs.
Cons: Toilet was a bit small.
Location: Less than 10 minutes' slow walk to the City Hall and the Pond.
Good basic budget hotel though the price was not that inexpensive due to central location in Reykjavik.
2 out of 5
by Stinafrom Seattle

Less than expected of a hotel in Reykjavik.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to downtown.
Cons: Improve the wifi situation. If the water is not drinkable, provide one free large bottle of water each day.
Location: Very close to the big church and the statue of Leifur Eiriksson.
They advertise free wifi, but the wifi works only in the lobby. They tell you not to drink the water so guests have to purchase water for drinking, brushing one's teeth, etc. Breakfast is not included. I felt it didn't meet the standards of a Scandinavian hotel experience. That said, it was close to downtown, which is nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Price. Also free parking was advertised, the free parking was on the street.
The hotel was very well located but the room was very small. It felt like a hostel. There wasn't an elevator so luggage had to be carried to the room. The staff that we met were fine, the service fine but not the hotel was well overpriced compared to a less expensive room in Amsterdam the night before.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My new year stay

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: The position and the staff!!
I spent a long weekend at the Adam hotel. The staff were very helpful and it was in a very good position!! For any people booking its best to stay in the main building! I stayed in the annex because there is no lift and the rooms are up lots of stairs!! The internet does not in the annex! They did not do anything in the room in 4 days we asked for clean towels and received them!!! The room was lovely and warm and had a fridge kettle and toaster and they supplied a hair dryer when asked. I shared a shower room with one other room!