Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good access from highway

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Beds comfortable Staff friendly breakfast okay but not superb Oaky for a stop on a long road trip
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gunner from Georgia

Easy access from the interstate

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed for the night while traveling for business. I liked that the hotel was easily accessed from the interstate. The room was comfortable and there was enough room for all my stuff. The wireless internet had a good signal, and was fast enough for what I needed. I liked that I could park right outside my door. The staff was very friendly and helpful.The only thing I would improve on would be to free up an electrical outlet near the table or beds for plugging in a laptop.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Convenient and relatively inexpensive

Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
It wasn't the nicest place of ever stayed. The staff was extremely helpful and very courteous. Other than the bathroom being very small, and having a little water on the floor, the room was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to be able to park my car right outside of our door. He did not stay for the continental breakfast, there was nothing hot, and the Chick-fil-A up the street was calling our name.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Freezing in Salem from Salem, Va

Don't stay here in the winter

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I stayed here in January, 2014, I had a terrible experience. I checked into my room in the late afternoon. It was freezing cold - no heat is kept on in the rooms. After an hour with the heat on high, the room was still freezing. I called the front desk and maintenance came to check the heater. He said I was getting 98 degree heat from the heater and that was all I was going to get. He said it would take about a day for the room to warm up (he sometimes stays at the hotel himself and has to deal with this). He offered to bring a space heater, which I accepted. With the space heater on high for the next 24 hours the room finally warmed up (I was there 2 nights). I had to keep the space heater running full blast the entire time I was there to keep the room at a decent temperature. On Sunday morning I was a little tardy getting to breakfast - it was 9 o'clock when I left my room, so it was (9:02am when I got to the breakfast area. Everything was put away, closed up, lights out! And this is Sunday morning! Most hotels keep breakfast up later on Sunday, but not this place. I've had this experience with them on previous stays. They pull the food immediately at 9am - I think they keep it over for the next day(s). So, a cold room and no breakfast. Not a great experience. I wont be back to this facility at least until it warms up and probably not even then. It is old and needs a refurbishment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lorraine from From Rome, GA

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Easy to find location.
Cons: an extra blanket in the room.
Location: Location was great. Didn't have time to do any thing.
The hotel was great. It sure was hard to get an extra blanket. Then the blanket was thin and old.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Lauren from Bethel, CT

You get what you pay for!

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Howard Johnson's in Salem VA was awful. Old dirty rooms with stained bed spreads, stained and dirty carpets. The bathroom door barely closed and would get stuck on the toilet seat. The shower ceiling had mold on it and the paint was peeling down.
1 out of 5
by Dick from Knoxville, TN

Gone Downhill

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: Great view of the valley.
Cons: First, the heating system in the rooms. Then, other stuff.
Location: Everything you want is nearby, but you have to know that. Local maps are not available at the motel and you can't see the business district.
I stay in Salem, VA, about six times a year. For years this has been my favorite motel. But the current management is letting it go to seed. On a cold December night, the room never warmed up. Wear and tear is evident all over the place. The TV set was 20 years old and the remote was so badly worn you couldn't find the power button or read the channel numbers. The ice machine which was "down" in August is still "down." When I told this to the manager in the morning, he just shrugged.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Avery Marder from Brooklyn NY

An OK 1 nighter, but wouldn't go steady

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Bathroom needed a lot of work...very bad mold on ceiling.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

needs some work

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
very accessible to I-81, thats a plus. upon entering the room it had a fairly unpleasant odor which was probably due to the food that was left in the fridge and under the beds. you have to stand between the toilet and tub to shut the bathroom door. overall, inside was very rundown and outdated. outside wasnt much better, broken bottles/garbage in the grass. outside lighting could be better. i understand you get what you pay for, but what you pay for seems to be less and less these days.